SOPPY

SOPPY                                                           PHILIPPA RICE
Posted:  Nov. 21, 2014

The wildly popular web comic SOPPY--with more than half a million notes on Tumblr--is the illustrated love story of author Philippa Rice and her real-life boyfriend. True love isn't always about the big romantic gestures. Sometimes it's about sympathizing with someone whose tea has gone cold or reading together and sharing a quilt. When two people move in together, it soon becomes apparent that the little things mean an awful lot. The throwaway moments in life become meaningful when you spend them in the company of someone you love.

SOPPY is Philippa Rice's collection of comics and illustrations based on real-life moments with her boyfriend. From grocery shopping to silly arguments and snuggling in front of the television, SOPPYcaptures the universal experience of sharing a life together, and celebrates the beauty of finding romance all around us.

DAUGHTER'S REVIEW:  AGE 13
In the manga...okay I can't really call it a manga because there 
are barely any words and it's mostly one page pictures. I thought
 it would be a romance manga which it was a romance however, there
 is no way this was a manga. I was confused during it. It felt as 
it skipped around a lot. Leaving details out. Again I couldn't finish it.

Mom's Voice:
Now so that you understand my daughter loves beyond words Anime. 
 So when these three books came along for us to be able to review
 she thought OMG!!! Well, not!  So, sorry if you feel it is harsh 
but she is 13 and they tell it like it is. Thanks

ALIVE

ALIVE                                                            HAJIME TAGUCHI
Posted:  Nov. 21, 2014

Description

GEN Manga is Indie Manga from the Tokyo Underground. 

GEN Manga was made to give fans an exclusive look at real doujinshi, otherwise known as indie manga, that they had heard about, but until now, unable to get their hands on. 

In its essence, doujinshi is manga traded among other manga artists. Manga for manga lovers! 

Seemingly mundane events twist with an unusual presence of the unreal as the psyche of ordinary people is explored. 

Depression, time, and thought are redefined. 

Alive is a collection of melancholy love stories saturated with sadness. 

Characters struggle to connect with one another but never quite succeed. They are essentially alone. 

Enter a world that is dark and disturbing — suicide is constantly contemplated and feelings of guilt, inadequacy, and suppressed sexuality surface as identity itself becomes a terribly fragile thing.

DAUGHTER'S REVIEW:  AGE 13
In the manga alive the title was misleading. I thought it would be about 
a girl but in reality it looked like many different stories with
 a strange twist. I thought it was a piece of life manga 
but I was wrong it was just strange. It was a strange and 
confusing manga that I stopped reading it.

Mom's Voice:
Now so that you understand my daughter loves beyond words Anime.  So when these three books came along for us to be able to review she thought OMG!!! Well, not!  So, sorry if you feel it is harsh but she is 13 and they tell it like it is. Thanks

SORAKO

SORAKO                                                        TAKAYUKI FUJIMURA
Posted:  Nov. 21, 2014


Description

GEN Manga is Indie Manga from the Tokyo Underground. 

GEN Manga was made to give fans an exclusive look at real doujinshi, otherwise known as indie manga, that they had heard about, but until now, unable to get their hands on. 

In its essence, doujinshi is manga traded among other manga artists. Manga for manga lovers! 

Sorako lives an ordinary life. And this is an ordinary story. She has friends and family, loves her dog, thinks about life, and occasionally looks for work (kinda). These are the adventures into a typical girl's life. 

DAUGHTER'S REVIEW:  age 13
In this manga it was a piece of life manga however it was very slow and boring.
 Yes, I do understand its a piece of life but it shouldn't be so boring. 
It is basically about a normal persons life. That is just boring. 
This manga needs something in it so it isn't so boring. 
This one I also couldn't finish.
1 STAR  PROVIDED BY NET GALLEY  
FOLLOW US AT: www.1rad-readerreviews.com

Mom's Voice:
Now so that you understand my daughter loves beyond words Anime.  So when these three books came along for us to be able to review she thought OMG!!! Well, not!  So, sorry if you feel it is harsh but she is 13 and they tell it like it is. Thanks

A COWGIRL'S CHRISTMAS

A COWGIRL'S CHRISTMAS                        CJ CARMICHAEL
Posted:  Nov. 21, 2014

A Cowgirl's Christmas by C.J. CarmichaelFor years Callan Carrigan has been her father’s right hand man, so when her dad’s will names city slicker Court McAllister the new owner of The Circle C Ranch, Callan feels betrayed on every level. 

Then she and her sisters find their mother’s diaries, hidden from them by their father since their mother’s accidental death 18 years ago, and the shocking revelations explain a lot. Reeling, Callan seeks refuge in the local saloon, where it seems no one can reach her, until Court offers her a challenge.

If she agrees to be foreman at the Circle C for one year, he’ll deed the ranch back to her and her sisters. The deal seems too sweet at first—until Callan realizes Court has his eyes on something she protects even more than her family’s land—her heart.
 

MY REVIEW:
     I loved this Christmas short.  It is an age old story we all can relate to at some point in our lives when we lose a loved one.  “Who am I really?”  For Callan Carrigan it came crashing done within 48 hours of her father Hawksley passing away.
     Hawksley and Bev his wife had 4 beautiful daughters.  Bev was killed by a horse that kicked her in the temple during time the horse was giving birth.  Callan the youngest was only 8 at the time and clung to her father.  Even when she knew her 3 older sisters couldn’t stand him.  He was mean to the core, a miser, and gave no affection whatsoever.  Yet, Callan was just eager to please just to get him to notice her.
He just never really did.
     That became very clear when her father’s lawyer called to set up a meeting.  He let her know a distant cousin, her father would visit his family every Christmas, would be attending.  She and her sister’s didn’t worry because Callan had run the Circle C for years.  She did everything plus more like the hands.
     But, although Court McAllister seemed friendly and sadden for their loss Callan felt nothing but doom.  Callan was scared more by how she found Court extremely attractive.  As Ren, the lawyer, starts to read the will the bottom line is the girls received well invested money that had been left from their mother’s estate.  Hawksley had also invested well over the years for this very day and the girls would get that.  Callan would get the house only and an acre around it.  Court would get all the rest of the Ranch and that was thousands of acres.  With that Callan ran out of the room.  Ren stated it was due to the fact that it was being returned to the true Carrigan Blood Line.
     This book was filled with so much that it kept you fully engaged.  There were so many mini mysteries to solve that you were invested from the very beginning.  There were several times that were just heart breaking.  I gave this book 5 stars.  Provided by Net Galley.
Follow us at: www.1rad-readerreviews.com

THE WEDDING DATE

THE WEDDING DATE                                KATY REGNERY
Posted:  Nov. 21, 2014

Four Weddings and a Fiasco by Katy RegneryCurvy, vulnerable Jasmine has never had much luck with men and doesn't believe in true love. When she grudgingly accepts an invitation to her sister's wedding, the last thing she expects is to be seated beside gorgeous, teasing Robert.

Finding herself attracted to the handsome swimmer and won over by his kindness, Jasmine considers letting herself fall for the first time in her life. But, Robert's checkered past may become a problem, even if she can overcome her fears and give him a chance to win her heart.

Based on beloved characters found in Lucy Kevin's charming Four Weddings and a Fiasco series, The Wedding Date tells the story of Anne Fairleigh's half sister, Jasmine Turner and Robert Callahan.

MY REVIEW:
     What do you do when you come from a background with a huge lack of trust?  One of the two at a young age rebels and gets into trouble with the law.  When he is given a second chance Robert Callahan, 19, becomes a student at South Oregon University (SOU), and hold on with both hands.  He doesn’t have much time to date with swim team, practice/training, school/studying, and working to earn money for school extras.  He has a goal and he is meeting and working toward each one.
     He is asked by the bride of the wedding he will be attending with his family to be her new found step-sister’s unofficial date.  She doesn’t know anyone and since they are both under 30 it would be nice for her.  He agrees since Anne and Gareth, mainly have great to him and giving him a chance.  Plus Anne has been trying to hook them up for a while since her sister, Jasmine Turner, 21, goes to SOU too.  Jasmine has not made that easy.
     Jasmine has a low self-esteem due to not being raised with a father and made her not trust men.  To find out that she was the product of an affair her father had was just too much to take.  Men were off the list of serious ventures.  As well as marriage.  So, when she was invited to Anne’s wedding she truly didn’t want to go.  They agreed not to allow their father’s behavior taint their relationship, him being gone made it easier.
     When she meets Robert by chance so she thinks her guards go up.  Being slightly overweight with a rack that guys can’t take their eyes off of is not cool.  It was refreshing to her when Robert took one long glance at first after that when he spoke to her he looked at her eyes.  They flow easily into a bantering that is fun and exciting to Jasmine.  To the point where Robert says he’s giving her a pet name like all the guys on the swim team do.  The first one she vetoed.  The seconded she liked okay, “Mina.”  She said she just liked calling him Robert instead of the Bobby the family all called him.  From here on out they connect and disconnect and the outside elements intrude.  Honesty is important and openness to calm the fear.  I so enjoyed this book.  It was a fast read but the feelings that you went through with the characters were real.  I give this book 5 stars.  Provided by Net Galley.  Follow us at: www.1rad-readerreviews.com

HOMECOMING

HOMECOMING                                            JACKIE SEXTON
Posted:  Nov. 21, 2014

Homecoming by Jackie SextonAriane Michaelson is always the quiet girl in the room, the one that her kooky mother and three sisters lovingly call the wallflower. After graduating from college she finds it more than a little difficult to find the graphic design job of her dream...or any job, really. She’s more than given up on painting, and a terrible run-in with her twin sister’s fiancĂ© makes each day harder to keep a life altering secret.

Liam Ashdown was just the moody small town nobody, with one friend and a busted pickup—until he moved to LA. Spotted by famous actor and producer Michael Jennings during a late night shift at the bar, Liam is transformed seemingly overnight into Tinsel Town’s hottest bad boy. The life Liam once knew is turned upside down with models and mayhem...and there isn’t much down time in-between. 

The only thing that keeps him sane is the paintings. Beautiful ocean portraits that remind him of home, painted years ago by some friend of a friend. 

What he wouldn’t give to know her. To tell her that her art saves him everyday.

The engagement of his childhood friend, Todd, brings him back home to Craryville, to deal with a drug-addicted mother and an ailing grandmother. But it also brings him hope—somewhere in the bridal party is the woman who has been his calm and respite in the storm of fame.

The only question is, can she save him?

MY REVIEW:
     This is a story of a hometown boy who makes good in Hollywood.  Liam Ashdown looks at his fame as almost as big a cures as if he would have been stuck in his hometown of Crarywille, South Carolina.  You see he had hopes of being a great bartender so he could work on a screenplay instead he was noticed by one of the high paying drunks saying he could use him in his next movie.  Which he was in and he was a huge hit. He’s wanting out. 
     Then one day his best friend, Todd, from back home sends him beach scene pictures of paintings that Todd’s future sister in law painted and his fiancĂ© found deep in her closet of Ariane Michaelson.  She is no joke as an artist but she doesn’t know it.  She had them hidden away in her childhood closet so no one would know she even did them.  For Liam they gave him great sense of peace and gave him clarity for the future he truly wanted.
     Ariane had no idea her sister had found her paintings and was showing them to others not even her family.  It was her private joy, peace, and getaway when she painted.  All she knew at the last minute she had decided that she would go with her twin sister Isabelle home for the weekend to be at her sister’s bachelorette party.  Little did they know that when Todd and Jordan (her sister) pick them up, Liam, is with them.  The two girls start to do a mini freak-out.  Their sister Jordan sets them straight, that he wants to be treated like he was an old classmate and nothing else.  Yet, when Jordan, Todd, and Liam were seniors the twins were freshmen.  From what Ariane can remember he was quiet and grumpy most of the time and a loner.
     The ride to her mom’s didn’t do much to change that image at all “Mr. Bad Bones.”  Which I don’t think we find out why Ellen Delay even called him that.  Once at her mom’s she is off and gets away from him.  The next day he lets her know that he knows her through a photo Todd had shown her.  That he likes her a lot and is highly attracted to her in every way.  Especially sexually, that he thinks she’s gorgeous, and would like to get to know her.  Which she cannot wrap her mind around because she is slightly overweight and he can have anyone he wants and she tells him.  But he wants her.  All’s going well he leans in to kiss her and…
     I totally enjoyed this book it had some fun and interesting and well developed characters.  I especially liked the bathroom scene.  James is a hoot, he just made me laugh.  I give this 5 stars.

MERRY CHRISTMAS BABY

MERRY CHRISTMAS BABY                        JILL SHALVIS
Posted:  Nov. 21, 2014

Merry Christmas, Baby (Lucky Harbor, #12.5)SEASON'S KISSES

Wild child Chloe Thompson can't believe how much things have changed. She still can't get enough of her sexy husband Sawyer, but he seems to prefer working to thinking about impending fatherhood. So tonight, a very pregnant Chloe is escaping her troubles at the town Christmas party.

Sheriff Sawyer Thompson hopes surprising Chloe at the party will give him a chance to set things right. But as the snow begins to fall and the wind rages, he wonders whether he can make it back in time. While mother nature conspires to keep Sawyer and Chloe apart, an unexpected arrival will require them to kiss and make up . . . and ring in the happiest holiday Lucky Harbor has ever seen. 13,000 words.

MY REVIEW:
     Let me just say I love Jill She can take even a short and make you feel like you’ve never been cheated.  This story is set in Lucky Harbor and follows her series by the same name.  We get to catch up with two of our fun characters Chloe and Sawyer Thompson, who have now been married five years.
     Which and of itself is a miracle with Chloe being the free spirit that she has always been, never living by any rules.  The kind of girl that keeps rolling like a tumble weed, unlike her two older sisters who are now married also to Sawyer’s best friends.  Sawyer being the straight laced as they come being a sheriff trained as a DEA Agent he brings her balance.  But that also gives her cause for anxiety at times.  Too much calm, not movement, and no talking for Chloe can spell trouble and she starts making up things that are not there.
     Neither ever really thought of marriage let alone love at first sight so the fact that they are still together and having a baby says a lot for them both especially with their backgrounds.  This story goes through a week toward the end of Chloe’s pregnancy.  Her feelings a gap and rift in their relationship she’s worried Sawyer never wanted the baby and now doesn’t want her.  She finds herself lashing out at the profession he loves so much especially since he has taken on more hours and more training.
     At one point in time Chloe had a stalker and Sawyer had been the one to protect her.  Now while he’s away someone has been coming into her home leaving her gifts…
     I totally enjoyed this book it explains to each character why they were behaving the way they were.  Chloe was always my favorite of the 3 sisters because she always got her in trouble.  Now she will be a mom??  I gave this 5 stars.
Follow us at: www.1rad-readerreviews.com


THE LOST ART OF FALLING IN LOVE

THE LOST ART OF FALLING IN LOVE     KATE DONOVAN
Posted:  Nov. 21, 2014

The Lost Art of Falling in LoveGracie is fully supportive of her friends’ series of how-to videos to preserve “lost arts”—until they ask her to star in The Lost Art of Tying a Bow Tie. It’s not that she can’t tie one, it’s the man on the receiving end of her skilled fingers.

Mitch McKenna’s rugged, shirtless demonstrations of his prodigious survival skills have set the Internet on fire. He and city-girl Gracie have often clashed over his domineering, he-man ways. But when he shows up clean-shaven and dressed in a tux, he takes her breath away.

Their scorching-hot chemistry lights up the set—and the glorious nights that follow at his wilderness hideaway. But he is alarmed by the profusion of online perverts responding to Gracie’s beauty, and she balks as his protective instincts take over.

Their quarrel sends her running back to the city, leaving Mitch with a grim decision. Protect her the only way he knows how and lose her love. Or do it her way, and risk losing her forever.

Warning: Not a fair fight. Not even close.

MY REVIEW:
    What do you do when you have fallen hard for a guy who you don’t really care for?  One who has poor social and verbal skills but has been on occasion the object of your sexual dreams?  You make a “Lost Art of Video” with them and have unbelievable monkey sex with him, right?
     You made him climb out the bathroom window when your mutual friends come looking for you.  Grace Eaton, 27, is best-friends with Keira, who is a CPA and her ex college roommate.  She is also friends with Keira’s boyfriend Nathan who is like a brother to her.  A couple of years ago Nathan’s brother died and his brother’s best friend has taken over that role as brother/friend.  This friend Mitch Mckenna, 32, has moved to town and is helping out Nathan to fulfill his dreams.
     It became known that Mitch called Gracie, “Fembot” for a female robot, because she did matchie-matchie with her pink bra, nail polish, and toe nail polish.  So, when Gracie finds out she starts calling him Mt. Man, He-Man, etc… because he never shaves or really cuts his hair it seems. They both assumed neither like each other, when really they were both having sex dreams about each other.  These videos Nathan launches of Gracie and Mitch blow up and now Gracie has a stalker.
     Mitch and Kahn (his dog) to the rescue?  Not if Gracie can help it!
     I loved this book there are a lot of twist to this story and some serious stuff to the fun story line. The characters are fun and there is a lot of action that it keeps your attention.  Some spots made me teary eyed.  I give this 5 stars.

Follow us at: www.1rad-readerreviews.com

TALKIN' SPORTS WITH PAT 7:30-8:00 PST. LIVE CHAT TONIGHT

Talkin’ Sports
With Pat



1)  The Kentucky Wildcats with nice Macdonalds High School All-American are setting the bar for this early for the NCAA season.  With the way they beat Kansas the other night.





2.)  The back to back games of 50 points by the Packers are the first in their history.






3.)  In Baseball, I am surprised that the Marlins signed Giancarlo Stanton to a 13 year $325 million contract extension, since he is coming off an injury and lately the long term deals are not working out.



UNTIL YOU LOVED ME (Silver Springs #3)

UNTIL YOU LOVED ME                             BRENDA NOVAK Sometimes starting over means finding everything you’ve been missing… After ...