Simply Irresistible #1

SIMPLY IRRESISTIBLE (#1)                      JILL SHALVIS
Posted: July 11, 2013

Maddie Moore's whole life needs a makeover.
Simply Irresistible (Lucky Harbor, #1)In one fell swoop, Maddie loses her boyfriend (her decision) and her job (so not her decision). But rather than drowning her sorrows in bags of potato chips, Maddie leaves L.A. to claim the inheritance left by her free-spirited mother--a ramshackle inn nestled in the little coastal town of Lucky Harbor, Washington.
Starting over won't be easy. Yet Maddie sees the potential for a new home and a new career--if only she can convince her two half-sisters to join her in the adventure. But convincing Tara and Chloe will be difficult because the inn needs a big makeover too.
The contractor Maddie hires is a tall, dark-haired hottie whose eyes--and mouth--are making it hard for her to remember that she's sworn off men. Even harder will be Maddie's struggles to overcome the past, though she's about to discover that there's no better place to call home than Lucky Harbor.

MY REVIEW:

I don't believe I've ever read any of Jill Shalvis' books before. I have to say I really enjoyed it a lot. This book revolved mainly around Maddie & her sisters & the man she keeps almost running into literally, Jax. She has lost everything so she thinks & doesn't really know who or what to trust not even herself. Her relationship with her sisters is funny, sad, & totally off the charts at times due to their mother the free spirit who has passed & left them an Inn this falling apart. Jax knows a thing or two about old places & he comes to the rescue. He & his buddies are just a hoot also the town just loves Jax but he like Maddie has secrets. You will enjoy this book.



The Sweetest Thing #2

THE SWEETEST THING (#2)                      JILL SHALVIS
Posted: July 11, 2013

The Sweetest Thing (Lucky Harbor, #2)Two Men Are One Too Many . . .

Tara has a thousand good reasons not to return to the little coastal town of Lucky Harbor, Washington. Yet with her life doing a major crash-and-burn, anywhere away from her unfulfilled dreams and sexy ex-husband will do. As Tara helps her two sisters get their newly renovated inn up and running, she finally has a chance to get things under control and come up with a new plan for her life.

But a certain tanned, green-eyed sailor has his own ideas, such as keeping Tara hot, bothered . . . and in his bed. And when her ex wants Tara back, three is a crowd she can't control-especially when her deepest secret reappears out of the blue. Now Tara must confront her past and discover what she really wants. If she's lucky, she might just find that everything her heart desires is right here in Lucky Harbor.


MY REVIEW:


I love, love, love this writer so far these are the first two books of hers I have ever read which are from this series. I have found with both of them I am laughing out loud to the point where my husband asks what's going on I tell him & we are both just cracking up. I think Tara & Ford were a fun & feisty couple that kept this story hopping. The towns hot line was a hoot too. 5* for sure

 

Head Over Heels #3

HEAD OVER HEELS (#3)                           JILL SHALVIS
Posted: July 11, 2013

Head Over Heels (Lucky Harbor, #3)Breaking rules and breaking hearts

Free-spirited Chloe lives life on the edge. Unlike her soon-to-be married sisters, she isn't ready to settle into a quiet life running their family's newly renovated inn. But soon her love of trouble--and trouble with love-draws the attention of the very stern, very sexy sheriff who'd like nothing better than to tame her wild ways.

Suddenly Chloe can't take a misstep without the sheriff hot on her heels. His rugged swagger and his enigmatic smile are enough to make a girl beg to be handcuffed. For the first time, instead of avoiding the law, Chloe dreams of surrender. Can this rebel find a way to keep the peace with the straitlaced sheriff? Or will Chloe's colorful past keep her from a love that lasts . . . and the safe haven she truly wants in a town called Lucky Harbor?


MY REVIEW:

Much more serious then the first two books in the series due to the storyline. But Chloe & Sawyer do heat up the page & can make you laugh with some of the situations one or both can get into. Not to mention when the three sister get involved. I really enjoyed this read. Chloe can turn Sawyer's morning coffee into an x-rated affair but funny as all get out and she doesn't even know its happening.  To funny.

Lucky In Love #4

LUCKY IN LOVE(#4)                                    JILL SHALVIS
Posted: July 11, 2013


Lucky in Love (Lucky Harbor, #4)Mallory Quinn has had enough of playing it safe. As a nurse and devoted daughter, she takes care of everyone but herself. And as the local good girl, she's expected to date Mr. Right. But for once, she'd like to take a risk on Mr. Wrong. And who could be more wrong than Ty Garrison? The mysterious new guy in town has made it clear that he's only passing through, which suits Mallory just fine. Besides, his lean, hard body and sexy smile will give her plenty to remember once he's gone . . .
For the first time in his life, Ty can't bear to leave. Helping this sexy seductress-in-training walk on the wild side is making him desire things he shouldn't?tincluding leaving the military for good. As their just-for-fun fling becomes something more, Mallory and Ty wonder if they could really be this lucky in love. After all . . . anything can happen in a town called Lucky Harbor.


MY REVIEW:

This is what you would call the modern day Florance Nightingale meets Prince Charming but with a fantastic sizzle. I love this small town of supporting characters that Mallory & Ty are up against. They are from the first three books in the series & I am sure they will continue in the next two. Can't wait to read. You will love this series but the rating is a sizzler.

At Last #5

AT LAST (#5)                                                       JILL SHALVIS
Posted: July 11, 2013

At Last (Lucky Harbor, #5)HER LOVE HAS COME ALONG . . .
Amy Michaels loves her new life in Lucky Harbor. A waitress in the local diner, she's looking forward to her first weekend hike through the mountains. But when a wrong turn takes her off the trail, she finds herself up close and personal with forest ranger Matt Bowers. And even though she's tempted to kiss that sexy smile right off his face, she won't make the mistake of getting involved with the town heartthrob.

A former cop whose life went south, Matt doesn't let anyone get too close. But something about the feisty beauty caught his eye the moment he first saw her in the diner. After a hot night under a starry sky, Matt can't deny their attraction-or the fact that for the first time in a long time, he feels the stirrings of something more. Now it's up to Matt to help Amy see that, no matter what is in their past, together they can build a future in Lucky Harbor.


MY REVIEW:

Amy is a hard core street girl now a waitress & Matt is the ex-military, swat, & now ranger who have been circling each other for months. Amy on a search to find herself through some journals her grandma left behind. Which means she needs to retrace her steps on a hike in the woods. For this city girl this city girl this could be a challenge not the fear but the elements. Hence, sexy ranger called by your good BFF's to go out & find out near dark when you don't come back when you should. A serious love story. Not for the faint at heart does sizzle a lot in the love scenes.

Flirting With Disaster

FLIRTING WITH DISASTER (Camelot Series)               RUTHIE KNOX
Posted: July 11, 2013

Flirting with Disaster (Camelot, #3)In the latest eBook original novel in Ruthie Knox’s scorching-hot Camelot series, a no-strings fling looks an awful lot like falling in love—or flirting with disaster.

Fresh out of a fiasco of a marriage, Katie Clark has retreated to her hometown to start over. The new Katie is sophisticated, cavalier, and hell-bent on kicking butt at her job in her brother’s security firm. But on her first assignment—digging up the truth about the stalker threatening a world-famous singer-songwriter—Katie must endure the silent treatment from a stern but sexy partner who doesn’t want her help . . . or her company.

Sean Owens knows that if he opens his mouth around Katie, she’ll instantly remember him as the geeky kid who sat behind her in high school. Silence is golden, but he can’t keep quiet forever, not with Katie stampeding through their investigation. It’s time for Sean to step up and take control of the case, and his decade-old crush. If he can break through Katie’s newfound independence, they just might find they make a perfect team—on the road, on the job, and in bed.

Includes a special message from the editor, as well as excerpts from these Loveswept titles: How to Misbehave, Along Came Trouble, and About Last Night.


MY REVIEW:

Okay, this is the third is the series for me in the way I read them. I have to say I loved this family of characters. They all blend so well but this one touched my heart especially. I worked with children with special needs as well as having adopted children with special needs who needed speech classes and know just how difficult this can be for a child let alone a man. This author did this book and character proud. I just love how she made Sean this strong silent type who could speak to everyone but the woman he loved for so long, and that when the time came and they did come together that Katie allowed him his dignity and gave him space to do and be who he needed to be. Didn't say it didn't hurt her feelings or make her mad at times but only until she understood the situation. This does come with a HEA so that made me happy at the end. I am hoping there will be more from this author and this family. What I loved about this storyline is that there was an added twist a mystery of a client who needs Katie's help and he won't say why which does not make Sean happy. You will see appearances from Caleb, Ellen, the Clark family, as well as Ellen's family.

Along Came Trouble

ALONG CAME TROUBLE (Camelot Series)                  RUTHIE KNOX
Posted: July 11, 2013

Along Came Trouble (Camelot, #2)Ruthie Knox’s Camelot series continues in this sizzling eBook original novel, featuring two headstrong souls who bump heads—and bodies—as temptation and lust bring nothing but delicious trouble.

An accomplished lawyer and driven single mother, Ellen Callahan isn’t looking for any help. She’s doing just fine on her own. So Ellen’s more than a little peeved when her brother, an international pop star, hires a security guard to protect her from a prying press that will stop at nothing to dig up dirt on him. But when the tanned and toned Caleb Clark shows up at her door, Ellen might just have to plead the fifth.

Back home after a deployment in Iraq and looking for work as a civilian, Caleb signs on as Ellen’s bodyguard. After combat in the hot desert sun, this job should be a breeze. But guarding the willful beauty is harder than he imagined—and Caleb can’t resist the temptation to mix business with pleasure. With their desires growing more undeniable by the day, Ellen and Caleb give in to an evening of steamy passion. But will they ever be able to share more than just a one-night stand?

Includes a special message from the editor, as well as excerpts from these Loveswept titles: How to Misbehave, Flirting with Disaster, and About Last Night.


MY REVIEW:

Along Came Trouble is the first in the Camelot series that I read. It of course appealed to me because of the whole serviceman returning home theme. Well I have to say this was such a fun story I did not want to put it down. It caught me right at the beginning and did not let me go until the end. Caleb is a Son returning home after a tour of duty to his country overseas several times in fact he thought it would be his career. But, when his father becomes ill and he knows his mother will not be able to handle things on her own then he does what he knows is right, he comes home. His family is not the average family it is a little out there when it comes to their belief system and after being in the army and being told what to do and how to do it and giving orders and expecting them to be done it is hard not to see them done that way. By family or anyone else. Upon arriving home he starts his own security firm and he is having to secure an old and dear friend and her next door neighbor and the sister of the celebrity that the paparazzi want a picture of as well as Ellen his sister and Carly (the supposed ex-girlfriend) of Jamie the singing superstar. So, when Caleb arrives at Ellen's where a photographer is stomping on Ellen's plants and she is pouring tea on his head and he is getting ready to take action against her, Caleb takes over. Of course Ellen says she could have handled it but she and Caleb know better but that just pisses Ellen off because Caleb doesn't know her background and what she has gone through to be self-sufficient. After running off the rest of the paparazzi he gets down to business telling her Jamie her brother hired him and wants him to secure the area for her, Carly and Henry (her son who he calls Hank and it pisses her off.) He doesn't know she hates bodyguards. So, the answer is no! This starts the dance of Ellen and Caleb. Not to mention this has stories within stories.

Anybody But Him

ANYBODY BUT HIM                                   CLAIRE BAXTER
Posted: July 11, 2013


 


A deliciously funny rom com from Random Romance. What happens when you fall in love with the man you hate?Nicola Doyle’s dating record is a disaster, and it doesn’t improve when she returns to Redgum Valley, after an absence of twelve years, to look after her increasingly eccentric parents. There, she’s thrown into regular contact with Blair Morrissey – the very reason she couldn’t wait to leave town in the first place. The decade-old scars are still raw from that humiliating day in high school – when Blair went from the boy she loved to the boy she hated.Except Blair doesn’t seem to be a ‘bad boy’ any more – in fact, he’s charming, infuriatingly helpful and extremely attractive. If only Nicola could forgive and forget . . .



MY REVIEW: 
What can I say? Who in their lifetime, as a young adult, can say they have never been made to feel like Nicola (or like Blair Morrissey liked to call her Nicki Doyle)? If they tell you they haven't I would say they are lying. Nicki grew up in a small town with a best friend who always had her back, which she really needed. You see Nicki came from a very eccentric family or at least her mom and dad were. Her and her sister were the laughing stock of the town or so she thought or some made her feel that way. Then on top of that you add that she was dyslexic and having a no self-esteem and a crush on a guy that when he found out she wrote poetry about him brushed off as if she was a speck at the bottom of her shoe she was crushed now to be back home to care for her parents for three months to give her sister a rest. When said crush Blair appears before her eyes. Mr. Toads Wild Ride has nothing on these two that is for sure. It does have the HEA but to me it felt a little to rush in the relationship after the reveal of his past. There were no real feelings. Talked about on either side then boom. I like it though and would recommend it.
 











 





HERE TOMORROW 7 PM PST. MARCI BOUDREAUX AUTHOR OF: THIS OLD CAFE SEE EXCERPT

HERE TOMORROW 7 PM PST. MARCI BOUDREAUX AUTHOR OF: Jenna Reid purchased the Stonehill Café to prove to herself that ...