ON SUNSET BEACH

ON SUNSET BEACH                                       MARIAH STEWART
Posted:  May 12, 2014

On Sunset Beach (Chesapeake Diaries, #8) From New York Times bestselling author Mariah Stewart comes a captivating and heartwarming new novel in her beloved Chesapeake Diaries contemporary romance series—perfect for fans of Barbara Freethy, Robyn Carr, and Susan Mallery.

Carly Summit’s name couldn’t be more fitting, since in life she always lands on top. She grew up wealthy and privileged in a tony Connecticut town, opened her own gallery in New York City, and is about to make art world history displaying previously unknown works by a prominent twentieth-century painter. No wonder she possesses a can-do attitude that can’t be soured. Ford Sinclair is another story. A military career in war-torn Africa, where he witnessed unspeakable violence and suffering, has left him haunted and deeply cynical. Now he’s looking for a way to forget and a place to belong. He hopes to find both back home in St. Dennis.

When Carly is forced to move the premiere of her new exhibition from Manhattan to St. Dennis, and Ford agrees to take charge of the town’s only newspaper, the two cross paths. But it’s hardly the start of a beautiful friendship. While Ford can’t ignore her charms, Carly’s unflappable good cheer only confounds him. Yet beneath Ford’s stormy brooding, Carly sees a man worth caring about—even if her warmest ways can’t thaw his frozen heart. But when a scandal suddenly threatens to destroy Carly’s career, Ford finds himself fighting hard for her—and falling for her even harder.

HUBBY'S REVIEW:
This book takes you back to St. Dennis. Finale Ford Sinclair, the youngest son comes homes and he is not talking as much as his mother would like, but she is happy he is back home. The other new person to the story is Carly Summit, an art gallery owner in New York and some other ones around the globe. Is now looking at opening a gallery in St. Dennis, for a local 20th century artist that she is wanting to show the art world. Both of these young people have issues that they are trying to overcome but they are attracted to each other. For Ford who is cynical over the violence and suffering that he had seen in Africa. She turns out to be the only person that he opens up to. I liked this book very much because it seemed more focused to the town and to the main charters. Also got to find out back story to the Dennis family which was nice. There were some funny parts and parts where they are going out in the river kayaking which I don’t remember in the other stories. A good story all around. I got this book from net galley.

No comments:

Post a Comment

We ask that when you are leaving a comment that you are remebering that children may be reading this blog, without the knowledge of a consenting adult. We all put our disclaimers on to get into the sites but kids are smart. Please be aware when posting to use safe language and pics. Thanks :)

Interview Schedule: Guest Authors: Every Friday 7 pm PST. OUR GUEST THIS WEEK: AUTHOR OF: OLD CAFE: MARCI BOUDREAUX FUN STARTS WEDS.

Author: Here Friday 7 pm PST. New Authors added in Red Dec. 15 – Marci Boudreaux Old Café 1 Rad-Reader Reviews: w...