All About Books June 22, 2013

One of the big tips I wanted to give for today is...
     there are so many new and exciting authors out there that you can find for little or no money.  I am not saying to stop buying or reading your favorite authors because I am sure not.  What I am saying is to check that favorite site of yours, which for me is Amazon.  I know that they have free book days and many books that go one sale for 99 cents.  So, take the time to read those new authors and find some that you really fall in love with I know I have.  They are the reason I have gotten to this point of doing this blog.  I started really reviewing and started reading more and more and now back to doing some writing like I did in high school. 
     Now, there will be those authors that will break up a full book into many different sections to get you to by there books when really it is just one whole book.  I personal don't care for that method.  I have gotten caught up in a story that is so good that I just can't put it down and have bought it.  Yet, I have also not gone on with the series of books if one it frustrates me or two it is just not that good.  Another hint is to really use the tool that Goodreads has to keep track of your books, because so many of the authors go to a clearing house to get their covers and just change the titles to whatever their book is.  Which can make you think you have read a book when really you have not.  So, you can refer back to a book on Goodreads and see if for sure if you have or not.

Stone Cold Charade

STONE COLD CHARADE                            KATHLEEN ROYCE
Posted: June 22, 2013

Stone Cold CharadeBorn into a family of immense wealth, Alexandra Stone challenges her legacy by leading a secret double life as an international superstar. Escaping hounding reporters, she is stunned to discover her past has tracked her down in the form of her teenage nemesis that is responsible for the enigma she now is. With so many lies between them can she keep track of them all?

Ex-special ops commander Ty Philips, summoned to handle the threat of rustlers, suspects the problem Maximillion wants him to handle is his spirited granddaughter. He launches his own
personal mission to get her in his bed if only temporarily. But, the danger to her and the ranch jeopardizes everything, as does his conscience at seducing the boss's granddaughter yet again.

Struggling to rekindle the passion that burned in their past, they set ablaze a raging new path for both of them in the present. Each afraid that their own secrets could destroy what they've started, causing it to go up in smoke. Could they handle the inferno and the consequences of igniting
it?


MY REVIEW:

There are not enough words for me to be able to tell you just how much I enjoyed this book. The characters are outrageously funny. They were like enjoyable friends & family members you ask into your home. Alex falls in love with Ty, at 9, Ty is 15 he becomes our hero hence he rescues her. When she is 15 she's really in love with him but can't tell him. When she's 17 he's in love with her but knows nothing can come of it due to their ages & he has nothing to offer her. So, words are spoken & actions taken that crush a young heart forever. Yet, from that growth can come from the smallest of hope & this author brings it all out. The cast of characters & the storyline is fast pace, exciting, well thought out & always heart felt. I highly recommend.

The Love Deception

THE LOVE DECEPTION                             JENNIFER ST. GEORGE
Posted: June 22, 2013

When Felicity Carter wakes up naked in a strange bed, she has no idea how she
got there. And no recollection of meeting the gorgeous man calmly offering her
breakfast. Shocked and embarrassed, Felicity flees – hoping that their paths
never cross again.

The last thing she expects is to discover that her
mystery man is Damon Fullbright, partner at the law firm where Felicity has just
started work – and her new boss! Damon is appalled to find the young woman he
rescued has been hired to work on his team. Apart from anything else, he doesn't
need the distraction.

Despite their early misconceptions, their
appreciation for each other – both personally and professionally – begins to
grow. But when Damon discovers what Felicity's been hiding, how will he ever
trust her again?

A gripping romance that combines courtroom intrigue
with a dash of Barbados, The Love Deception is the latest book from
Jennifer St George.

MY REVIEW:


Felicity & Damon meet under a very interesting situation. You see for the first time in a long time Felicity went out to a dinner with girlfriends to have a glass of wine and let her hair down something she had not done in about ten years. You see she had been in university to become a lawyer. Yet, here she was waking up naked, in a strange room, with a hang-over to beat all hang overs and no idea how she got there. What in the hell happened? Damon on the other hand is wondering what in the world happened to this woman that last night she fell stumbling into the path of her car and then she had no idea where she was, had no ID, and no purse. He brings her home and now he must deal with this all over again, he can't can he? The attraction is there for both of them right away. But the embarrassment is to much to handle and she must get away. For him he must not only protect his heart but most of all he has to protect his children from heart ache all over again. Can he find out who she is when she runs out of his life without so much as a name? This is a crazy roller coaster of a story with a mystery of who did her father wrong and why she is the only one who can help him with the help of the man she just spent time with at his home. It was good but it just still felt like it was missing some of the warmth & ah I look for in my love stories even though it ends well. I still gave it a 4 star for the energy of activity that kept me reading.

Doctor's Delight

DOCTOR'S DELIGHT                                  ANGELA VERDENIUS
Posted: June 22, 2013

Doctor's Delight by Angela Verdenius

What does a shy, 35 year old, plus-sized virgin do when she decides to lose her virginity and experience just one night of being desirable? She lets herself get talked into hiring a male escort.

Unfortunately, mistaken identity lands her in the bed of a hunky doctor, and now things are spiralling out of control!



MY REVIEW:

What an absolutely delicious short story. This couple came together under the most unusual way. It was a first for sure for Cherry & a first for Rick in receiving Cherry for the for time. No pun intended. Cherry being all woman in all her glory with the voluptuous curves a real woman should have she hires an escort to pop her cherry (heh heh). By mistake Rick ends up in the wrong room & let the fun begin. But, can Cherry let her fears from the past concerning her weight allow her to be loved by a man every woman would love to spend one night with. Yet he only has eyes for her. Loved this book funny, sad, & everything in between with the spicy erotica to boot.

The Hot Girl's Friend

THE HOT GIRL'S FRIEND                         LISA SCOTT
Posted: June 22, 2013

The Hot Girl's Friend by Lisa  Scott“The Hot Girl’s Friend”
How can a plain Jane find love when her best friend is a curvy, blonde man magnet?

Jane usually busies herself during a night on the town, fending off the men lusting after her gorgeous friend Miranda. When Brady the bartender overhears her inspired, ludicrous excuses, he resolves to hook up Jane with his friends. But Jane would be quite happy with him. Pine along as Jane tries to find her own happily ever after.

A short story of 12,000 words, or 48 typical book pages.

This is one of the stories from the collection Flirts! 5 Romantic Short Stories. Buy the entire collection for just $2.99 (with fewer calories than your favorite cappuccino and probably cheaper, too!) Read them all, and discover the loose thread that ties them together.


MY REVIEW:

What an enjoyable & witty short story. I loved the way the two characters bantered back & forth above the merits of dating. They place a bet between them & before you know it become caught up in it to the point where they prove each other right basically. It is a very fun book with a nice ending.

The Love Handles Club

THE LOVE HANDLES CLUB                     LIV MORRIS
Posted: June 22,2013


The Love Handles Club by Liv MorrisFrom best selling author Liv Morris. (Mature situations. Best suited for ages 18+)

A love story about the one who got away and the possibility of a second chance...

Bradley Dawson and Kelly Parker haven't spoken to each other in over a decade. During high school they were devoted sweethearts who thought their love would survive as they headed to different colleges. But Bradley's unfaithfulness tore them apart and left Kelly finding comfort in another man's arms. Losing her was the biggest regret of Bradley's life and still haunted him.

Now fourteen years after their breakup, Kelly returns to their hometown of Dallas when her marriage disintegrates. She's invited to a night out with old high school friends and finds a newly divorced Bradley joining them too.

Discover what happens when Bradley comes face to face with the love of his life. Will fate give them another chance to make things right or will Kelly's hidden secret stand in their way?


From best selling author Liv Morris. (Mature situations. Best suited for ages 18+)

A love story about the one who got away and the possibility of a second chance...

Bradley Dawson and Kelly Parker haven't spoken to each other in over a decade. During high school they were devoted sweethearts who thought their love would survive as they headed to different colleges. But Bradley's unfaithfulness tore them apart and left Kelly finding comfort in another man's arms. Losing her was the biggest regret of Bradley's life and still haunted him.

Now fourteen years after their breakup, Kelly returns to their hometown of Dallas when her marriage disintegrates. She's invited to a night out with old high school friends and finds a newly divorced Bradley joining them too.

Discover what happens when Bradley comes face to face with the love of his life. Will fate give them another chance to make things right or will Kelly's hidden secret stand in their way?



MY REVIEW:

How many people get do overs? We are young and foolish and think the actions we take will have no consequences. Bradley finds out differently. Kelly & Bradley fall in love as freshman in high school but go away to two different colleges. The plan to be true to one another & continue there long term relationship (2 hrs. Away.) Kelly stays true but Bradley boinks everything in sight & tries to hide it from her. Her first weekend to come stay with him his drunk roommate gives him up in a heartbeat. Kelly's only words are "Goodbye Bradley." He just let's her walk away. He admits now ten years later at 19 he was not mature enough to know he let the best thing in his life walk away without going after her. Now he finds out she's back in town...
Totally enjoyed this book. The characters just drew you In. Was a free read like most of all the other books I read.

A MacKenzie Christmas

A MACKENZIE CHRISTMAS                      LILANA HART


A MacKenzie Christmas by Liliana Hart*This story was originally published in the All I Want for Christmas Anthology*

Grant MacKenzie is ready to settle down and start a family. The only problem is the one woman he’s interested in doesn’t seem to be ready for the long haul. But fate lends Grant a helping hand in getting exactly what he wants under his Christmas tree.

Other books in the MacKenzie Series:
Dane
Thomas
Riley
Cooper
Cade
Shadows and Silk (coming 12.24.2012)
Secrets and Satin (coming 2.5.2013)
Sins and Scarlet Lace (coming 4.2.2013)


MY REVIEW:

I could so relate to the big loud all in your business family but oh so loving at the same time. Don't get me wrong plenty of good old family fight would go on too but for the most part just loud fun. I loved all the woman in the kitchen & Grant being told what to do by his mama & being teased by the rest. Then him making his escape to go for a walk. Only to come across the woman he thinks about often ice skating alone. Annabelle, skating where they use to skate when they were younger. When she gets distracted when she notices him & falls through a thin piece of ice. Grant is right there to save her. Is it in time for her, for them? She has keep her distance all this time from him. Does time change & heal anything? This was a good read. You will enjoy.

Dane: A MacKenzie Norvella

DANE: A MACKENZIE NOVELLA               LILIANA HART
Posted: June 22, 2013


Dane by Liliana HartBad boy, Dane MacKenzie, is coming home to Surrender, Montana. It's been ten years since he left the woman he loved behind to make a name for himself, and now he's bound and determined to claim her once and for all.But Charlotte Munroe has no desire to welcome home the Prodigal Son with a fatted calf. The bitterness of Dane's betrayal runs deep, and she has no plans of letting him back into her life. Especially since she's trying to protect the son Dane isn't aware exists from heartbreak, since she's sure he's only going to walk out of their lives again.





MY REVIEW:

This is a love story that could burn your eyebrows. Dane was just out of college a week or two, his mother passes from cancer, & he has just made love for the first time with your true heart who just barely turned 18. Yet, you had always had a secret dream to be a writer that you had only really  talked to your mom about. You knew your three HELL raiser brothers would never understand. So, what do you do? Your mind says go make something of yourself then come back for Charlotte. But ten years? Wow! Really? This is really a case of a forever love with a lot of lust.

Candy Kisses

CANDY KISSES                                            VERNA CLAY
Posted: June 22, 2013


Candy Kisses by Verna ClayDirk Branigan's latest bull riding competition has left him flat on his back with a busted leg. After meeting his new "domestic help," he's decided that Sage Tanner and Miles Brightman, close friends that talked him into hiring the woman because she's destitute and pregnant, are going to owe him big time. His new employee is spoiled, temperamental, frustrating, and yes, occasionally, endearing. Thankfully, his daughter Tessa takes to her immediately. As for Dirk, his heart urges him to discover the woman behind the facade.



MY REVIEW:

Who would have thought that Miles wife Tooty could be so understanding when Mile's ex calls him looking for a job or at the least a lead for a job after what Monica pulled on Tooty. (Must read in one of the book before in this series) You see Monica not only lost her job, she was dumped by her boyfriend, evicted, & is pregnant. Since Tooty knows what it is to be alone and pregnant she makes it her mission to help Monica. This is where Dirk & Tessa come in Dirk is injured in the rodeo(he's famous not a hick like she thinks everyone is since they aren't from NY) so she is hired as housekeeper & sitter for his daughter & cook. Fun book I know you will enjoy. I got to read this on a free day from Amazon.

Curves for Casanova

CURVES FOR CASANOVA                           SERAPHINA DONAVAN
Posted: June 22, 2013


Curves for Casanova by Seraphina DonavanLiberty Jones and Gavin McBray met once before, sharing a passionate encounter until doubt sent Libby running for cover. Now, as the newest and lowliest employee at McBray Enterprises, Libby is stunned and horrified to realize that the man she made out with is none other than her new boss.

While Libby might be horrified, Gavin is relieved to have finally located the dream woman who got away. But when they get stuck in an elevator together, the perfect opportunity to confront her turns into something dark and dangerous. Someone is out to kill Gavin, and now Libby is caught in the crosshairs. Can he keep her safe and convince her that he's ready to give up his Casanova ways?


MY REVIEW:

Gavin & Libby what a sizzling hot couple. They can burn the the pages without a touch. This author I have read before and she gives BBW's their props & dignity when it comes to romance & the men , real men that love them. Don't get me wrong it does not mean in some of her books she does not get a little freaky but it's the couples choice. This story though has suspense & humor. I love the way the humorous bantering they do that is their foreplay. I got this book free on Amazon & I enjoyed it I can't wait for the next installment if not to expensive.

Quinn's Woman

QUINN'S WOMAN                                        SUSAN MALLERY
Posted: June 22,2013

Quinn's Woman by Susan Mallery
Self-defense instructor D.J. Monroe would do anything to be the best. Even if it meant asking super-sexy military expert Quinn Reynolds to demonstrate some of his finest moves...on and off the mat! Normally, D.J. didn't date, didn't trust, didn't let anyone in. But when she found herself falling for Quinn, could she let go of her past and embrace a future with him?




MY REVIEW:

I LOVED QUINN & D.J.! These two characters were so scarred that it just made you love them all the more. The obstacles that they have to recover from to get anywhere near a relationship is worth the read. D.J. is one tough, strong, scared & yet vulnerable woman. Quinn is strong, well trained, handsome, fearless in combat & yet scared in matters of the heart. These two were made for each other but the journey to one another makes this read enjoyable.


Cop's Passion

COP'S PASSION                                           ANGELA VERDENIUS
Posted: June 22, 2013


Cop's Passion by Angela VerdeniusIndependent, plus-sized nurse Maddy Lovett considered herself pretty easy-going, until she met the Neanderthal living next door…then the trouble started.

Hulking cop Mike Carson was old-fashioned in his regard to the ladies, until he started to have a couple of run-ins with the curvy cutie next door…then the trouble started.
And then there was the stray kitten…




MY REVIEW:

Maddy & Mike are a most unusual couple when you consider the norm but yet so perfect. I just loved their chemistry together. Even with all the teasing Tim gives to Mike about being to soft when comes to Maddy you know Mike can care less that Maddy is everything he has waited for. No matter of size, outlandish remarks, & all her fears she is his. He is big, sexy, & all muscles & all hers. I just loved this book. But it is beyond steamy so get a fan ready ladies you will need it.

Her Indecent Proposal

HER INDECENT PROPOSAL                      JUDY ANGELO
Posted: June 22, 2013


Her Indecent Proposal by Judy AngeloMelanie Parker is at the top of her game. Thirty-three years old, owner and CEO of Parker Broadcasting Corporation, with assets totaling over a billion dollars. There are many who would die to be in her shoes. But there’s one thing Melanie feels is missing from her life. A child. She’s always dreamed of one day being a mother but just never found the time to fall in love. And now time is running out. So she seeks out the one man who she knows can give her what she wants and will demand nothing in return, a man who’s a billionaire himself.

Sloane Quest can’t believe it when the owner of Parker Broadcasting Corporation – his biggest competitor in the media business – makes him the craziest of all proposals. The decision he makes is quick, and it probably defies all reason, but he has an ulterior motive which will not be denied.
Complications, intrigue and a baby bargain in the middle. Can love conquer all?

MY REVIEW:

Melanie & Sloane are now two billionaires who just happened to go to high school together. He was the big jock senior & she was the geeky freshman. But, on her first day in the cafeteria they both seemed to notice each other. Nothing came of it but over the years they did keep track of each other. Especially, since the took over the competitive family businesses from their father's. So, when Melanie comes to Sloane with a most important question can he really refuse it? With the hurt they have they manage to pull it off? Let me just say you will get your HEA.

The Lawson Boys: Marty

THE LAWSON BOYS MARTY                       ANGELA VERDENIUS
Posted: June 22, 2013

The Lawson Boys by Angela Verdenius
Crashing her cheating boyfriend’s wedding in a fit of rage was not voluptuous Belle Broune’s best plan. Now she’s been branded by the gossips as ‘The Other Woman’. Oh, the shame of it!

Wedding guest Marty Lawson finds it all very funny, but when family connections result in him trying to comfort her in his usual jovial way, the sparks start to fly between them. Can he convince this luscious woman that he’s serious and not just simply amusing himself?



MY REVIEW:

What a really, really enjoyable short story. Belle is one strong, bold, insecure, tender & loving BBW (BIG BEAUTIFUL WOMEN). Marty is a sexy, wealthy, down to earth, funny, & kind bachelor. They are not two people anyone would see together. But, after his friends wedding both their lives start changing in a public way. Sit back and enjoy the ride it is so much fun. The characters in this book are fun free spirits that will have you smiling as you read. So worth the read these two characters make it worth it.

At The Cowboy's Mercy

AT THE COWBOY'S MERCY                      EMMA JAY
Posted: June 22, 2013

At the Cowboy's Mercy by Emma JayKennedy Stacey couldn’t be more down on her luck. Her father, a rodeo cowboy, recently passed away after a long, expensive illness. The medical bills, combined with his habit of gambling and the fact that she had to quit her job to take care of him,has left her homeless and with no place to go but back to the rodeo. She tracks down Luke Delaney, one of her father’s proteges, and asks for help.

Luke Delaney thought of Red Stacey as a father. Kennedy didn’t call him when Red was sick, so he didn’t get to say good-bye to the man he loved like a father. He can’t forgive her for that, and turns her away.

But when she turns to his brother Liam for help instead,Luke steps forward, partly because of his concern of how his brother the player will treat her, and partly because he knows her father would want him to.

Since she’s homeless, she has to stay in his tiny RV. At first close quarters lead to sparring as they fight their attraction--and she fights to have some kind of independence when she’s leaning so heavily on him. But nature can only hold out so long, and despite their better judgement, they give in to their desires.

But Kennedy is afraid he’s taking her body in payment, and he’s afraid of the feelings he has for her as he gets to know her again, the feelings he hasn’t let himself feel since they were sixteen years old.


MY REVIEW:

Luke & Kennedy basically grew up together with Luke's brother Liam on Kennedy's daddy's ranch. Luke fell in love with her when he was 18 but in lust much earlier. Yet, it was Liam she rode hard one night when Luke walked in on them without their knowledge. Soon, after he hit the rodeo circuit not coming back for more then 5 years just phone calls to Red whom the boys loved more then their dad. Kennedy was called home from here new life in Dallas when her dad became ill & dies, leaving her mountains of debt from gambling. So, she loses her childhood home to payoff his debts & what whatever medical bills there were. She was gone so long from her job she lost it too. She now has no money, no home & only two people to turn to & one is mad because her father did not want them called during his weakest days. So, he couldn't say goodbye. Will Luke help her? Read this interesting story of sadness, pain, joy & hope.

Baby Kisses

BABY KISSES                                                VERNA CLAY
Posted: June 22, 2013

Baby Kisses by Verna ClayThis is the third book in the Romance on the Ranch Series, but it can be read as a stand alone. This is Chick-Lit.

Order of books: Dream Kisses, Honey Kisses, Baby Kisses, Candy Kisses.

Some language with sweet/sensual love scenes.

Tooty Townsend bore a child at the age of sixteen. Now she has her hands full raising four year old Harris and trying to make a living. Reclusive author, Maxwell Henry, real name, Miles Brightman, is looking to hire a personal assistant while he's in Colorado finishing up his latest suspense thriller. Sarah Tanner, stepmother to Tooty's best friend, Julie, and a friend of Miles, recommended her to the author. Unfortunately, Harris climbed onto the guy's lap at Julie and Jacob's wedding reception and asked him to take him for a ride in his wheelchair. Then he asked him to marry his mommy and become his daddy! Tooty needs a job and she's swallowing her pride to apply for this one.

Excerpt (Recognition):

Miles shifted his wheelchair so he could see out the living room window. He watched the young woman step from her battered pickup. So this was the girl with the strange first name Sarah had referred. Her dark, strawberry blonde hair looked familiar. When she'd almost reached the porch, recognition slammed him and he groaned. It was the girl from the wedding; the one with the cute, but rascally little boy--the boy who'd ask him to marry his mommy and become his daddy. He groaned again when the doorbell rang.
 
MY REVIEW:
 
Let me just say the little boy on this cover is just beyond cute. Now for this wonderful two for one story. Yes, two for one. Miles & Tooty (present times) & Eli & Annabelle (Civil war time). Both deal with men confined to wheel chairs but learning from two young strong loving women that their lives, thoughts, & loves do not have to be confined to a chair. This was a free pleasure to read.

On the Plus Side

ON THE PLUS SIDE                                     TABATHA VARGO
Posted: June 22,2013

On the Plus Side (Chubby Girl Chronicles, #1)***Warning: this book contains graphic language, sex, and violence. Mature readers only. Not intended for young adult readers.***


Big girls need love, too, but at what cost?

Lilly is loaded, not only with money, but with weight. Both things she could do without. But even with her undesired millionaire status, she doesn’t hold on to false hopes of finding true love. So when a sexy stranger comes into her life dripping with seduction, she finds it hard to resist. The bigger they are the harder they fall and Lilly falls straight through the floor in love with Mr. Sexy. Too bad he’s there for all the wrong reasons.

The chance of losing it all will make you do some crazy things and Devin’s willing to do whatever it takes to keep his life together. All seems lost when out of nowhere he’s approached by a Millionaire Momma with an offer he can’t refuse. But even a womanizer like Devin has a heart and when the short, chunky girl with the carefree attitude breaks through his icy fa├žade, he finds that losing everything takes on a whole new meaning.

MY REVIEW:

What an EXCELLENT presentation of a love triangle between a couple & families. But the difference being that this couple starts out with a Big BEAUTIFUL WOMAN'S mom blackmailing her new love interest into dating her. Never once thinking anything could come of it. Lilly & Devin prove her, mom so wrong but there are so many funny, sad, & scary bumps in the road. Devin's sis
Jenny & Dad are such great characters in this story it was such a pleasure to read. It was free on Amazon when I got it. So glad I did.

ARTIFICIAL SWEETHEARTS (North Pole, Minnesota #2)

ARTIFICIAL SWEETHEARTS               JULIE HAMMERLE It’s not chemistry between Tinka Foster and Sam Anderson that made them agree to a f...