Posts

Showing posts from July 16, 2014

ANGELS AND SAINTS

Image
ANGELS AND SAINTSSCOTT HAHN
Posted:  July 16, 2014

Angels and saints. Catholics tend to think of them as "different" from the rest of us. They're cast in plaster or simpering on a holy card, performing miracles with superhero strength, or playing a harp in highest heaven.
Yet they are very near to us in every way. In this lively book, Scott Hahn dispels the false notions and urban legends people use to keep the saints at a safe distance. The truth is that Jesus Christ has united heaven and earth in a close communion. Drawing deeply from Scripture, Dr. Hahn shows that the hosts of heaven surround the earthly Church as a "great cloud of witnesses." The martyrs cry out from heaven's altar begging for justice on the earth. The prayers of the saints and angels rise to God, in the Book of Revelation, like the sweet aroma of incense. 
Dr. Hahn tells the stories of several saints (and several angels too) in a way that's fresh and new. The saints are spiritual gian…

CRISIS BY DESIGN

Image
CRISIS BY DESIGNJOHN TRUMAN WOLFE
Posted:  July 16, 2014

There's been a coup d'etat.It was not a mob of AK-47 wielding militia overthrowing a dictator in a third-world country.This one was different. On April 2, 2009 at a meeting of the G-20 in London, the fiscal autonomy of the United States (and other nations) was quietly turned over to a little known bank with a troubling Nazi past.The story of this coup sounds like something out a Ludlum novel, but this is real and John Truman Wolfe has documented one of the most enormous power grabs in history, the establishment of what international bankers call a GMA, a Global Monetary Authority. How it was done, who did it, and why, is the subject of Crisis by Design, a no-holds-barred expose of a takeover of the planet's central banks. Wolfe not only exposes the dark side of this operation, he tells you how you can protect yourself as well as what public policy actions need to occur to take back control of our national economic lif…

PATRIOT

Image
PATRIOTA. S. BOND
Posted:  July 16, 2014

What would you do for your country? In Afghanistan, a US Army Patrol is devastated by an enemy with sophisticated weaponry, while in D.C., Pentagon staffer Scott Jenson tips off the ambitious young reporter Brooke Kinley about a billionaire businessman’s involvement in terrorism. But why is the White House determined to protect this businessman, and why does the answer seem to lie in the Canadian wilderness? In a dangerous journey to the remotest parts of the world and the darkest corners of men’s hearts, Brooke races to prevent a catastrophic attack on America, but can she uncover the real traitor?

Patriot is a pulse pounding, high octane adventure thriller with a heroine who is as happy running rapids as she is asking difficult questions at the Pentagon. For fans of Clive Cussler, Andy McDermott or Stella Rimington.
Advance Praise for Patriot:
“Patriot moves at a cracking pace, Homeland channelled by Bear Grylls... the name's Bond, AS Bond, w…

THE CITY

Image
THE CITYDEAN KOONTZ
Posted:  July 16, 2014

#1 New York Times bestselling author Dean Koontz is at the peak of his acclaimed powers with this major new novel.

The city changed my life and showed me that the world is deeply mysterious. I need to tell you about her and some terrible things and wonderful things and amazing things that happened . . . and how I am still haunted by them. Including one night when I died and woke and lived again.

Here is the riveting, soul-stirring story of Jonah Kirk, son of an exceptional singer, grandson of a formidable “piano man,” a musical prodigy beginning to explore his own gifts when he crosses a group of extremely dangerous people, with shattering consequences. Set in a more innocent time not so long ago, The City encompasses a lifetime but unfolds over three extraordinary, heart-racing years of tribulation and triumph, in which Jonah first grasps the electrifying power of music and art, of enduring friendship, of everyday heroes.

The unforgettable saga …

JOHN WAYNE: LIFE AND LEGEND

Image
JOHN WAYNE: LIFE AND LEGENDSCOTT EYMAN
Posted:  July 16, 2014

John Wayne was one of Hollywood’s most famous and most successful actors, but he was more than that. He became a symbol of America itself. He epitomized the Western film, which for many people epitomized America. He identified with conservative political causes from the early 1930s to his death in 1979, making him a hero to one generation of Americans and a villain to another. But unlike fellow actor Ronald Reagan, Wayne had no interest in politics as a career. Like many stars, he altered his life story, claiming to have become an actor almost by accident when in fact he had studied drama and aspired to act for most of his youth. He married three times, all to Latina women, and conducted a lengthy affair with Marlene Dietrich, as unlikely a romantic partner as one could imagine for the Duke. Wayne projected dignity, integrity, and strength in all his films, even when his characters were flawed, and whatever charact…

IT HAPPENED IN WISCONSIN

Image
IT HAPPENED IN WISCONSINKEN MORAFF
Posted:  July 16, 2014

2013 Winner Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award General Fiction In an America ravaged by the Great Depression, a talented but ragtag baseball team sets out to change the world. Barnstorming the back roads and dusty ballparks of the Midwest, the Racine Robins rally fans to the populist cause, raising money for soup kitchens and strike funds even as they thrill small-town crowds and dazzle opponents on the field. Yet winning the hearts and minds of the people turns out to be easier for the players than facing the twin seductions of love and money, conflicting desires that threaten to derail everything they are fighting to achieve. After a sudden April snowstorm forces the Robins to find shelter in the Rockefeller hotel, events are set in motion that will change the way they view their team and each other. Can this tough, tight-knit group stay true to its great cause when ambition and longing come knocking?

HUBBY'S REVIEW:
This story…

SING FOR ME

Image
SING FOR MEKAREN HALVORSEN SCHRECK
Posted:  July 16, 2014

When a good church girl starts singing in a jazz club and falls for the music—as well as a handsome African American man—she struggles to reconcile her childhood faith with her newfound passions.

Raised in the Danish Baptist Church, Rose Sorensen knows it’s wrong to sing worldly songs. But Rose still yearns for those she hears on the radio—“Cheek to Cheek,” “Smoke Gets in Your Eyes”—and sings them when no one is around. 

One day, Rose’s cousin takes her to Calliope’s, a jazz club, where she dis­covers an exciting world she never knew existed. Here, blacks and whites mingle, brought together by their shared love of music. And though Rose wor­ries it’s wrong—her parents already have a stable husband in mind for her—she can’t stop thinking about the African American pianist of the Chess Men, Theo Chastain. When Rose returns to the jazz club, she is offered the role of singer for the Chess Men. The job would provide money to care for …

GARAGE SALE DIAMONDS

Image
GARAGE SALE DIAMONDSSUZI WEINERT
Posted:  July 16, 2014

Jennifer Shannon discovers hundreds of diamonds hidden inside an innocent garage sale purchase in McLean, VA. Terrorists, furious at their treasure's accidental inclusion at the sale, must wrest the diamonds back in order to fund their explosive plot against America. From the strife-torn Middle-East to the comforts of affluent McLean, conflicting philosophies clash with devastating effects. As danger to Jennifer and her family escalates, she must rely upon her ingenuity and inventiveness to hurdle the frightening obstacles thrown across her path. This mystery thriller is the second in the exciting Garage Sale Mystery series.



HUBBY'S REVIEW:

I liked this book, but not as much as the first story. Pretty much the same premise which I am okay with it just seemed much more going on in this story where the other story flowed a little easier and did not feel so complicated. I did like the inter action between the family characters …

WAR AND GOLD

Image
WAR AND GOLDKWASI KWARTENG
Posted:  July 16, 2014

In the sixteenth century, Spanish conquistadors discovered the New World. The vast quantities of gold and silver would make their country rich, yet the new wealth, which was plunged into multiple wars, would eventually lead to the economic ruin of their empire. Here, historian and politician Kwasi Kwarteng shows that this moment in world history has been echoed many times, from the French Revolution to both World Wars, right up to the present day, when our own financial crisis saw many of our great nations slip into financial trouble. Kwarteng reveals a pattern of war-waging, financial debt and fluctuations between paper money and the gold standard, and creates a compelling study of the powerful relationship that has shaped the world as we know it, that between war and gold.

HUBBY'S REVIEW:
This book starts with the explorers and the discovery of gold and silver from the South American Indians who were killed. He later explains how si…

Dezi's Australian Adventure Day 11 and Mama is counting...

Image
Dezi’s Amazing Australian Advendture 20 days of fun she is on day 11
Let’s show you rather then tell you some of the things:

sand surfing





 Blue Mts.



Host Family's Home The Pittman's




P2P Friends






Feeding wild dolphins



Rescuing starfish


Snorkeling




Breaking boards with hands.