September Hope

SEPTEMBER HOPE                                    JOHN C. McMANUS
Posted: June 24, 2013

September Hope: The American Side of a Bridge Too Far In September Hope, acclaimed historian John C. McManus explores World War II’s most ambitious invasion, an immense, daring offensive to defeat Nazi Germany before the end of 1944. Operation Market-Garden is one of the war’s most famous, but least understood, battles, and McManus tells the story of the American contribution to this crucial phase of the war in Europe.August 1944 saw the Allies achieve more significant victories than in any other month over the course of the war. Soviet armies annihilated more than twenty German divisions and pushed the hated enemy from Russia to deep inside Poland. General Eisenhower’s D-Day Invasion led to the liberation of France. Encouraged by these triumphs, British, Canadian and American armored columns plunged into Belgium, Holland and Luxembourg. The Germans were in disarray, overwhelmed on all fronts, losing soldiers by the thousands as Allied bombers pulverized their cities. For the Third Reich it seemed the end was near. Rumors swirled that the war would soon be over and that everyone would be home for Christmas.

Then came September, and Holland.

On September 17, the largest airborne drop in military history commenced—including two entire American divisions, the 101st and the 82nd. Their mission was to secure key bridges at such places as Son, Eindhoven, Grave and Nijmegen until British armored forces could relieve them. The armor would slash northeast, breech the Rhine and go wild on the north German plains. However, the Germans were much stronger than the Allies anticipated. In eight days of ferocious combat, they mauled the airborne, stymied the tanks and prevented the Allies from crossing the Rhine.

For the first time, using never-before-seen sources and countless personal interviews, September Hope reveals the American perspective on one of the most famous and decisive battles of World War II.



HUBBY'S REVIEW:

This book is the story of the American side of Market Garden. Some people will know it as the Bridge Too Far. For me this was more of the story that I heard about. My father fought with the 82nd (508). He always told me a different story. The one thing I do know is that the men of the 82nd would follow Gen. Gavin anywhere. They held him in high reguarde. The story it self was written well and I was glad for the U.S. side being told. What people need to remember is we lost more men here than on D-Day.

12th of Never (Women's Murder Club #12)

12th OF NEVER(WOMEN'S MURDER CLUB #12)  JAMES PATTERSON
Posted: June 24, 2013

12th of Never (Women's Murder Club, #12)
It's finally time! Detective Lindsay Boxer is in labor--while two killers are on the loose.

Lindsay Boxer's beautiful baby is born! But after only a week at home with her new daughter, Lindsay is forced to return to work to face two of the biggest cases of her career.

A rising star football player for the San Francisco 49ers is the prime suspect in a grisly murder. At the same time, Lindsay is confronted with the strangest story she's ever heard: An eccentric English professor has been having vivid nightmares about a violent murder and he's convinced is real. Lindsay doesn't believe him, but then a shooting is called in-and it fits the professor's description to the last detail.

Lindsay doesn't have much time to stop a terrifying future from unfolding. But all the crimes in the world seem like nothing when Lindsay is suddenly faced with the possibility of the most devastating loss of her life.


HUBBY'S REVIEW:

This book starts off with action and does not let up. Each character has their own set of problems to overcome. Some have more than one issue, which is good for the story. There are some surprises at least for me they were. I had waited for this book to come out for a long time and I was not dissapointed. I like that the characters that Mr. Patterson, writes about have the same probelms we have to solve in our own lives. Looking forward to the next book. I highly recommend this book.

Perfect Fit

PERFECT FIT (SERENDIPITY #1)             CARLY PHILLIPS                                          
Posted: June 24, 2013


Perfect Fit (Serendipity, #4)Carly's NY Times Bestselling SERENDIPITY series was such a hit with readers, she brings you back to the picturesque upstate NY town, where three siblings have grown up in the shadow of their proud and respected police chief father. But what do love, fate, and fortune have in store for the next generation of Serendipity's finest?
MIKE

Always feeling like the odd man out in his family, Michael Marsden wanted to make it on his own. So he escaped Serendipity to become an undercover cop in Manhattan, where the Marsden name wasn't known. But Michael's independence is compromised when he returns home to replace his sick father as chief of police. Back in the shadow of his family, he's as lost and restless as ever, until he's challenged by someone he never anticipated.

CARA
Cara Hartley is the Serendipity cop with whom Mike had a one night stand three months earlier. Neither expected anything more but fate has other things in store. When Mike returns as Cara's boss, the sexual tension between them is impossible to ignore - and the unexpected emotional connection continues to grow. But Cara's a small town girl while Mike has a wanderer's blood in his veins.

Together their chemistry explodes but ...
Both are convinced a future together is impossible. Until Mike's real father's secrets come back to haunt him and he realizes there are some things worth staying and fighting for. Including Cara.

MY REVIEW:

Totally lived up to what I have come to expect from Carly. Mike & Cora have a very interesting relationship or non one I should say, right? THIS IS ONE INTENSE COUPLE. They are on fire when they are together they compliment each other as a couple as individuals they are falling apart.  they have messed up back grounds that they can't seem to get out of their own ways.  The want to live their parents same when they themselves have nothing to be ashamed about.  They are not their parents. They both have such passion and that is what makes this book work.  A must read.  I recommend this book.

A Very Special Delivery

A VERY SPECIAL DELIVERY                   LINDA GOODNIGHT
Posted: June 23, 2013

A Very Special Delivery (Love Inspired)It was the surprise of a lifetime for recluse Molly McCreight when single dad Ethan Hunter entrusted her with his infant daughter while he delivered medicine to an elderly man during an ice storm. Past experience had taught Molly how fragile life could be, but she was touched by this stranger's faith in her abilities. Once the storm had passed, though, and her guests returned home, normalcy eluded Molly. The Hunters' presence had brought much-needed joy to her quiet world, but their absence threatened to crush her forever. Still, was she ready to admit that this tiny family held the key to the future she'd always secretly craved?



MY REVIEW:

This was a Christian based story. Very well written & all the things you look for in a love story but the sex scenes. And you know, that's okay. Molly comes with some major panic attacks do to children & Ethan comes from a party back ground & is now a single father who has found God. Molly is unsure about God after so long believing. They work together to work out the guilt of their pasts. Their journey is worth reading.

Angel Baby

ANGEL BABY                                               LESLIE KELLY
Posted: June 24, 2013

Angel BabyFIRST TIME IN PRINT—A Heartwarming Romance from bestselling author Leslie Kelly

Since losing her husband several months ago, the only thing Claudia Warren is looking forward to is the impending birth of her child. But she goes into labor at the worst possible time, in the worst possible place. Fortunately, a strong, protective stranger—Chase Paxton—comes to her aid, saving her life and the life of her daughter.

Chase is a loner, and he likes it that way. He tries to avoid getting caught up in anyone else’s drama…so coming to the aid of a heavily pregnant woman, and being right there for the birth of her baby, shocks him to his core. Even more shocking is that the beautiful young mother disappears from his life as quickly as she’d entered it.

Now, fate has brought Claudia back to him. And while Chase might try to resist any emotional tangles, he finds himself thoroughly ensnared by the beautiful young mother, and the adorable child he helped bring into the world. But can two people who’ve sworn off love for good ever move beyond past hurts and regrets to trust in a future together?


Before award-winning romance author Leslie Kelly became known for her super-sexy contemporary novels, like the extremely popular SLOW HANDS, or for the dark romantic thrillers she writes as Leslie Parrish, she penned a few deeply emotional contemporary books. Never before published, ANGEL BABY is a tender story of two lonely people learning how to trust in love, and in the bonds of family. Though not as light-hearted, or quite as steamy as her later works, ANGEL BABY will still appeal to readers looking for that unique Leslie Kelly voice.

MY REVIEW:

This is now the second book I have read from this author. I didn't know that at the time of starting this book only on completion. I have to say like her other book I was not disappointed. This story of Claudia & Chase & their unusual meeting is one I am sure you will enjoy. The characters are engaging & down to earth. The storyline is believable & funny in a sad kind of way.  It does have the HEA so it makes all the twists & turns worth it.

The Candidate's Wife

THE CANDIDATE'S WIFE                         ISABELLA ASHE
Posted: June 24, 2013

The Candidate's WifeJulia Moore has no interest in romance -- she's busy raising her son, starting a new career, and mending a broken heart.She certainly never expected a marriage proposal from her boss, gorgeous "playboy politician" Adam Carmichael. Too bad it's only a marriage of convenience, meant to help him win the governor's race.

Adam's touch sets Julia's heart racing. Every public kiss is both a tease and a torment. For his part, Adam finds that he can't keep his hands off his lovely new bride. Neither can deny the physical attraction,especially after they both succumb to a steamy night together. But Adam still isn't convinced that their marriage can ever be more than a publicity stunt.

When Julia's young son is abducted, the truth will have to come out. But will all of the secrets and lies break Julia's heart -- again?


MY REVIEW:

What a thoroughly enjoyable book. This was a well thought out storyline that kept you interested from start to finish. Julia & Adam were very intriguing characters that were filled with so many sides to their personalities. That when you knew for sure, okay, this is so predictable it was not. Vice a versa for other things. The plot had many twist & turns but so worth reading it was more then your normal love story I thought it had that spice of excitement to make it a page turner. You will see Adam the normal Alpha Male type soften but with a fight. Yet, Julia the single shy mother with a highly educated brain. She turns into a driving force in every phase of his life & her own. I totally enjoyed this free read.

Almost Married

ALMOST MARRIED                                    CAROL GRACE
Posted: June 24, 2013

Almost MarriedLaurie Clayton wants a family but the closest she gets is baby-sitting for her best friend in an apple orchard. On a field trip to Niagara Falls the baby throws the car keys into the falls and Laurie and baby are rescued by a handsome stranger. Turns out the guy is Mr. Right. He just has to come to his senses and realize Laurie is the woman of his dreams.


MY REVIEW:

Although this story did have a few problems with spelling it didn't effect the content at all. This story was a true depiction of how some feel once they have lost a loved one.  They are begrudging trying to move on due to the fear, pain & guilt. Laurie & Cooper meet by chance while Laurie is baby-sitting for the first time for a best friend. Thinking it would be nice to stop at Niagara Falls for a break, since her God-daughter was already having a melt down,ss from dropping mom at the airport. No sooner does she get out of the car when the baby tosses the keys over the falls. Here, is where the real fun begins, because he sees it happen & the thoughts he has...
I enjoyed this book I would recommend it for sure.

Unbreak My Heart

UNBREAK MY HEART                               HELEN SCOTT TAYLOR
Posted: June 24, 2013

Unbreak My HeartAndre Le Court first set eyes on Kate Frost when he was two and she was a babe in her mother's arms. He's twenty-five now, and he still remembers the moment perfectly, the moment Kate Frost slipped inside his heart.

His family owned a big hotel, her parents worked there. Andre's father spent years trying to separate his son from the daughter of the hired help. Eventually he grew desperate and sent Andre away to boarding school.

Nine years later, Kate turns up on the doorstep of Andre's prestigious hotel with the paparazzi at her heels and the six-week-old daughter of her celebrity ex in her arms. She has nowhere left to run except back to the place where she left her heart all those years ago.

Andre lost Kate once. He can't lose her again. But he has an image to maintain, a reputation as a successful businessman. A bohemian young woman with beads in her hair is not a suitable wife for him.

In Andre, Kate sees tantalizing glimpses of the boy she adored. But most of the time she hardly recognizes the powerful, successful man he's become, his lifestyle so like that of his despised father.

Can they forgive the pain of the past, accept each other as they are now, and rediscover the childhood love that was snatched away from them?


MY REVIEW:

Read this book in one day. Kate & Andre just pull you right in. The whole, two childhood sweethearts, who lose contact after a questionable parting. That left hurt hearts in the aftermath that is what pulls you in. Just screams "READ ME!!!" I am so glad I did. This relationship has so many roots to its system any one of them alone can pull you in during a normal story but all in one just makes not want to stop reading. When you get to the scene where Kate finally makes it home to her moms, OK water works. Just saying for me it was time for tissues. I hope you enjoy this as much as I did. It was a free read when I got it on Amazon & so glad I got it.

Coming Home

COMING HOME                                          LESLIE KELLY


Coming HomeVeterinarian Nicole Ross has a thriving practice, a son she adores, and a happy life. But when she has to fly to her sick father's bedside, she comes face to face with the man who broke her heart so many years ago.

Wyatt Clayton has come a long way from his bad-boy youth and now runs his family ranch. Still, seeing Nicole again rocks his world and causes him to remember those crazy-wild days when they'd been reckless young lovers.

Despite themselves, Nicole and Wyatt find those passionate sparks still erupt whenever they're together. But will they have a future when they learn the truth about what has kept them apart for so long?


MY REVIEW:

Nicole & Wyatt were such a pleasure to read about. Young love that hits some major bumps in the roads & the adults in their lives get involved with. Years go by to find out that the adults got it all wrong & caused them to miss out on what could have been a beautiful life together. Or, can it still be? I totally enjoyed this story that envolved so many twist & turns in this couples life.

A Mama Gushing About Her Baby's First Review

June 24, 2013

Okay, this is where I get to gush and be the proud mama.  My baby girl finally wrote her first review and it is here on the site.  It is the Percy Jackson first book in the series.  How did I not know that it would have something to do with Greek mythology?  It does though.  She has this thing about all of this mythology stuff.  It has to come from her daddy, it sure is not from me. Be glad you mythology fans because she will give you your fix.  Okay that is my mama fix for the day.  So, go out and remember to make it a great day and never be afraid to learn.
Char

The Lightening Thief: Percy Jackson & The Olympians

THE LIGHTENING THIEF: PERCY JACKSON & THE OLYMPIANS      RICK RIORDAN
Posted: June 24, 2013

The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, #1)Percy Jackson is about to be kicked out of boarding school... again. And that's the least of his troubles. Lately, mythological monsters and the gods of Mount Olympus seem to be walking straight out of the pages of Percy's Greek mythology textbook and into his life. And worse, he's angered a few of them. Zeus' master lightning bolt has been stolen, and Percy is the prime suspect.

Now Percy and his friends have just ten days to find and return Zeus' stolen property and bring peace to a warring Mount Olympus. But to succeed on his quest, Percy will have to do more than catch the true thief: he must come to terms with the father who abandoned him; solve the riddle of the Oracle, which warns him of betrayal by a friend; and unravel a treachery more powerful than the gods themselves.



DAUGHTER'S REVIEW:
Des

One of the best books I've read!  It's a great way to start a series!  Rick Riordan is truly a genius author.  My favorite part is when Percy is fighting Luke with the master bolt.  I love the book for a kid to read.  I have read the book 4 times.  I love how it has Greek mythology.  Percy Jackson, Annabeth, Chase, and Grover Underwood are the perfect trio for this book.  Great book. I would give it 4 1/2 stars.

Waking Up Married

WAKING UP MARRIED                              MIRA LYN KELLY
Posted: June 24, 2013

Waking Up MarriedHer first thought: "Who are you?"
It's the morning after her cousin's bachelorette party in Vegas and Megan Scott wakes up with the mother of all hangovers. Even worse, she's in a stranger's penthouse having woken up with something else as well - a funny, arrogant, sexy...husband!
Up until now, finding even a boyfriend had seemed impossible - been there, got the broken heart, sworn off men for good. Then a few martinis with Carter...no, Connor Reed and she's gone from first meet to marriage in one night!
Megan wants a lawyer. But Connor's shocking bombshell?
"I don't want a divorce."


MY REVIEW:

I totally get both sides of this issue for this couple. For Megan my father was her mother in the marriage department & where I can't relate to a sperm donor I always knew I would adopt since age 13. Then, there is Connor's side. I totally understand wanting to maintain control  over an environment in order not to get hurt anymore emotionally. He never wanted to fall in love or a mate to fall in love with him. Not to far off there to my thinking my poor boyfriend was almost walking down the aisle with me before I could say those three little words. So, this book goes through many different humours stages of this non relationship of an almost marriage. Megan & Connor find out things about themselves that surprise even them. I totally recommend this book. It is very enlightening to see there is more to love & marriage then, "I do."

Bedding The Wrong Brother

BEDDING THE WRONG BROTHER         VIRNA DePAULE
Posted: June 24, 2013

Bedding the Wrong BrotherMelina Parker has always excelled in two things: research followed by hands-on application. She prides herself on being a lady in public, but after she's dumped yet again for being a lady in the bedroom, she's ready to go back to school.

Determined to find her inner sex diva, she enlists her childhood friend, Max Dalton, to tutor her after hours. Instead, she ends up in the wrong bed and gets a lesson in passion from Max's twin brother, Rhys Dalton, a man Melina's always secretly wanted but never thought she could have.

Despite craving the occasional adventure, Melina's a small-town girl who wants roots and a family. Rhys and Max, on the other hand, are celebrities who travel from one city to another, changing bed partners as easily as plane flights. Rhys is outwardly the more reserved of the two but, unable to believe his good luck when he finds Melina waiting for him, he gives Melina her first taste of multiples right out the gate. Come morning, she's so mortified that she threw herself at Rhys that she blurts out the truth about her tutoring experiment. Not about to let her get away from him, Rhys convinces Melina that when it comes to sexual lessons, he's more than man enough for the job. His biggest challenge is teaching Melina that when it comes to pleasure, the key to his own is hers.

Can a woman who's always longed for hearth and home find satisfaction with a man whose entire life has been about moving on to the next big thing?


MY REVIEW:

Wow, this book does have some interesting sexual role playing I have to say that. Yet, it is all done within the context of the storyline.
Which is this young girl Melina is friends with twin brothers Max, her best friend, and Rhys her mad crush. This would be a good case as to where we allow others to much power to give us a number to our self worth. When it comes to something so important. In this case it would be Melina's sexual identity. So, Melina enlist the help of her best friend Max. What would she need his help for you ask? To be her sex coach of course. Aghast!!! Will he do it? Can she really do it? Why does she want to do it? Where does Rhys fit in? Most of all why did she not ask him?
As she and her two friends Grace & Julie come up with their dare you will not be able to keep a smile off your face & wait to get these questions answered. I recommend this book. My only question to the author is: Why did Max kiss Melina???

The Awakening

THE AWAKENING                                       LORHAINE ECKHART
Posted: June 24, 2013

The Awakening (The Friessen Legacy, #4)Can a sexy rancher give a young woman hope?

MY REVIEW:

Wow, this short story had it all going on. Someone to feel sorry for, someone to hate, people to cheer for, those you "boo", those you feel you love others you could fall in love with. But, for sure you will be sad because you know it does happen like this in the real world. But, glad to know that there are heroes like this one in the story that can make it right part of the time. To give you your HEA (happily ever after) at Christmas

A Baby and A Wedding (Friessen Legacy)

A BABY AND A WEDDING (FRIESSEN LEGACY)    LORHAINNE ECKHART
Posted: June 24, 2013

A Baby and a Wedding (The Friessen Legacy, #1.5)'A Baby and A Wedding' is the sequel to the moving story 'The Forgotten Child'

​The Forgotten Child continues with a very special day, a perfect wedding for Brad and Emily.   


MY REVIEW:

Ok, this was a tough call for me. Although I enjoyed the premise of the short story it was marred. One, it was to short, two its characters weren't developed enough for me and three the ending felt rushed.

Marry Me

MARRY ME                                                   CHERYL HOLT
Posted: June 24, 2013

Marry MeBestselling author, CHERYL HOLT, sets her sights on the Colorado Rockies with her fun, sexy, and fast-paced Merriweather trilogy. The three Merriweather siblings—Lucas, Dustin, and Brittney—think they have it all. As the heirs of the Merriweather gold dynasty, they grew up rich, spoiled and entitled. Yet all the money in the world hasn’t bought them love or happiness. They lead lonely, isolated lives. But that’s about to change. As they meet the most unlikely trio of characters—a con artist, a nosy reporter, and a wounded vet—they learn that even the most carefully-constructed world can be turned upside down. By the right person. Passion, friendship, and everlasting love can strike in the oddest places, and dreams really do come true. Originally released as three separate novellas, Ms. Holt has bundled them under one beautiful cover for readers to cherish. Three great stories. One great book. Seduce Me, Kiss Me, Love Me…MARRY ME!

MY REVIEW:

What a Fantastically engaging trilogy of the Merriweather family. This trio of romantic stories held a lot of funny moments but a lot of terribly sad sections where you see how harsh family can be toward one another. When the people you  love should be the ones you should be able to go to when you need a soft place to land. You become so very humbled in how you see what you have. I do know that it doesn't matter what blood runs through your vains it's sometimes those that we hand picked as friends that become our true family that know all our deep dark feelings, our true thoughts, & all our yearnings. That is what each of these characters learn. That money didn't buy them happiness, love, or true friendship. So, join Lucas, Dustin, Brittney & their evil mother "Jackie" (couldn't resist). You will not be sorry.

Simply Amazing

SIMPLE AMAZING                                      CANDACE SHAW
Posted: June 24, 2013

Simply Amazing (Arrington Family #2.5)Cannon Arrington has pushed aside a social life to dedicate his time to medical school, extracurricular activities, and helping others … that is, until he lays his eyes on the angelic face of Yasmine Dubose. For Cannon, meeting her was a breath of fresh air. Something about the bubbly, sexy teacher makes him realize he needs to stop and smell the roses.

Yasmine has had a crush on Cannon since high school, but he’d never noticed the nerdy freshman. Now she’s blossomed into a woman who’s full of life. She knows Cannon’s drive for success is important to him, but she fears he’ll become even more of a workaholic than her father, who died when she was a child.

Will Cannon settle down and learn how to balance his career and love life, or will he lose the simply amazing woman who has stolen his heart?

Simply Amazing is a short prequel (13,500 words) to the third book in the Arrington Family series, Only One for Me.



MY REVIEW:

Cannon was Yasmine's first crush but at the time Cannon only saw her as his high school mentors geeky daughter. Well, at least seven years later all that has changed. Yasmine has grown into an exotic flower with beauty she doesn't even know she has. In a chance meeting these two cross paths & sparks fly so cuddle up & get cozy & watch the sweet sparks pop.

Playing Doctor

PLAYING DOCTOR                                      JULIE  ROWE
Posted: June 23, 2013

Playing Doctor (Bandit Creek Books)Dr. Abigail Westward has been home after two tours of duty in Afghanistan for about two months and she’s taken up an unusual hobby. A hobby that has the local sheriff scared stiff: tossing lit dynamite sticks into the still waters of Lost Lake in Montana. After locking her up for twenty-four hours, then a couple weeks later for forty-eight, the sheriff is getting desperate to find a way to combat Doc Abby’s explosive habit. He calls in a very special Doc-sitter, Jacob “Smitty” Smith, a fellow soldier of Abby’s and the only man who might be able to find out what was really going on with Bandit Creek’s doctor.

Smitty is in Bandit Creek for one reason and one reason only. He loves Abby, has from damn near the moment he met her in Afghanistan. He’s stayed at arm’s length until now because getting involved with anyone while on a combat mission is just plain stupid. But combat is over for both of them and he’s waited long enough. He wants her and he’ll play dirty to get her because he knows she’s hurting deep down in a place she doesn’t want anyone to see.

Seeing Smitty waiting for her on shore, Abby gives up the dynamite with little or no argument. It’s far too much fun to verbally poke at him and the sheriff, until she finds out he’s been hired by the town of Bandit Creek to ride herd on her. She’s resistant to the idea right up to the moment someone attempts to shoot her in the middle of town. Now she and Smitty have to figure out who wants to kill her and why before he’ll go, because if he stays she’s not sure she’ll be able to resist temptation. Smitty is her only weakness. He’s the one man she trusts absolutely, the one man she loves, the one man who knows her terrible secret.

She’s a doctor who’s guilty of murder.


MY REVIEW:

I really enjoyed Julie Rowe's style of writing. This is the first book of hers that I have ever read. I am so glad that I did. Abby & Smitty are such enjoyable characters literally right out the shoot. The way they banter with one another is not only refreshing but fun as all get out. Especially, since you can see all the love the comes along with it. With all the issues Abby has from coming home from  A-gstan Smitty is right there. The turn of events that follow once he arrives makes Abby face things she tried to stuff but now she can't. Ms. Rowe I believe handles a very delicate issue of PTSD with laughter so we the reader as well as the sufferer can see that with help & love of friends, family, & community you can & will laugh again with help. I did enjoy this book.



Red Zone (Daniels Brothers #2)

RED ZONE (Daniels Brothers #2)                                                    SHERRI HAYES
Posted: June 24, 2013

Red Zone (Daniels Brothers, #2)After a case ended badly for Rebecca Carson, she’s losing her mind sitting around her apartment waiting on her superiors to allow her to return to work. Since she was a teenager, the only thing she’d ever wanted was to join the FBI. Now that dream was in danger.

Gage Daniels has made a pretty good life for himself. A nice house. A career he loves. As a professional football player, he’s used to getting almost everything he’d ever want with just the snap of his fingers. This includes women. A well-timed smile is usually all it takes to attract the opposite sex, especially in Nashville.

When a stalker threatens Gage, the team owner calls an old friend, Rebecca’s ex-partner Travis Hansen, to help protect his star quarterback and find the person responsible. Hansen offers Rebecca the job, and she jumps at the chance. It’s work, and it will get her out of her apartment. How bad can it be?

Posing as Gage’s girlfriend, however, isn’t as easy as it seems. The man is relentless. Rebecca must work to protect Gage while staving off his advances. She’s there to do a job, nothing more. The last thing she wants is to be another notch on a hotshot athlete’s belt.

As the stalker continues to up the ante, Rebecca finds it harder and harder to keep her distance from Nashville’s star quarterback. He isn’t what she expected in one of the city’s most notorious playboys. Now all she has to do is keep him safe until they can find his stalker, and hope she doesn’t lose her heart in the process.


MY REVIEW:

This is a book I might have looked at just because of the cover alone. Yet, passed up because for me involved more of a suspense then a romance. I would have been totally wrong. There were equal parts of both if not a little more on romance. Gage & Rebecca are two very complex, interesting, & frustratingly funny people. Gage for being a football player is so down to earth & his family is wonderful. The author bringing a true sense of closeness of hearth & home. Something Rebecca really knows nothing about other then her younger sister who she has cared for her whole life like a mother hen. Yet, Gage's family engulfs them both no questions asked. The saddest yet funnest thing was in Gage's families living room when Gage hugs Rebecca, everyone stops & stares, Trent makes his statement. That was just unbelievable. But, this who done it had me going for awhile. But I still had doubts. When it was who I thought at the end boy was I still surprised. This was a good surprise of a story. I think you will like it. Kept me engaged all the throughout.

Scorched:Turn Up The Heat

SCORCHED:TURN UP THE HEAT           DESIREE HOLT & ALLIE STANDIFER
Posted: June 24, 2013

Scorched (Turn Up the Heat, #1)
Book one in the Turn Up the Heat series.Kasey Jacobs spends her days as a bookkeeper for a discount furniture store and her nights writing erotic romances, still waiting to meet the man who could ring her chimes. Maybe her new neighbor, Skyler Brody... Too bad she hasn't seen him since the day he moved in.Then Skyler, a cop recuperating from a gunshot wound, spies Kasey pleasuring herself in front of an open window and nearly trips over his tongue rushing to introduce himself. The sex is instantaneous and hot, with all the explosiveness of fireworks.But Kasey wants something Skyler isn't prepared to give. Perhaps they can find a way to each other's heart-if they don't burn themselves out with their nightly erotic activities.

MY REVIEW:

I really enjoyed this free spirited female lead. She was not a push over the male lead thought her to be at the beginning. Yes, there is plenty of toe curling sex talked about in her stories she is creating by also acted out & then some. Yet, when our lead male does not want to share his private life she puts a stop to their party life. So, goes to show sex is not everything boys so what will he do? Is she worth the risk of his heart? A good free read.

The Bridesmaid's Baby

THE BRIDESMAID'S BABY                       BARBARA HANNAY
Posted: June 24, 2013

The Bridesmaid's BabyGetting noticed by the gorgeous best man is every bridesmaid's dream. Especially if he's her old crush. Lucy McKenty knows she should be wary of Will Carruthers. All she wants is to finally settle down and have a family--and that's a far cry from this globe-trotting wanderer's life plan.... Caught up in the swirl of confetti and romance, Lucy finds herself in Will's arms. Discovering she's pregnant thrills her--but is Will going to stay to meet his baby?

MY REVIEW:

Lucy & Will have been friends since their last year of high school, upon them now completing college together Will was leaving to meet up with his girlfriend at the job site that he had worked all these years toward. Lucy was always just Will's best friend until the night of his going away party & he saw hers. In the moonlight he saw a special type of love & sadness being emitted from Lucy's eyes which made him want to kiss her fully. As he did the earth moved like an earthquake. They were interrupted & went on as if nothing happened. Lucy knew he was going to his girlfriend & a job he loved & she knew she could never compete with that. For Will, since Lucy didn't react after  that, he almost felt like it didn't happen or she didn't want it to happen. So, he had to remind himself he had a girlfriend waiting as well as a job. As time got away from them & they both moved on so you would think until it involved Will's brother. You have to read to find out what happens. Let's just say these two need to learn the art of communication, following their feelings & never take for granted what is right in front of you. I recommend this book. Love scenes: G: rated. :)

Riley's Baby Boy

RILEY'S BABY BOY                                     KAREN ROSE SMITH
Posted: June 24, 2013

Riley's Baby BoyAfter one torrid night at their high school reunion, Riley O'Rourke thought his torch for Brenna McDougall had finally been extinguished. But after she appeared on his doorstep—with his infant son, no less!—it was clear that the flames of passion sizzled hotter than ever.Brenna knew that Riley was all wrong for her. But one encounter with her secret love plunged her back into his life for keeps. She hadn't bargained on their long-muffled chemistry being as explosive as ever. Or that the old feud still simmering between his family and hers could threaten their new family…and their rekindled romance!




MY REVIEW:

I really enjoyed this book. High school sweethearts that come back together for one hot night after their high school reunion. Here is the twist. Brenna McDougall comes from a very well to do family in town & Riley O'Rourke's is well known & liked was always struggling. Mainly due to a business transaction between both their fathers. These conflicts between the families always caused a lack of trust between the two of them. Yet, their one night of passion produced a big surprise, especially for a man who does not believe in marriage. This was a interesting book to read. Really there was only one love scene that was hot. But, the rest kept you interested in just the angst & conflicts of the couple, the friends & family. Truly a HEA.

Send Me A Cowboy

SEND ME A COWBOY                                PATRICIA MASON & JOANN BAKER
Posted: June 23, 2013
Send Me a Cowboy


I thoroughly enjoyed the chemistry between these two main characters. He was strong, bold, & in charge. She was romanticist, sassy, & knowledgeable in her career. The both fit the mold of their fantasy dream mates which always makes for a spicy twosome. This story will not disappoint. It handles a BBW woman the way all wish the could be not saying there are no bumps in the roads for them like real relationships there are. Enjoy this read you won't be disappointed.

MY REVIEW:

I thoroughly enjoyed the chemistry between these two main characters. He was strong, bold, & in charge. She was romanticist, sassy, & knowledgeable in her career. The both fit the mold of their fantasy dream mates which always makes for a spicy twosome. This story will not disappoint. It handles a BBW (BIG BEAUTIFUL WOMAN) woman the way all wish the could be not saying there are no bumps in the roads for them like real relationships there are. Enjoy this read you won't be disappointed.

Love In Bloom

LOVE IN BLOOM                                         KAREN ROSE SMITH
Posted: June 24, 2013

Love in Bloom (Kismet)Dr. Paige Conrad needs Clay Reynolds' help. However, he can't give it because she and the rest of the town of Langley, Maryland, might discover his secret. Clay has no memory of the first 25 years of his life. The past and his father's rejection is behind him. Digging it up brings back nightmare he has fought for ten years to control. After spending three years in underdeveloped countries following her parents vision of healing, Paige has come to Langley to gain perspective on her life and help an old friend with his medical practice. Learning Clay was involved in a rock climbing accident and went through the rehabilitation process, she wants him to share his experience with a trouble teenager to give the boy hope.
Paige and Clay are inexorably drawn to each other. But can Clay trust Paige and share his secret? Can Paige dare to follow her own dreams.


MY REVIEW:

I just had to much trouble with this whole story from the very beginning.  It just was cold but I started it and it was not a terrible book it had merit.  I just could not find it believable so it made me keep saying in my head this would never happen so it made it not fun for me.  Why in the world would a doctor go to a not professional with a problem himself because one his memory and two he just doesn't want to get involved. Well, both at some point want to do something to help but need the service of the doc that Paige was there to help while he was out ill. He guides them and while they fight it the is a pull to both their hearts and yours.  The sex scenes are hot so have a fan but the storyline just kept me disengaged for a lot of the story. I gave it three stars when I rated it for it was not totally bad.

A Chain of Thunder

A CHAIN OF THUNDER                             JEFF SHAARA
Posted: June 24, 2013

A Chain of Thunder: A Novel of the Siege of VicksburgNEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
Continuing the series that began with A Blaze of Glory, Jeff Shaara returns to chronicle another decisive chapter in America’s long and bloody Civil War. In A Chain of Thunder, the action shifts to the fortress city of Vicksburg, Mississippi. There, in the vaunted “Gibraltar of the Confederacy,” a siege for the ages will cement the reputation of one Union general—and all but seal the fate of the rebel cause.

In May 1863, after months of hard and bitter combat, Union troops under the command of Major General Ulysses S. Grant at long last successfully cross the Mississippi River. They force the remnants of Confederate Lieutenant General John C. Pemberton’s army to retreat to Vicksburg, burning the bridges over the Big Black River in its path. But after sustaining heavy casualties in two failed assaults against the rebels, Union soldiers are losing confidence and morale is low. Grant reluctantly decides to lay siege to the city, trapping soldiers and civilians alike inside an iron ring of Federal entrenchments. Six weeks later, the starving and destitute Southerners finally surrender, yielding command of the Mississippi River to the Union forces on July 4—Independence Day—and marking a crucial turning point in the Civil War.

Drawing on comprehensive research and his own intimate knowledge of the Vicksburg Campaign, Jeff Shaara once again weaves brilliant fiction out of the ragged cloth of historical fact. From the command tents where generals plot strategy to the ruined mansions where beleaguered citizens huddle for safety, this is a panoramic portrait of men and women whose lives are forever altered by the siege. On one side stand the emerging legend Grant, his irascible second William T. Sherman, and the youthful “grunt” Private Fritz Bauer; on the other, the Confederate commanders Pemberton and Joseph Johnston, as well as nineteen-year-old Lucy Spence, a civilian doing her best to survive in the besieged city. By giving voice to their experiences at Vicksburg, A Chain of Thunder vividly evokes a battle whose outcome still reverberates more than 150 years after the cannons fell silent.

Praise for A Chain of Thunder

“[Jeff] Shaara continues to draw powerful novels from the bloody history of the Civil War. . . . The dialogue intrigues. Shaara aptly reveals the main actors: Grant, stoic, driven, not given to micromanagement; Sherman, anxious, high-strung, engaged even when doubting Grant’s strategy. . . . Worth a Civil War buff’s attention.”Kirkus Reviews

“Searing . . . Shaara seamlessly interweaves multiple points of view, as the plot is driven by a stellar cast of real-life and fictional characters coping with the pivotal crisis. . . . [A] riveting fictional narrative.”Booklist


HUBBY'S REVIEW:

This was a very well written book as all of Mr. Shaara's, books are. This book is on the battle of Vicksburg, and though it is well written it is a little boring at certain parts. I was looking so forward to reading it that maybe I put to much into expecting more. Vicksburg was an important battle and sometimes it gets pushed aside. This is on the last attack not on Grant's previous two attempts. I will say this though you do get a lot of information on the cast of characters, the Generals, and other officers. North and South. Overall this is a very good book about a battle that does not get talked about that much because it ended the same timed as Gettysburg.

Extreme Prey (Lucas Davenport #26)

EXTREME PREY                                               JOHN SANDFORD After the events in  Gathering Prey , Lucas Davenport finds him...