Two Reasons to Run (Pelican Harbor #2)

 TWO REASONS TO RUN                                  COLLEEN COBLE

A lie changed her world.

Police Chief Jane Hardy is still reeling from the scandal that rocked her small-town department just as she took over for her retired father—the man who wrecked her life with one little lie. Now she’s finally been reunited with her presumed-dead fifteen-year-old son, Will, and his father, documentarian Reid Bechtol. 

A crisis looms. 

When a murder aboard the oil platform Zeus exposes an environmental terrorist’s plot to flood Mobile Bay with crude oil, Jane and Reid must put their feelings for each other behind them and work together to prevent the rig from being sabotaged. 

A killer targets her son. 

Then the terrorist puts her son Will’s life on the line. Protecting him could be the common ground they need . . . but then ghosts from the past threaten to ruin Jane and Reid for good. 

She’s got plenty of reasons to run. But what if she stays? 

“Colleen Coble’s superpower is transporting her readers into beautiful settings in vivid detail. One Little Lie is no exception. Add to that the suspense that keeps you wanting to know more, and characters that pull at your heart.” —Terri Blackstock, USA TODAY bestselling author of If I Run 

“Colleen Coble’s latest has it all: characters to root for, a sinister villain, and a story that just won’t stop.” —Siri Mitchell, author of State of Lies  


Full-length romantic suspense
Includes discussion questions for book clubs
Perfect for fans of Allison Brennan, Terri Blackstock, and Dani Pettrey
Part of the Pelican Harbor series
Book One: One Little Lie

Book Two: Two Reasons to Run

PAT'S REVIEW


I did not read the first book but it still was able to connect with the character of the sheriff but felt lost with some of the other characters and part of the story with her son. The book opens with death on an oil rig in the Gulf. Then a mother coming to the sheriff with the son missing and whether it is a suicide, murder, or just a missing case. There is also a hint of a possible threat of an explosion of the rig which would cause devastating harm to wildlife and to the livelihood of the people along the gulf coast.
So as Jane is dealing with one possibility about a terrorist threat, she is also still dealing with her son being in her life from apparently the first book. She is also dealing with the boy’s father also. You have two things happening which for me once I felt like I got caught up in the story seemed to work and after the halfway point was a good book. I received this book from Netgalley.com I gave it 3 stars. Follow us at www.1rad-readerreviews.com


No comments:

Post a Comment

We ask that when you are leaving a comment that you are remebering that children may be reading this blog, without the knowledge of a consenting adult. We all put our disclaimers on to get into the sites but kids are smart. Please be aware when posting to use safe language and pics. Thanks :)

Her Wicked Stepbrother (Nolan Bastards #0.5)

  HER WICKED STEPBROTHER                         AMY OLLE My stepbrother hates me. That’s fine because I hate him too. I hate his crooked sm...