In Too Deep

IN TOO DEEP                                               KATHRYN SHAY
Posted: July 13, 2013

In Too DeepIN TOO DEEP is the first novella in Shay’s powerful, new anthology, AMERICA’S BRAVEST. (All six novellas are available in a boxed set.)For months, Captain Gabe Malvaso and Firefighter Rachel Wellington have kept their knife-sharp attraction to themselves and out of their firehouse. But when a building explodes around them and they’re trapped in the basement, will they still avoid temptation?




MY REVIEW:

First book I have read of this authors & very pleased. She has a nice build up of the characters, chemistry between the forbidden love interest, humor & indignation of how we treat our first responders & persons of law enforcement. I like the conflict it causes Princess & Captain due to the work situation but she wrote it in a true fashion. Wished this book was just longer a very, very quick read.

Fighting Fair

FIGHTING FAIR                                          ANNE CALHOUNA
Posted: July 13, 2013

Fighting FairWith a marriage in trouble, there's no such thing as fighting fair...

Jersey girl Natalie Copeland is ready to give up on a decade of marriage. Her husband Shane disappeared into the long, stressful hours necessary to make partner at his investment firm, and now their once-hot sex life has gone ice cold. She knows fighting for the man she loves against the adrenaline rush of deals and dollars is a fight she can't win.
The fast-track to partner came a high price, but Shane's not going to lose Natalie over his work. He knows winning back his headstrong, passionate wife won't be easy. Proving he's in their marriage forever will take everything he's got…and on Wall Street and in love, there's no such thing as a fair fight.  12,000 words in length, contemporary erotic romance.


MY REVIEW:

I read this book because it was a book on Jill Shalvis recommended list & since she is an author I enjoy reading (Jill's books) I thought why not. I have to say I enjoyed it. Up front this was one sizzling book in a good way. This couple has been together for 9 years & life has now gotten in the way. This is their journey to see if it can be saved or not. It is a very short read but it packs a lot of punch in a short amount of words you can see where this couple came from in their relationship & where it went terribly wrong. You will be very surprised with this couples sizzling fight to find their way back.

Embers of Hope

EMBERS OF HOPE                                      KRISTEN JAMES
Posted: July 13, 2013

Embers of Hope (Second Gift #1)Savanna dreaded telling her family and friends about her failed marriage so much that she hid it while living in another state. But she can’t stay away when her best friend Cassie loses her husband, who dies on duty as a firefighter. Savanna quickly returns home to help, longing to find herself again and make a home for her daughter. She meets Mike’s best friend, Jason, the man who talked him into staying with the department just before the fatal fire. He’s also the man who once saved Savanna’s life. Though hurting herself, something deep inside her won’t let her walk away. Jason needs her, but she’s off limits on so many levels. She’s falling for this sexy firefighter, but he confuses her to no end. Savanna's a single mom with secrets, and she could lose her best friend over him.

MY REVIEW:

Really enjoyed this story. Savanna, Cassie & Jason were all brought together by the death of Cassie's husband Mike. Tensions run high when Jason is a horrible reminder to Cassie of what she has lost with Mike. Sparks fly between Savanna & Jason which makes for a.sticky situation for Jason & Savanna. Overall very sweet story.

Taming Clay

TAMING CLAY                                              RAEANN BLAKE
Posted: July 13, 2013

Taming Clay Surly didn't begin to describe Clay Cardell. A lifetime of experience taught him not to love and never to trust, but he desperately needed a business manager. What he got was a spunky, high-tempered woman who tilted his world more than a little off-center. But if he had learned anything in his life, it was to not expect her to stick around. You don't trust a woman, any woman, to not just disappear.

Hailey Lambert just needed a shot. Montana was a long way from New Mexico and she just needed one chance to prove she could do the job. She was warned that Clay Cardell would not be the easiest man to work for. After their initial meeting she thought they might have understated that just a tad. The fact that her heart did some kind of somersault when she first saw him didn't really concern her. If she could deal with the man's attitude, she could certainly deal with some little physical reaction. Right? Well... maybe not.


MY REVIEW:

I totally enjoyed this book. It had so many twist & turns that it made it so very interesting. Clay is a person you really want to hate right off the bat. Yet, you get his background & see why he is the way he is with trust being his biggest issue. Then here comes Hailey with a similar background just not as hurtful to the heart. But with the help of Clay's friends & employees who love him Hailey sees beyond what he shows on the top layer & with just enough neediness to want his ranch & him to call home. Loved all the cast of characters & storyline had you tearful at times with lack of knowledge of true love & relationships & angry at Hailey for taking it so often but do understanding when you see the total picture.

Hanchart Land

HANCHART LAND                                       BECKY BARKER
Posted: July 13, 2013

Hanchart LandWhen Shane died Susan was left with nothing but a mountain of debts and bitter memories of a marriage to a man she'd despised. Even in death, his will kept her from making things right between her and his family. Alone and broke, she had no choice but to sell the Hanchart land in order to survive. Luke Hanchart hadn't shed a tear over his cousin's untimely demise. And he wouldn't stand by and watch a piece of his family heritage be sold to an outsider. He intended to find a way around his cousin's will even if it meant marrying his untrustworthy widow. Luckily, Susan was responsible enough to agree with his sensible proposal to keep the ranch intact. What neither of them realized was that with the simple words "I do", they were not only righting the wrongs of the past, but opening the door to a tempestuous future. Now nothing stood in the way of the passion that had smoldered between them for years. As they sealed their union with a kiss, sparks ignited and continued to burn.

MY REVIEW:

Blackmail of the heart. This is a love story of a couple who loved each other for years but do to the evil deeds of others were left to lust for each other to a point of anger/crazy love. This story shows how painful but yet loving & giving love can be true, some very good writing.


Jenna's Cowboy

JENNA'S COWBOY                                      SHARON GILLENWATER
Posted: July 13, 2013

Jenna's Cowboy (The Callahans of Texas, #1)Jenna Callahan has a young son and rewarding work on her father's ranch. She's content. But she never expected to see Nate Langley back in town - the first guy she noticed, the one her father sent away all those years ago. And she never thought the attraction they felt would be as strong as ever.
Jenna's cowboy has some healing of his own to do, though, after two tours of duty in the armed forces. With the help of good friends, strong faith, and a loving family, he hopes to put the horrors of the past behind him - and become the man Jenna deserves.
With an emphasis on simple acts of love, "Jenna's Cowboy" gives romance readers what they want most: a love story with a Texas touch.


MY REVIEW:

What a heart warming Christian based story of true friendship & love. You will find yourself crying, laughing & overall just feeling good at the overwhelming nature of the human spirit. We are all products of a higher power which I chose to call God.  He is so working in this story to show what we are truly capable of. Great book, well worth reading & that I found it free at the kindle store one day made it even more special, thank you God it was a message I needed to hear about healing.

Kiss Me, I'm Irish

KISS ME, I'M IRISH                                    ROXANNE ST. CLAIRE
Posted: July 13, 2013

Kiss Me, I'm IrishBestselling authors Roxanne St. Claire, Jill Shalvis and Maureen Child bring you three classic stories of sexy Irishmen and the women who love them...

The Sins of His Past by Roxanne St. Claire
For one incredible night, Kendra Locke gave Deuce Monroe everything she had. Then he walked away without a backward glance to chase his big-league dreams. Now after one too many daredevil stunts, he's back in his hometown ready to pick up where they left off--but Kendra has no intention of giving in so easily...

Tangling with Ty by Jill Shalvis
Dr. Nicole Mann, a child prodigy who graduated high school at the age of thirteen, has no room in her mind or her schedule for romance. But when the architect renovating her apartment turns out to have a charming Irish accent, all bets are off--and Ty Patrick O'Grady plans to use every trick in his book to stay in her life for good.

Whatever Reilly Wants by Maureen Child
Connor Reilly only has a few weeks to go in his "no sex for ninety days" bet with his brothers--and he figures no woman is safer to be around than his best friend, Emma Jacobsen. Until Emma shows up at a bar in a short skirt and high heels, and suddenly seems anything but safe!


MY REVIEW:

"This is a 3 in 1 book. "The Sins of His Past" by Roxanne St. Claire. Kendra is the kid sister of Deuce's best friend growing up, Jack. Over the year he use to kid with her, torment her, & even flirt with her. But when tragedy hits Deuce & he returns home life takes a crazy turn & life changes for then all but not Kendra's love will be enough? Worth reading to see."

"Fear & Shame are hard things to live with & Nicole & Ty have them in spades. When we feel as if we may have to show our true selves or put to much of ourselves on the line we get in our own way. This is exactly what happens to these two. Suzanne & Taylor help guide them. I enjoyed this."

The were three stories in one. The first two I already talked about in my updates so I want to focus on the last story & by far my favorite. "Whatever Reilly Wants" by Maureen Child. I have bothers & guy friends that I could have seen back in the day taking on just such a bet. This book just made me laugh being Catholic & all it made me laugh & relate all the more. The story centers around Connor & his three brothers two of them complete his triplet. The eldest of the brothers is Liam & he is a priest. By the way he is the one who comes up with this bet after an uncle leaves an inheritance for the triplets to split. They decide to split it four ways when the good "father" says no let's do winner takes all by..."No Sex For Ninety Days". Liam wins the money for the church if the triplets lose. Enter Emma Connor's best friend & local mechanic & shop owner. Connor is use to telling her everything. So of course she's the first to hear about the bet. But he goes one step to far...he tells her how nice it is that she is just like one of the guys & not like a woman/girl at all. She & her shop make him feel safe. Well, that's all it took for Emma to start seeing red. Her mind was made up it was time for Connor to see she was all woman under her overalls. Even if he didn't want her she was a woman. This is a must read. Were they really friends or lovers or just bed buddies? Totally enjoyed, for this story alone but all three together hits it out of the ballpark.

Whatever Reilly Wants

WHATEVER REILLY WANTS                    MAUREEN CHILD
Posted: July 13, 2013

Whatever Reilly Wants... (Three-Way Wager, Book 2) (Silhouette Desire #1658)ONE REILLY DOWN, TWO TO GO ...

Connor Reilly had laughed at his brother for being the first triplet to lose the "no sex for ninety days" bet. Though there were two long, tempting months ahead for him, Connor was determined to go the distance. Because not only was he a marine; he was a Reilly ...

For two years, Connor had been coming to Emma Jacobsen's shop, and she'd listened to him talk about this woman and that one. She'd thought their friendship was special. Until he admitted how "safe" and "comfortable" he felt around her. Well, war declared! She was going to show her "pal" just how much of a threat she could be to his winning the bet!


MY REVIEW:

Loved it's a must read!!! Although I have to say Emma and Connor were not truly friends or lovers they were just bed buddies in the end. Their steamy scenes together were hot.

Slow Heat

SLOW HEAT                                                  JILL SHALVIS
Posted: July 13, 2013

Slow Heat (Pacific Heat, #2)A great catch-from the USA Today bestselling author of Double Play

Baseball player Wade O'Riley's bad-boy image is about to be cleaned up by publicist Samantha McNead. But the sexual tension between them is about to drive Wade to his knees.


MY REVIEW:

Wade has a bit of a problem he is accused of being the father of a crazy fans baby. He is not but due to all the partying he does it's hard for his fans and management to see that he is not what they see in the tabloids. So to change that image they have the owner's daughter Sam become his fake girlfriend for a month. There is just one small problem here they both have a mad crush on each other but neither wants to admit it since a year ago they were trapped in an elevator and had the time of their life if you get my drift. So, now having to pretend makes them both nervous. Or at least Sam more so, Wade would love to make it happen and for good.  Sam knows he is a hard working player who is not what they say about him but these women that hang all over him gets to her. Join the wild ride and see what happens you will laugh and enjoy every minute.

Dating A Metro Man

DATING A METRO MAN                            DONNA McDONALD
Posted: July 13, 2013

Dating A Metro Man (Never Too Late #4)If asked, 30 yr old Seth Carter could not have recounted a single moment since he’d met the frustrating woman that he had not un-irrevocably loved the stubborn, self-centered, and admittedly spoiled 28 yr old Jenna Ranger. He truly hadn’t meant to ignore or reject her passion during the months they had dated, but he hadn’t understood the depth of it. Okay, maybe he hadn’t be able to see how it fit with the rest of his plans, but he did now. He is certainly more than glad to rectify the wrong if Jenna would only let him. Anything is better than the torture of watching Jenna date other men and wondering if she’s going to sleep with them. His cousin Casey thinks he’s crazy for trying so hard to get Jenna back into his life, but Seth knows he is so crazy in love with Jenna that there is simply nothing else he can do. It’s the way Jenna looks at him, and the way she touches him, and the unrestrained way she always kisses him regardless of how mad she is. Seth knows for certain that once he has Jenna completely in his life, there is never going to be anyone else for either of them.

Dating Seth Cater did not work out well for Jenna Ranger. After finally ending her four month toxic torture cycle of trying to seduce the man and failing repeatedly, Jenna is now investing a lot of energy in putting her humiliating attempt at a relationship with him behind her. With her ego in shreds and her feminine self-worth tattered, she is determined not to repeat the mistake her mother made in life of pining for a man who did not desire her. Jenna actively dates with as much commitment to finding a replacement boyfriend as she ever put into any architecture project. Sure it’s a struggle at times to find interesting, straight men, but Jenna is resourceful. And okay, maybe she still has a problem of not being able to keep her hands off Seth when he’s nearby. None of that means she isn’t going to eventually get over him. No woman in her right mind would willing choose to spend all her free time with a man who so obviously loves his cell phone more than he does her. It would be helpful though if the man in question didn’t make her dizzy when he kissed her and wasn’t able to arouse her completely with a single touch of his hand.


MY REVIEW:

After reading Dating a Cougar had to find out what happened to Seth & Jenna. I was not disappointed at all in the outcome or the writing in general. the cast of characters once again was totally enjoyable. I have to say my favorite character of all is Allen. He just grabs you by the heart & makes you laugh. glad his storyline works out well too. Still a steamy book line but I have to say this write seems to keep these relationships committed which I just seem to like if you are going to have erotic scenes at least keep it true.


Dating A Cougar

DATING A COUGAR                                    DONNA McDONALD
Posted: July 13, 2013

Dating A Cougar (Never Too Late #1)After several decades of looking for true love and never finding it, aging model and lingerie designer, Alexa Ranger, has finally given up the search. A couple years ago, she got tired of the game completely and just stopped dating. Now friends and family keep her mostly content, so it's shocking at 50 yrs old to find herself suddenly wanting a sex life again. It's even more shocking to be attracted to a much younger man this time. She definitely thinks Casey Carter is sexy, but not handling her own age well, Alexa just can't get passed their twelve year age difference to even consider a fling. Not that it matters anyway, anything resembling a normal dating relationship is totally out of the question because Casey is related to and living with her daughter's boyfriend. The very last thing Alexa needs is yet another talk-show worthy drama in her already complicated life, no matter how amazing Casey's kisses make her feel. For a couple of years, 38 yr old, medically retired Marine, Casey Carter, believed his military injury had made him impotent. Having lost his wife to cancer, he hadn't exactly been worried about the problem. Most days walking with cane was enough challenge for him. But now that he was ready to move on with his life, he had become more worried when none of the females his cousin brought around held any interest for him. So the last woman in the world he expected to start his engine revving again was the mother of his cousin's girlfriend. Even at fifty, Alexa is drop-dead gorgeous, and his libido certainly keeps reminding him she is the first woman he has wanted in a long, long time. Ironically, the more Casey gets to know and like Alexa, he finds out desiring the older woman is the easiest part. Jaded and cynical about love, Alexa is a difficult woman to convince of anything, but her kisses are all the proof he needs that they belong together. The former Marine decides his next mission is figuring out how to fit himself into her life.

MY REVIEW:

I really enjoyed this book. Yes, ok, it has a lot of very steamy scenes. But the story line behind that is so much more it is great story writing, you just don't want to put down. Casey is an ex- Marine injured in combat after being total military for 18 yrs. He is only 38 but has lived a lifetime because he has raised his only other living relative who is only 9 yrs. younger then him since Seth was 12 with the help of the then wife Susan who died of cancer 6 months after he was discharged due to his hip replacement. Now here we are, Seth has graduated Harvard & 2 yrs. have passed since Susan's death & Casey is ready to move on. So he moves in with Seth. Happens to meet Seth's girlfriend's mom & his world becomes brighter again. One small problem, she's 50. Not only that she is set in her ways, has a mind of her own, has been hurt before by men, has created her own empire, & craves companionship but is so very fearful. But Casey with his crude military ways & his brash youth brakes through a lot of chains she had locked her heart in. Not to mention her lust. The dynamics of her friends & family are so typical of today's households that it makes you laugh out loud all the stuff that happens. As well as makes you cry & angry. I found myself looking at Alexa & thinking you are a 50 yr. old accomplished woman act like it. Other times feeling extreme sorrow for her & others just cracking up. The twist & turns are many in this book but very worth reading.

The Bodyguard's Secret Baby

THE BODYGUARD'S SECRET BABY          S.R. COLE
Posted: July 13, 2013

Wild Bill Williams didn't plan on becoming a father, but when Doctor Carrie Carlton turned up on his doorstep pregnant and in danger, Bill knew he couldn't turn her away. In a desperate bid to save the life of his unborn child, rancher and bodyguard Bill did the only thing he could do, propose!

MY REVIEW:

This was a very surprisingly sweet love story. Filled with suspense, heart ache, sadness, fear, laughter & happiness. This writer has capture all the wonderful qualities of what a close loving family is all about. Even the bickering is done with an underlying humor. What could have been a horrible situation was turned into a positive. Now I do have to say there were grammar errors & spelling also. But who am I to talk. I am lucky I remember my name. But I totally loved this book & that it was free to read even better.

BB Dalton

BB DALTON                                                 CAT JOHNSON
Posted: July 13, 2013

BB DaltonA Red, Hot, & Blue Bonus Read

A special assignment takes SpecOp BB from working undercover to under the covers…

Billy Bob "BB" Dalton thought he'd left his career as an underwear model behind when he became a Navy SEAL assigned to a team of special ops where no one is supposed to have a past or an identity. Now the military wants him to be the poster boy for their new recruitment marketing campaign, and during what was supposed to be his Christmas leave no less.

Luckily his ‘handler’ turns out to be hot enough to melt icicles in winter, but can BB convince this slightly older and definitely jaded career-focused marketing executive to let him go from working undercover to working her under the covers?

Reader Note: The events in this story take place after Jimmy (Red, Hot, & Blue, Book 3) and before A Few Good Men and Model Soldier (Red, Hot, & Blue Novels)


MY REVIEW:

This was a much better book then I was expecting I have to say. I figured okay Cougar & younger man. Yet, this author managed to add humor & warmth as well as a build up of a friendly banter that leads to a first sexual encounter. The whole underwear model before becoming a NAVY SEAL was just to funny to start for a plot line. The ending was a total surprise. I enjoyed this read.

When We Meet Again

WHEN WE MEET AGAIN                           TARA CHEVRESTT
Posted: July 13, 2013

When We Meet AgainAt a New Year's Eve party, a military wife gets a surprise visitor...
A short story of love, loss, and hope.


MY REVIEW:

This was a short & to the heart love story of a lost true love. You could truly feel the anguish of the wife that was left behind. The author made believe for just a moment that her life had been so different. This was a short so worth reading. So honors the wives (& husband) who honor their spouses that serve & may never return.

Treat

TREAT                                                            ALANNA COCA
Posted: July 13, 2013

TreatAndi Hampton and her two friends treat themselves to a getaway at a Wyoming guest ranch. It would be their last summer together before college, and Andi's well planned life begins. When she meets ranch wrangler Jake Walker, she begins to wonder if she can pencil in a little bit of love.

A short prequel to Alanna's book Retreat. This version also includes the first chapter of Retreat at the end of the file.

MY REVIEW:

Okay, at first when I started reading this I thought okay this going to be another graduation party girl vacation. To let their hair down find a guy have sex & bye bye. But it wasn't all about that it was more. Which really surprised me. So much so that this free book, a prequel, got me to buy, Retreat the continuation of this book which is so good. This book is about three friends who go to VBar Ranch for two week vacation. Andi who has had her life planned out since she was 12 does not not divert from that plan ever. So, the plan was to go to VBar get laid leave. Things change once she meets Jake or do they? This is a prequel for Retreat a must read!!!

Retreat

RETREAT                                                       ALANNA COCA
Posted: July 13 2013

RetreatTen years ago, Andria Thomas celebrated her high school graduation with a retreat at a Wyoming guest ranch. She never expected to fall for a young cowboy during her horseback riding lessons. There was no way that she would sacrifice her well planned life for a long distance relationship with a guy she'd only known for two weeks! Now, after a bitter divorce, Andria returns to the V-Bar Guest Ranch, and is surprised to find that not only did Jake Walker still work on the ranch; he was now running the place. The last thing she needs is another disruption, and re-treating herself to a fling with an old lover is not the way to relax and regroup. It was a good thing she'd have help resisting his charm, thanks to Jake's wife. Time for a hasty retreat...


MY REVIEW:

If you really want to get the best from this story I totally recommend reading treat first because it tells you where this couple was ten years prior & sets up everything. A prequel. I totally enjoyed this story. This man Jake is who every woman wants in there life. Yet, Andi had him & she walked away from ten yrs. ago. This book had a great deal of surprising swift & winding turns. The ending was the best surprise of all...

Last Chance Book Club

LAST CHANCE BOOK CLUB                      HOPE RAMSAY
Posted: July 13, 2013

Last Chance Book ClubAfter a painful divorce, Savannah White wants nothing more than to find her happy place. So when she gets the chance to pack up her life -and her son - and move to the idyllic town where she spent childhood summers, she jumps at the opportunity. Last Chance is just as charming as she remembered. She's even invited to join the local book club, where talk soon turns to Savannah's plan to bring the ramshackle downtown movie theater back to life. A new challenge is just what Savannah needs to move forward.. . .
Dash Randall wants to put his fortune to good use, but he remembers Savannah as the bratty "princess" who descended upon him each June, causing no end of trouble. But the teenager he remembered has grown into a gorgeous and generous woman, and it isn't long before Dash finds himself wanting to make brand new memories with Savannah. But first, Dash and Savannah will need to make peace with their pasts to find a new chance for love.


HUBBY'S REVIEW:

I liked some of the other books just a little better. This one still has the same characters and brings someone home who was gone for a long time. She also has a son and she is wanting to help her aunt and hope this town is good for her son to grow up in. This is a good book I just liked the other books a little better. Still a good story.

Last Chance Christmas

LAST CHANCE CHRISTMAS                     HOPE RAMSAY
Posted: July 13, 2013

Last Chance ChristmasDear Reader,
I've been wishing for a miracle for my oldest boy, Stone, and this Christmas my prayers might just be answered!


Her name is Lark, and she's here in Last Chance, looking into her father's past-and stirring up a whole mess of trouble without meaning to. As the chief of police, Stone sure has his hands full trying to keep up with her. Ever since his wife died, Stone's put everything into raising his daughters and dodging the Christ Church Ladies' Auxiliary matchmakers. And it's clear Lark has been through some trouble and could use a place to finally call home. I only hope Stone can let go of the past soon enough to keep her . . .
Goodness, I need to stop talking and finish up Jane's highlights so we can make the town tree-lighting. You come back by because the Cut 'n' Curl's got hot rollers, free coffee, fresh-baked Christmas cookies-and the best gossip in town.

See you real soon,
Ruby Rhodes


HUBBY'S REVIEW:

This is about the oldest son and finding love from a person who is a stranger to the town. He finds out a lot about this person and the connection to the town she has. He is really fighting everyone and himself plus being guilty because he feels somehow he is letting down his wife who passed away. Again the characters and being in a small town add to the story. This is both a happy book and sad at times but if you read the other books this book helps with the idea of the Rhodes family.

Home At Last Chance

HOME AT LAST CHANCE                          HOPE RAMSAY
Posted: July 13, 2013

Home At Last ChanceDear Reader,

You won't believe what's happened. My son Tulane has come back home! You remember Tulane? He'd set out to find fame and fortune in the big, wide world outside of Last Chance, and I'm mighty proud. But that's not the half of it-Tulane isn't only back, he's brought a young lady with him.

Now Sarah-she does PR for Tulane's stock-car team-she's from Boston, but she's just about the sweetest girl you could meet. I think she's meant to keep Tulane out of trouble after that story in the papers, but he doesn't want to talk about it. Anyhow, the Ladies Auxiliary can't wait to start matchmaking and introduce Sarah to our Reverend Ellis. But mark my words, Sarah is tired of being a good girl. And no one is better at breaking the rules and raising Cain than my son . . .

Listen to me going on and keeping customers waiting. I best get back to work, but you come round again. The Cut 'n' Curl's got hot rollers, free coffee, and the best gossip in town.

See you real soon,

Ruby Rhodes


HUBBY'S REVIEW:

This is the second book in the series. A very good story about the son who drives stock cars, and has some other issues. Not everyone likes the choices he has made and he has to go back and change same things. Also people see him differently than he sees himself and that adds to his problem. This book still has the same characters from the other books and the same small town.

Last Chance Beauty Queen

LAST CHANCE BEAUTY QUEEN              HOPE RAMSAY
Posted: July 13, 2013

Last Chance Beauty Queen
Dear Reader,
Gracious me, my beautiful daughter Rocky sure could use my help. I always knew she wasn't much interested in the local boys - but who'd have thought she'd come home with English royalty?
Trouble is, Hugh wants to buy some of our folks' land. We don't want to sell, but Rocky's job depends on her closing the deal. And though Hugh's obviously smitten, I'm not sure he's right for my Rocky. Oh, he's classy and handsome - and you should've seen the way he judged pies and fixed stock cars at our Watermelon Festival! - but what do we know about him, really? I know I sound like a nervous mother hen, but after forty happy years with my Elbert, all I want is to see my little girl find the same.
Well, time for me to quit chattering and get back to Miss Bray's wet set. Always nice talking to you, and remember: the Cut 'n Curl's got hot rollers, free coffee, and the best gossip in town.
See you real soon,
Ruby Rhodes


HUBBY'S REVIEW:

My wife won this book so I thought I would read it since I would not pick this book. But I have to say I enjoyed the story line and all of the different characters. The way they all got along or not. Still they worked it out. How some want to move away from the small town to the big city. These all happen. So not giving away the story a very good book.

Paul Brown: The Man Who Invented Modern Football

PAUL BROWN                                          GEORGE CANTOR AND BILL WALSH
Posted: July 13, 2013

Paul Brown: The Man Who Invented Modern FootballThe first full-length biography of the legendary head coach of the Cleveland Browns, this book explores how Paul Brown worked his way from high school coach to pro football Hall of Famer, while setting forth a blueprint for the modern game. As the first coach to scout opponents through game films, call plays from the sideline, and systemize the college draft, Brown finessed the sport into a more precise science. His teams rarely disappointed, and he created a winning dynasty in Cleveland, coaching the Browns to three NFL championships and four AAFC titles. Based on extensive research and original interviews with former player and others, this book examines in absorbing detail Paul Brown's profound influence on the game.


HUBBY'S REVIEW:

This book is for any true football fan or the fan that wants to know the history of the game. Paul Brown, started out as a high school coach first. That is where many of the ideas that he had to make the game better took place. Some of them also came about as him being a teacher, so he would give the players tests of the playbook, along with there position. High school is where he started Jr. High football, so the players would know the plays by the time they came to high school. Later this would become the beginnings of the taxi squad. When someone got hurt he had a player who could play that position. He brought those ideas with him to Ohio State. By winning at high school and at college he was becoming a legend in the state of Ohio. After WW2 he was given a chance to coach a new team in a new league with the CLEVELAND BROWNS and from there he put into action everything he had been doing for many years. He started the playbook, giving tests, a taxi squad, face masks, after he was in the N.F.L.Because of an injured player and the league did not want to do anything about the injury. They say Bill Walsh came up with the west coast offense. But he said he learned it from Paul Brown, while being an asst. coach with him at Cincinnati.He had also signed two African American players a year before Jackie Robinson, crossed the lines in baseball. One player Motley is in the Hall of Fame. I could go on but I wont you should read this book it is a great story and not just about football.

My Way

MY WAY                                                         PAUL ANKA
Posted: July 13, 2013


My WayA teen idol of the 1950s who virtually invented the singer/songwriter/heartthrob combination that still tops pop music today, Paul Anka rocketed to fame with a slew of hits—from “Diana” to “Put Your Head on my Shoulder”—that earned him a place touring with the major stars of his era, including Chuck Berry, Jerry Lee Lewis, and Buddy Holly. He wrote Holly’s last hit, and just missed joining the rocker on his final, fatal plane flight. Anka also stepped in front of the camera in the teen beach-party movie era, scoring the movies and romancing their starlets, including Annette Funicello.
When the British invasion made his fans swoon for a new style of music—and musician--Anka made sure he wasn’t conquered. A rapier-canny businessman and image-builder who took his career into his own hands—just as he had from the very beginning, swiping his mother’s car at fourteen to drive himself, underage, to his first gigs in Quebec—Anka toured the world until he could return home in triumph. A charter member of the Rat Pack, he wrote the theme music for The Tonight Show as well as his friend Frank Sinatra’s anthem “My Way”. By the 1970s, a multi-decade string of pop chart-toppers, including “Puppy Love” and “(You’re) Having My Baby”, cemented his status as an icon.
My Way is bursting with rich, rollicking stories of the business and the people in Anka’s life: Elizabeth Taylor, Dodi Fayed, Tom Jones, Michael Jackson, Adnan Khashoggi, Little Richard, Brooke Shields, Johnny Roselli, Sammy Davis, Jr., Brigitte Bardot, Barnum & Bailey Circus acrobats, and many more. Anka is forthcoming, funny and smart as a whip about the business he’s been in for almost six decades. My Way moves from New York to Vegas, from the casino stage to back stages all over the world. It’s the most entertaining autobiography of the year.

HUBBY'S REVIEW:

This book is more than just about the songs that Paul Anka wrote and sang. He talks about his time on the road with a group of singers who drove around on buses. Not like buses of today but the old buses. The different people he meet who he got along with and who he did not. He also talks a lot about old Las Vegas. The Rat Pack and some day being like them. The part of old Vegas was really interesting especially about the Sands Hotel and just the vibe that was going off in that town. There are stories of the mob but light weight but just enough to make it interesting. He does talk about how he writes a song and how some other people he knows write their songs. Towards the end of the book I thought he went on a little much between the fight of Trump AND Winn, but over all a good story.

Tripwire

TRIPWIRE                                                      LEE CHILD
Posted: July 13, 2013

Tripwire (Jack Reacher, #3)Jack Reacher, ex-military policeman relaxed in Key West until Costello turned up dead. The amiable PI was hired in New York by the daughter of Reacher's mentor and former commanding officer, General Garber. Garber's investigation into a Vietnam MIA sets Reacher on collision with hand-less "Hook" Hobie, hours away from his biggest score.


HUBBY'S REVIEW:

Really enjoyed this book. The characters and the story were full of depth, I was not sure that the story could keep up for the entire book. But I was wrong it did. A very good story and a real page turner. Since this is an older story it also filled in some more back ground on the Reacher character. I have been reading these books out of order but they all have been good.

A False Dawn

A FALSE DAWN                                           TOM LOWE
Posted: July 13, 2013

A False DawnSean O’Brien couldn’t remember the last time he made a promise and then broke it. He has every intention of keeping the promise he makes to his wife, Sherri, right before her death. O’Brien quits his career as a homicide investigator with the Miami PD and relocates to a remote section of Florida wilderness on the banks of the St. Johns River. He’s restoring an old home and trying to rebuild his life when he discovers a young woman badly beaten and left for dead near the alligator-infested river.

“A darkly suspenseful, atmospheric thriller. Absolutely relentless. I refuse to believe that this is a first novel. It’s just too damned good.”
- Steve Hamilton, Award-Winning Author of the Lock Artist

The injured woman whispers a cryptic message in O’Brien’s ear, and he makes a promise to her. But when authorities drag their feet during the investigation, O’Brien finds the vow he made to his dead wife is about to conflict with the guarantee he made to the woman who was savagely attacked. Soon O’Brien is plunging deep into the dark world of human trafficking and sexual slavery. He is tossed into a deadly cat-and-mouse game where the only pledge he can make now is to stop an evil antagonist with a twisted, Godlike complex that’s hellbent on sacrificing O’Brien to a greater cause.

“A False Dawn makes good reading for anyone longing to stumble upon an unpublished John D. MacDonald Florida mystery.”
.
- Steve Glassman (Book list)



HUBBY'S REVIEW:

For a first book, I thought this was very good. The characters were very good and the whole former cop I got. I do know that the book was written good. Some of the reviews about bad spelling and other things came from the book seller not the writer. Because this book was clean. Really enjoyed the story.

The 24th Letter

THE 24TH LETTER                                       TOM LOWE
Posted: July 13, 2013

The 24th LetterIt happens to every homicide investigator. Even the best of the best. Sean O’Brien never thought it would happen to him. But there was something about the look in the accused man’s face that O’Brien couldn’t quite forget. It was a look that haunted him in the dark hours somewhere between sleep and consciousness. But caseloads mount and time has a way of blurring the lines of desperation in a man’s face until something surfaces. For O’Brien, it happens when he receives a call from a priest.

“Tom Lowe’s second novel, The 24th Letter, is so good it ought to be required reading on every adrenaline-addicted, mystery-thriller reader’s must read list.”
- Tim Davis, Book Loons Review

Father John Callahan hears the confession of a frightened prison inmate, and he learns that a man facing lethal injection in 84 hours is innocent. The lead investigator on the high-profile case was his old his friend Sean O’Brien. And now O'Brien has a chance to right a horrible wrong. But he has less than 84 hours to uncover clues to a crime that sent an innocent man to death row. Appeals have expired and the man will be executed in 84 hours unless O’Brien can find evidence that points to the real killer. The 24th letter in the Greek alphabet—Omega—may provide the key to uncovering the killer’s identity. Evidence may not lie, but evil does, and when the original killer comes out of his lair, O'Brien is in a race to save two lives - the man on death row and his own.


HUBBY'S REVIEW:

I really liked this second book with the same main character and his friends. The story did seem to move along a little easier than his first book. My only couple of problems with the story are the painter who was taken from the MICHAEL CONNELLY series and towards the end if you are familiar with the Bible you might get some of the clues faster. I still noticed other reviews saying that there were type o's. These seem to be from down loaded versions. I did not have any in the hard copy book. Overall this was a good book and I am glad I read the first book for a start with the characters.

Memoirs of a Gigolo #1

MEMOIRS OF A GIGOLO #1                      LIVIA ELLIS
Posted: July 13, 2013

Memoirs of a Gigolo Volume OneOliver Adair enjoys a life of women (sometimes men), travel, and sex. Unfortunately these things cost money - something he doesn't have a lot of. When he's offered an opportunity to get paid for doing what he loves, he happily signs on to become a male escort. But first, he has to pass the interview process. The madam of the agency has one of her girls put him to the test. Oliver is given his first assignment, a week in Japan with an exclusive client, but first he will need to move into The House where the other escorts live and learn the tricks of his new trade. Oliver quickly discovers that in this world, not only is being a mans man a la James Bond still desirable, but expected. By embracing his masculine sexuality, he makes a name for himself in the world of escorts.

MY REVIEW:

I was sent this book by the author in exchange for open and honest review.

The writing in this book I would say is above average in the way the author was able to give a vivid picture of who and what the characters were. The thing about this piece is that I feel like it was not sure if it wanted to be a vintage period piece or present day. So that tended to become very frustrating to deal in with in the flow of the story.

Then there was this whole whole main character that I can't even remember his name if that tells you anything he just kept on whining over and over again about being poor but GOD FORBID HE WOULD GET A LEGIT JOB. No, he takes the so called easy way out. Yeah, well if you call degrading yourself all for the sake of money & sex.

This story was written for those in the age of 18-40 range mainly male because this is following a man on a day of a major wet dream but fully awake going through the motions. The sex scenes are odd and a little uncomfortable. But I told this author I would do this and I have. I do feel this author's talents of writing and capturing you audience is there because although it was not a pic I wanted to see in my head this author took you there.

Not for the faint of heart that is for sure. Is only 36 pages I believe but for me it was a long 36 minutes.

Reburn

REBURN                                                        ANNE MARSH
Posted: July 13, 2013

Not every man knows how to put out a fire. Fewer know when to keep it burning. . .

He Battles The Flames. . .

Nobody messes with Sam Clayton--or his territory. The big bruising ranger is the last line of defense in forest infernos and he'll go up against anyone who gets in the way of putting them out. Even the FBI tracking a terrorist through the heart of a blaze. But when Sam discovers the agent is ex-lover Olivia Albert, saving himself will be more dangerous than any fire he's faced before. . .

She Lives For The Heat. . .

Olivia needs Sam's help to survive the heat, but when it comes to keeping her quarry from detonating a major strike, this Bureau agent is calling the shots. Except when Sam's hard body and expert hands are reigniting a second chance that could be hot enough to burn forever. . .


MY REVIEW:

This story opens up with Hotshot Forest Ranger Sam Clayton leading his men fighting a fire out of control in the mountains of Big Bear Lake (Sequoia National Park) in California. When his right hand man gives him a status report saying The FBI have gone into the heart of the forest where the fire is now heading with a vengeance. Looking for one of America's most wanted and one of the crazies (a bomb expert) is hot on his trail like a blood hound. Not to mention he has taken his team in too and they are on radio silence due to their tango being out there with all the same military grade items and sometimes even better hardware then what they have. So the big wigs want his team to go in and get them out. He refuses to risk his men or this mountain or the people who live on it. So, he will go himself, he gives instructions to his right hand man and takes his truck to where they would have driven to get to this tango. Once there he orders the team to leave they are not happy for the crazy is not back yet so he tells them to leave and that he will go after him. He ask for his name and that is when he finds out that it is not a he but a she. Olivia Albert with a straight face he says okay but he really wants to scream because it’s his Livy. The Livy he fell in love with ten years ago and now he needs to find her and save her not only from this fire but from this madman that is out to kill her and whoever is in his way. I loved this story. It kept me interested all the way through. I enjoyed the chemistry between the characters. Livy was one sassy girl and Sam was so laid back and willing to let her be her. But always had her back and she did his. I know Big Bear so I could picture it all in my head too, so that made this story fun for that reason too.

RELEASE BLITZ: Title: Physis Series: Phoebe Reede: The Untold Story #4 Author: Michelle Irwin

Title: Physis Series: Phoebe Reede: The Untold Story #4 Author: Michelle Irwin Genre: Contemporary Romance Release Da...