Out June 5th
Misdeeds




THROWN FOR A CURVE

THROWN FOR A CURVE                                SUGAR JAMISON
Posted:  June 3, 2014


Thrown for a Curve (Perfect Fit, #2) WHEN YOU’RE A big girl
Cherri has often wished she were thin and graceful like a ballerina instead of being a six-foot-tall blonde with curves that require serious caution. Surely a charming Irishman like her new boss Colin, with his throaty brogue and to-die-for bod, would never go for someone like Cherri. Unless maybe he’s looking for the exact opposite of a delicate lass?  
there’s more of you to love
When Colin hired Cherri to work in his furniture-restoration shop, he had his eyes, first and foremost, on her artistic talents. But now he can’t help but see Cherri for the lush, spirited beauty that she is…and, soon enough, he finds himself mixing business with pleasure. But Cherri turns out to be more vulnerable than she appears. Is she in need of more than Colin can give? Or could it be that a feeling stronger than lust has him thrown for a curve?
Praise for Sugar Jamison’s Dangerous Curves Ahead
Dangerous Curves Ahead is laugh out loud funny and super sexy, with unique characters you can't help but love!”—New York Times bestselling author Lori Foster 

HUBBY'S REVIEW:
This book was a romantic story but really felt like more of someone telling a story of how they meet their partner, or a friend telling someone about a couple they know and how they fell in love and all of the things that went on before they actually admitted to one another that they were in love with each other. Cherri is six foot tall and is an artist, she feels out of sorts not beautiful. Colin is Irish and thinks she is beautiful and hires her to paint the items he fixes in his store. He has problems with his father and she is worried that grandmother now gone only passed on because of Colin and wanted him to take care of her. Not knowing that each other is actually in love with the other one. How they work it out and the other problems that they have make for a very good story. The characters are like the friends you know and the interaction that the author has in this book with everyone is more true to life. A very good story and excellent writing. I got this book from net galley.

INSIDE MARINE ONE

INSIDE MARINE ONE                        RAY L'HEUREUX & LEE KELLEY
Posted:  June 3, 2014


Inside Marine One: Flying the World's Most Amazing HelicopterCol. Ray "Frenchy" L'Heureux always dreamed of bring a pilot. Growing up, he built airplane models and dreamed about soaring over the earth. When he was twelve, his mom treated him to a flying lesson at the local airfield. Taken on a short flight by an instructor and allowed to operate the controls for part of the flight, he was hooked forever. It wasn't until he was running low on college funds and saw a recruiter at his college that he joined the Marines and began the journey towards his dream from Parris Island to Bravo Company and, then, officer training school. One day at an airfield when President Reagan landed on this way to a fundraiser, Frenchy's life changed forever when encountered HMX1, the squadron that flies the President in Marine One. When he saw the white-topped Sea King and White Hawk helicopters, he was determined to become part of that elite group.  Inside Marine One is Col. L'Heureux's inspiring story of a young man who dreamed of flying, trained, studied and worked hard to become the pilot who ended up serving four US Presidents - George H.W. Bush, Bill Clinton, George W. Bush and Barack Obama. It's also a personal guided tour inside the world's most famous helicopter by a man who knows that flying machine better than any other. Inside Marine One is a great American success story of a young boy who dreamed big, worked hard and finally flew the President of the United States as his number one passenger. 

HUBBY'S REVIEW:
Here is a book about the life of Ray L Heureux, who always wanted to be a pilot. He describes the plan of action he chose to become one and how that decision lead him to the Marines. Once he graduated from college he needed to fulfill his comment to the Marines and he became a helicopter pilot. When he did he never thought that one day he would be working at Marine One, flying the President. He talks about how he worked up through the ranks and that when he made Captain he started to hear about the requirements to put in for the Marine one crew. After a short time in Korea he was picked up to join Marine One. He speaks of the training that he had to go through, not only flying but also book and on top of that White House protocol from secret service, state dep. They were held to a higher degree of standard and for an infraction could get sent off the unit but would also go against your record in a big way. After his four years he was then sent to Hawaii as a Major and within a short time he promoted to Lt.Col. Then 9-11 happened and he was part of the United States Pacific Command (PACOM) as the command and control systems chief, and was the Admirals Deputy executive assistant for a year. He was then selected to command the HMH-362 “Ugly Angels” squadrons, which was one of three CH-531, which provided combat helicopter support for infantry units in the Pacific. This was a much storied unit from Vietnam. He then becomes the commander of HMX-1, which is Marine one. You are selected for this command not something that you put in for. He then explains all that it entails being the commander of over 80 plus men. How you work hand in hand with White House and the Secret Service. He spoke of being President Bush (the second one) pilot and how things worked. A very interesting story on what goes on with some of the back ground that we don’t see. But I can also imagined a very stressful job in keeping everything running smoothly with no problems when there is a problem. Like a broken heater in one of the helicopters in the middle of winter and they need to bring the other helicopter before the President comes out and act like everything is okay, with cameras going off. Any way you get the point. A very interesting story about a man wanting to be a pilot and then flying the President of the United States. I got this book from net galley.









LITTLE DEMON IN THE CITY OF LIGHT

LITTLE DEMON IN THE CITY OF LIGHT         STEVEN LEVINGSTON
Posted:  June 3, 2014

Little Demon in the City of Light: A True Story of Murder and Mesmerism in Belle Epoque ParisA delicious account of a murder most gallic—think CSI Parismeets Georges Simenon—whose lurid comibation of sex, brutality, forensics, and hypnotism riveted first a nation and then the world.

Little Demon in the City of Light is the thrilling—and so wonderfully French—story of a gruesome 1889 murder of a lascivious court official at the hands of a ruthless con man and his pliant mistress and the international manhunt, sensational trial, and an inquiry into the limits of hypnotic power that ensued.

In France at the end of the nineteenth century a great debate raged over the question of whether someone could be hypnotically compelled to commit a crime in violation of his or her moral convictions. When Toussaint-Augustin GouffĂ© entered 3, rue Tronson du Coudray, he expected nothing but a delightful assignation with the comely young Gabrielle Bompard. Instead, he was murdered—hanged!—by her and her companion Michel Eyraud. The body was then stuffed in a trunk and dumped on a riverbank near Lyon.

As the inquiry into the guilt or innocence of the woman the French tabloids dubbed the "Little Demon" escalated, the most respected minds in France debated whether Gabrielle Bompard was the pawn of her mesmerizing lover or simply a coldly calculating murderess. And, at the burning center of it all: Could hypnosis force people to commit crimes against their will?

HUBBY'S REVIEW:
This is a true story of murder that happened in 1889, in Paris France. This book goes into a lot of detail as far as the back ground of all of the main people involved. Also talks about how at that time the police force actually was using the most up to date methods along with Scotland Yard, as far as photo book and names of known criminals and when they had been released and to what province. I thought that to be very interesting. You get a back ground of how things were in parts of France at that time and how because of the way they deposed of the body made it harder for the lead investigator to know when the crime occurred and where. When they do find everything and start putting names together, they find out that they fled to San Francisco. When brought to France to stand trail the female a young Gabrielle Bompard, her defense is that she was hypnotized into doing the killing. This brought a whole new thought into court and into the way the public looked at hypnotized. Up to this point it was thought of as a carnival show or trick no one had used it or thought of using it as a defense for a crime and a crime of murder at that. There is a lot information about the science and other the main doctors at the time thought it could be done to carry out a crime. There is also the political fallout of the trail since the man murdered was a court official. There is a lot going on with this story but it is all true that is what is scary. A well written book and done in a way that you get all of the information. A very good book. I got this book from net galley.

FEAR NOTHING

FEAR NOTHING                                               LISA GARDNER
Posted:  June 3, 2014

Fear Nothing (Detective D.D. Warren, #7) My name is Dr. Adeline Glen. Due to a genetic condition, I can’t feel pain. I never have. I never will.

The last thing Boston Detective D.D. Warren remembers is walking the crime scene after dark. Then, a creaking floorboard, a low voice crooning in her ear… She is later told she managed to discharge her weapon three times. All she knows is that she is seriously injured, unable to move her left arm, unable to return to work.

My sister is Shana Day, a notorious murderer who first killed at fourteen. Incarcerated for thirty years, she has now murdered more people while in prison than she did as a free woman.

Six weeks later, a second woman is discovered murdered in her own bed, her room containing the same calling cards from the first: a bottle of champagne and a single red rose. The only person who may have seen the killer: Detective D.D. Warren, who still can’t lift her child, load her gun, or recall a single detail from the night that may have cost her everything.

Our father was Harry Day, an infamous serial killer who buried young women beneath the floor of our home. He has been dead for forty years. Except the Rose Killer knows things about my father he shouldn’t. My sister claims she can help catch him. I think just because I can’t feel pain, doesn’t mean my family can’t hurt me.

D.D. may not be back on the job, but she is back on the hunt. Because the Rose Killer isn’t just targeting lone women; he is targeting D.D. And D.D. knows there is only one way to take him down:

Fear nothing.

HUBBY'S REVIEW:
I found this book to interesting and thought provoking. At the very beginning I do think that injuries that the detective receives would probably require more healing than her going back to work. But I can understand the pain that the character was feeling pain wise and also the pain of not being able to hold her child. So she did have a big reason to want to catch the person who not only injured her but also took away her being able to be a mother. The rest of the story I found entertaining and thought provoking. I liked the way the characters interacted with one another and the way the story line came together. For me there was more to this story than just a serial killer it was the way that the mind was being played with also. An outstanding book. I got this book from net galley.

IN THE BLOOD

IN THE BLOOD                                                 LISA UNGER
Posted:  June 3,2014

In the Blood Lana Granger lives a life of lies. She has told so many lies about where she comes from and who she is that the truth is like a cloudy nightmare she can’t quite recall. About to graduate from college and with her trust fund almost tapped out, she takes a job babysitting a troubled boy named Luke. Expelled from schools all over the country, the manipulative young Luke is accustomed to controlling the people in his life. But, in Lana, he may have met his match. Or has Lana met hers?

When Lana’s closest friend, Beck, mysteriously disappears, Lana resumes her lying ways—to friends, to the police, to herself. The police have a lot of questions for Lana when the story about her whereabouts the night Beck disappeared doesn’t jibe with eyewitness accounts. Lana will do anything to hide the truth, but it might not be enough to keep her ominous secrets buried: someone else knows about Lana’s lies. And he’s dying to tell.

HUBBY'S REVIEW:
This book took me awhile to get into but once I did it was a very good book. I just had to get used to reading a diary at the end of each chapter and once I got past that and really following the story it was ok. The main character is a female and she is lying to the police about the disappearance of her roommate. She is also seeing a therapist and then she starts babysitting a boy who actually sees right through her but he has his own problems as well. There are a lot of twists and turns, but it makes for a good read. I got this book from net galley.

THE CIVIL WAR MONTHS

THE CIVIL WAR MONTHS                              WALTER COFFEY
Posted:  June 3, 2014

The Civil War Months: A Month-by-Month Compendium of the War Between the States The Civil War obliterated America's past, along with many of the founders' visions of what America should be. Replacing those visions was the America that we have today. Any true understanding of America, both past and present, must include a specific understanding of this conflict.

This work, with a thought-provoking introduction exploring the true causes of the war, traces the entire story of the conflict in a concise monthly summary. In addition to all the major events that shaped the war, key facts that have disappeared from most mainstream texts are also included, such as:

Both Presidents Abraham Lincoln and Jefferson Davis lost young sons during the war

The legendary Robert E. Lee faced intense southern criticism for military failures in the war's first year

U.S. forces battled the Sioux Indians during the war, leading to the largest mass execution in American history

A former Ohio congressman was banished to the South by Lincoln for opposing the war

Facts are explored and myths are exposed as the conflict is put in its proper chronological perspective. For anyone seeking a general resource guide to the seminal event in American history, this is required reading.

HUBBY'S REVIEW:
This is a through look at the civil war from before Lincoln is elected President to after he is assassinated. With Andrew Johnson becoming President, the Funeral for Lincoln, the hunt for John Wilkes Booth, the surrender of the Tennessee Army and other surrenders. The capture and trail of Booth and eight other people who were convicted with him. He talks about a steam boat named Sultana that was bringing home Federal prisoners released from a confederate prison, and due to a faulty boiler an explosion accrued and a fire broke out and due to the condition of the men over 1,238 died but it could have been higher. This story in all of the books I have read about the Civil War I had never heard about before. There is so much information in this book that I actually read it twice. This is not just your average book about the civil war. It seems every month something was going on not just a battle but some type of decision had to be made by Lincoln, yes he could look at his cabinet, but he was the one who it came to rest upon. Weather it was changing a general or a policy. At the very end of the book in the afterward the most powerful paragraph is the last.” The most important result of the war was the permanent change in the relationship between the Federal government and the states. Before the war, many considered nullification and secession to be effective checks on the threat of growing Federal power. The war removed these checks, which has led to a gradual increase in the power of government over the people, am increase that continues to this day”. I thought this to be one of the better books about the total civil war not just won area. I got this book from net galley.

FIX YOU

FIX YOU                                                              CHRISTINE BELL
Posted:  June 3, 2014

Fix You: Bash and Olivia - Book One (The McDaniels Brothers, #1)Olivia Beckett’s once-charmed life is falling apart. Her family is about to lose everything, and she has almost no chance of continuing her college education. She can't even seek solace from her high school sweetheart. He's changed. She doesn't recognize the boy she used to know— his violent behavior is escalating and it scares the hell out of her. Her whole world is crumbling, and she has no one to turn to……

Sebastian “Bash” McDaniels is an up and comer in the boxing world working nights at the local college bar until he can land the fight of his dreams that will get him the hell out of Boston and away from his family's tragic past. He’s weeks from his goal when Olivia Beckett comes tumbling into his life in a flash of silky dark hair and haunted eyes. When he saves her from a potentially brutal beating, they begin to grow close, but Olivia's ex isn’t ready to let her go so easily. 

Bash can't bring himself to walk away, but fixing Olivia just might leave him broken…

HUBBY'S REVIEW:

This book starts off strong and continues that way to the end. It starts with Olivia meeting a guy named Bash, and that is what he did to the person she was with, but she does not leave the guy and when she wants to he does not let her. He is someone she does not know any more. Once she gets to know Bash she works out ways to get to know him better. He of course has his own set of plans that don’t include a relationship at this time. But as the story progresses everything happens so fast that neither one of them is ready for any of the events that are about to happen. When they do you as the reader are both happy, sad and frustrated. But I will say that this is a more true to life love story and how things can go wrong so very fast by not even thinking someone can change so much. A powerful story and now I must find the next book to find out what happens. An excellent writer who puts everything in a short period of time and gets you hooked as the reader. I like books like this. I got this from net galley.

WRESTLING WITH THE DEVIL

WRESTLING WITH THE DEVIL                      TONYA RUSSO HAMILTON
Posted:  June 3, 2014                                            ANTONIO RUSSO

Wrestling with the DevilPlucked from his beloved Italian country-side, severed from his family, and placed on an ocean liner in the bay of Naples, Antonio Russo, just ten years old, embarks on the journey of his life. As he steps foot onto New York soil with not a word of English, his pockets stuffed with salami and provolone cheese and wearing a pair of shoes for the occasion, Antonio recalls the promise from his mother that in America he would find family members to take care of him and the trees blossoming with gold. This young Italian boy finds himself hit hard with a large dose of reality, obstacles at every turn. These obstacles would become the demons with which Antonio finds himself doing constant battle, but as fate would have it, he one day comes to realize that he is good at something. He finds by chance that he has a natural instinct and ability in the sport of wrestling. As his story unfolds, it would be the sport of wrestling that ignites a passion and guides him to the realization of his true potential, giving meaning to the struggle he and his family would endure in their journey from Southern Italy to the United States to create a better way of life.

HUBBY'S REVIEW:
This story is about a man who at the age of ten was sent from Italy to New York by his family. The first part deals with his struggles of being moved around from one family to another and also having to learn English. When he was 12 he sent across country to Portland Oregon and from there after a few years he started high school a coach came up to him and asked him to try out for wrestling, he did and wrestled for 4 years during that time his parents finally came to the states and after about 2 years they also settled in Portland. His younger brother got into wrestling and by the time he finished high school with his good grades got a scholarship to Arizona State University. After a year the coach asked his brother to have Tony come out for a visit. Even though he had been out of school for a few years he was looking for wrestlers. He ended up beating the 5 guys he went up against but his grades were not good coming out of high school. The coach helped him get a job and enroll in a JC for one year and then reapply, which he did and was accepted, and given a scholarship to wrestle and he also worked on getting a degree. He finished with a masters and became a coach, a wrestling coach and after many years he finally won a state championship as a coach. A really fascinating story. I got this book from net galley.

THE BATTERED BASTARDS OF BASTOGNE

THE BATTERED BASTARDS OF BASTOGNE   GEORGE KOSKIMAKI
Posted:  June 3, 2014

The Battered Bastards of Bastogne: The 101st Airborne and the Battle of the Bulge, December 19,1944-January 17,1945The Battered Bastards of Bastogne is the product of contributions by 530 soldiers who were on the ground or in the air over Bastogne. They lived and made this history and much of it is told in their own words.The material contributed by these men of the 101st Airborne Division, the Armor, Tank Destroyer, Army Air Force, and others is tailored meticulously by the author and placed on the historical framework known to most students of the Battle of the Bulge.

Pieces of a nearly 60 year old jigsaw puzzle come together in this book, when memoirs related by one soldier fit with those of another unit or group pursuing the battle from another nearby piece of terrain.


HUBBY'S REVIEW:
I was really looking forward to reading this book mainly because this would be one of the first books about Bastogne, which also had individual testimonies of what was going on. Each man always looks at situation a little different than next man. This book goes into great detail of just how close they were to running out of ammo, medical supplies, food and just about anything else you can think of. But like so many of the troops and especially the paratroopers or WWII, they would not give in or give up. Sure there was a story in the book of a man here or there that did not fight, but as a hole they fought. The 101st like the 82nd were taking a much needed rest after France and Holland. When the call came they went not really in the book the 82nd was further north of Bastogne (my father’s unit fighting the Germans). The 101st along with all of their support was stopped there at Bastogne. Cooks became riflemen, along with truck drivers and so forth. This was a good book and I am glad that these men are remembered for what they accomplished and that some of the other units are talked about as well. What most people don’t know is that most of that fighting was also fought for during world war one. This is a fantastic book. I got this book from net galley.

NOBODY KNOWS

NOBODY KNOWS                                               CRAIG VON BUSECK
Posted:  June 3, 2014

Nobody Knows: The Forgotten Story of One of the Most Influential Figures in American Music We shouldn't be surprised when we see God use the ordinary to accomplish the incredible. We should be inspired.

From the depths of near obscurity at the turn of the last century, a young African American man rose to fame through those ordinary things--listening to his grandfather sing the old slave songs as he lit the streetlamps, sweating through a rented suit during an audition, having a chance meeting with a musical legend as he was mopping the halls of his school. Through the seemingly insignificant pieces of life, God led Harry T. Burleigh along the path to fame, and through him preserved the songs that would form the basis of a uniquely American music.

Now Harry T. Burleigh, once world-renowned for his career as a beautiful baritone soloist, an arranger of Negro spirituals, and a composer in his own right, is lifted out of obscurity once more by Craig von Buseck. This inspiring true story will take you back in time to Southern plantations and Northern boom towns, to minstrel shows and soaring sanctuaries, and into the heart of a man who never suspected that God had destined him for greatness.

HUBBY'S REVIEW:
First let me say that I have never heard of this man before. Harry T. Burleigh. He would first start out singing what they called plantation songs, he was taught those by his grandfather. Along with stories about his family. He would learn another set of songs from the hands working in the stables but those songs were sung there or by himself. If his mama or step daddy heard any of those songs he would have been tanned with a switch. He would continue to sing and play the piano but mostly sing. With the help of Francis MacDowell, Burleigh was accepted into the National Conservatory of Music in New York. Once accepted he also worked for the registrar Mrs. MacDowell, so he could also earn some money. He would sing spirituals while working at night moping the floors when he meet the composer Antonin Dvorak the Czech composer who was teaching at the school. He would spend time with his family and also singing and telling him the same stories that his grand farther told him. Through Burleigh and the music he shared it became an inspiration for Dorvaks New World Symphony. By 1893 word was spreading about his voice and he was doing concerts at various towns. Then in 1894 he was asked to become a soloist for the ST. George Episcopal church in New York City. This was not only the oldest and largest but also all white. He accepted and although some members walked out others stayed and he stayed. He would become friends with JPMorgan, sing at Governors Teddy Roosevelt’s inauguration, just to name a few. From 1900-1925 he was also a member of the Synagogue choir at the Temple Emanu-El in New York City, the only African- American to sing there. He would go on to many more great things in the world of music his one down side was his personal life that part was sad. This is a fascinating book about a man who touched so many people not only with his voice but also made them look at themselves and the way they treated there fellow man. I got this book from net galley.

THE LONE RANGER

THE LONE RANGER                                          ANDE PARKS
Posted:  June 3, 2014

Lone Ranger Volume 7For the first time, the Lone Ranger and Tonto ride off into the sunrise! Crossing the Mississippi River, the legendary Western heroes pursue the rogue federal agent who betrayed them. Getting satisfaction proves costly, as neither the Lone Ranger or Tonto are ready for what may be the deadliest setting they've ever faced - the back rooms and hidden agendas of the "civilized" world!




HUBBY'S REVIEW:

This book was more of a graphic novel. I normally don’t care for those but this one very good because of an excellent story and the art work was the best I have seen so far in this type of book. The story was very entertaining but I am a Lone Ranger fan growing up watching him on T.V. I was ok with the more rougher looking one portrayed in the book, for me it made it more real and actually closer to a true western for me. The length of the book was not very long so you got right to story and the action which I liked. Overall this was an outstanding book. I got this book from net galley.

THE BULL RIDER AND THE BABY

THE BULL RIDER AND THE BABY             JEANINE McADAM
Posted:  June 3, 2014

The Bull Rider and the Baby by Jeanine McAdam
Sexy bull rider Caleb Cooper keeps falling off his bull and hitting his head. Smart neuroscience graduate student Carrie Wang is studying him. There’s just one problem, Carrie’s attracted to her broad-shouldered research subject. But she shouldn’t be, because Carrie is pregnant with Charles Winston’s baby. However, that one-night-stand occurred in a beaker closet and Charles wants nothing to do with her or the child.

Besides being handsome in a long-haired, scruffy sort-of-way, Caleb Cooper is kind and quirky. Carrie can’t stop touching him and their unprofessional attraction is mutual. Problems abound when Carrie’s traditional Chinese mother and Charles come to the rodeo. Carrie’s mother wants her to hook a husband and Charles wants Carrie to give the baby up for adoption. Carrie knows she could never let a stranger raise her child. Can Carrie go against everyone’s wishes and raise the baby on her own? Or could Caleb become a father to this child?

HUBBY'S REVIEW:
This story starts out with a bull rider Caleb Cooper, being thrown from a bull and waking up very slowly from a concussion. The main female character is Carrie Wang, she is studying the effects of concussions and trying to get bull riders to wear a helmet when they go out. She is working towards her doctorate. Since Caleb is the first one of the bull riders to have a concussion is informed by the director of his association that she now must ride with him to study the effects that the concussion may have over the long haul. During this time they start to find out things about each other and as the days turns into weeks he realizes that she is pregnant and that the father of the child wants nothing to do with her. She also fells the same way about her mother. She then finds out things about his life and his situation in why he has to stay on the rodeo circuit. The way the author ties everything together at the end you really have to reread what really Carrie mother is saying to understand that she was not being hurtful, she was being a mother. There are multiple relationships that need to be worked out and the author did a good job in making them feel believable, not just a quick ending. This was a very good story and more than a love story. I got this book from net galley.

DUTY BOUND

DUTY BOUND                       SAMANTHA CHASE & NOELLE ADAMS
Posted:  June 3, 2014

Duty Bound by Samantha Chase I used to think I could be a hero, but one deadly night destroyed that delusion. So I’ve come home defeated. My military career, my best friend, my purpose—all of it is lost.
What I find is her.
She’s my best friend’s sister, and she’s everything I shouldn’t want. She’s on a hopeless quest for answers about her brother’s death, but those are secrets that can never come to light. She’s always been a fighter, and she desperately wants the truth.
I desperately want her.
Someone is trying to kill her now, and she won’t let me keep her safe. I have to do it anyway, even if she doesn’t trust me, even if she hates me for it. A man protects what’s precious to him, whether or not he can ever claim her for his own. So she becomes my purpose.
I’ll become a hero for her.
MY REVIEW:
     When we are young we find our forever friends sometimes and well that’s what Levi found in Gavin.  The played together, got in trouble together, went to war together but they didn’t die together.  Which was just tearing up Levi to no end thinking he did something wrong and it should have been him.  Gavin was the nicest guy you ever met, always wanting to check to make sure things were safe for you and always willing to give you the clothes off his back. 
     This time though it cost him because Levi was supposed to go in first and instead Gavin did.  He was killed as a result of that decision.  Now haunting Levi.   Levi and 3 other guys that were Gavin’s brothers from the Marines Boot Camp came to the funeral.  They all had stuck together until now.  They all had planned to be lifers in the Marines so this mission that killed Gavin had injured all of them to the point where none of them could continue serving.  It had been years since Levi had seen his second family, Gavin’s family, Charles and Darlene and their daughter Harper.  Boy, had there been a noticeable change in Harper. 
     Harper was no longer the whinny bratty little sister that use to chase after them.  She was a knock out grown woman.  As Levi finally got the courage to speak to the family and he got in front of Harper he smiled in the surprise to see her, out of nervousness, he says how sorry he is.  She steps on her tippy toes and says quietly into his ear so nobody else can hear, “You son of a bitch.  Why couldn’t it have been you?”  Clearly she had different memories of their past that was effecting the present.  All the more reason for Harper to feel angry. 
     You see Harper works for the local newspaper and was calling a press conferences due to the fact that no one from the military was giving her answers on how Gavin was killed.
Once she started with all of the articles and conferences she started getting notice that she needed to watch her back but not out right at first so the police did not take it as anything and either did Harper but Levi sure did.
     The first thing was the slashed tires which was a red flag to Levi but then when he found out about the hateful letter then that was not right.  Come along for the ins and outs of this story to see what there is to see and hear in this romance mystery.  Levi’s plan to protect Harper does not work well in her plan to stay far away from Levi and his bossiness pisses her off.  He feels it’s his duty on behalf of Gavin to watch over his sister or is it?
     I give this 5 stars.  Provided by netgalley.com

Follow us at: www.1rad-readerreviews.com

SOMETHING TRUE

SOMETHING TRUE                                         MALIA MALLORY
Posted:  June: 3, 2014

Something True by Malia Mallory Successful children's musician Shelley Taylor sings for all kids, but especially the sick ones. After her little sister died in childhood, Shelley founded the music charity KC's Kidz to entertain hospitalized children.

She didn't sign up to babysit a rockstar.

Irish bad boy superstar Liam Smith is in trouble with the law--again--and needs to perform community service. KC's Kidz seems like the perfect fit, especially since Shelley's as curvy as his favorite guitar and he wants to play her.

Liam's deep green eyes strike a chord in Shelley, and she makes him want to sing a different tune. But Liam lives in a spotlight so white hot it might burn them both before they discover the true music inside their hearts.

MY REVIEW:
   This was a short but very sweet book, of a guy Liam Smith a well-known Rock Star.  Who was once again in trouble with the law?  So, to look better in court his agent wants him to do volunteer for a charity.  He had already gone to rehab and give up his drug addiction although he still had drinks but not as much, same as with his partying. 
     He ended up crashing his Ferrari through the front window of a restaurant.  He did however already paid for all repairs.  Although he was playing it off it did scare him sh__less.  The ironic thing is sheer speed caused this accident not drugs or alcohol.  He hopes that would be a plus in his favor.  His agent called Shelley Taylor’s agent to talk her into helping him out.  He knows her client (Shelley) is the founder and operator of KC’s Kidz, he thinks since both he and Shelley are singers that they would gel.
     Let’s just say it was not an easy sell.  Not too long ago Shelly had been dumped by her ex saying she has too much hip action so that is the reason they’re not having as much sex and then dumped her with not warning.  So even though she was talented in her own right she was too shy, she would shy away from life, and pour herself into KC’s Kidz.  It seems all that changes once she meets Liam. 
     They each share the real them.  Mentally, emotionally, physically, and spiritually.  Shelley finds her sex kitten with Liam and he finds his way in life a path.  The only negative if there really is one is that at the end it feels a little rushed.  I give this 5 stars.
Follow us at: www.1rad-readerreviews.com

ROCK IT

ROCK IT                                                            JENNIFER CHANCE
Posted: June 3, 2014

Jennifer Chance unleashes her hot new series with the tale of a smoldering rocker and the fangirl who catches his eye—and finds herself living out her wildest dreams.
 
Lacey Dawes is a total pro at the talent agency where she works, and it doesn’t hurt that IMO Worldwide Media represents Dante Falcone. The rock god has starred in her fantasies since she was sixteen—and remains her secret crush to this day. So when Dante picks her to be the interim manager on his Dream It tour, Lacey can’t believe her luck. Handling Dante is sure to be the most exquisite, spine-tingling, nerve-wracking mix of business and pleasure ever.
 
Although Dante is grateful for the adoring fans who scream for one more of his full-throttle, soul-searing songs, being surrounded by a cadre of corporate types backstage is wearing thin. Then Lacey shows up. Yeah, she’s organized, smart, quick to get him what he wants before he knows he wants it—but Dante senses there’s something else going on with sweet, sexy Lacey. One kiss tells him what that “something” might be . . . and makes him hungry for more.

MY REVIEW:
I really enjoyed this story a great deal.  Not only was it every girls dream who ever had a crush on a heart throb of the past, but it was racked full of hope and “If only you can dream it, it might just come true.”  This is said over and over by Lacy Dawes the junior agent for IMO to handle Dante Falcone the Rock Star. 
     The first time she says it to him there is a moment of great clarity of either saying those very words before himself, hearing them or reading them.  You see Lacy was not to be his handler on the trip Brenda her boss was but in their very first meeting he had figured out that Brenda had Lacy do all her grunt work.  Including attending his concert the night before.
     At that concert she was in the VIP section and the crowd surged almost crushing Lacy against the stage.  At that moment she looks up in a panic into the eyes of Dante who continued to play but never took his eyes off her.  With his eyes he communicated with one of his security guards to check on her.  She said she was fine at the end of that song he walked off the stage for a break.  The whole time his mind coming back to her.  Then to walk in this morning to see her is short of a miracle. 
     Knowing that Brenda, beautiful, blond, and sexy in her own right usually his type if you will did appeal to him did not today.  Lacy intrigued him with her luscious curves.  So, when Brenda started giving him the hard sell he said he wanted Lacy to be his handler on the trip Brenda became pissed.  She had plans for her and Dante not just business either.  Dante said basically, well you’re so good with the sponsors and stuff you are really needed here.  Since her boss was there she didn’t argue too much but said she would go to his hotel that evening to go over the contracts with him.
Dante said not to bother eyeing Lacy since she would be his handler she could handle those too, alone.  Further pissing off Brenda.
     Causing Brenda to overwork Lacy getting this trip underway.  Not inviting her to a few of the events to launch the tour that Dante was expected at and her too.  It wasn’t until the day they left he found out why.
     So much happened before getting just to this point that I have left out that you don’t want to miss.  It’s what happens after that that is touching with its HEA for sure.  The sexual tension builds up between their verbal foreplay and intense stare downs will heat you up, more than the love scenes.  Lacy’s crush is who she’s handling but it causes a huge problem too.  You see if anyone finds out it could ruin her credibility in the PR firm.  It’s so hard not to show what a total fan-girl she is. 
     This book is fun allows you to go be a rocker and a fan-girl all at the same time.  I give this book 5 stars.
Follow us at: www.1rad-readerreviews.com

HERE TOMORROW 7 pm PST. Lynne Marshall Author of: HER BABY, HIS LOVE SEE EXCERPT

HERE TOMORROW 7 pm PST. Lynne Marshall Author of: All Taylor Clark ever wanted was a normal life and a trad...