DEVIL IN A BLUE DRESS (EASY RAWLINS #1)

DEVIL IN A BLUE DRESS                   WALTER MOSLEY
Posted: July 24, 2013


Devil in a Blue Dress (Easy Rawlins #1)   Los Angeles, 1948: Easy Rawlins is a black war veteran just fired from his job at a defense plant. Easy is drinking in a friend's bar, wondering how he'll meet his mortgage, when a white man in a linen suit walks in, offering good money if Easy will simply locate Miss Daphne Money, a blonde beauty known to frequent black jazz clubs....





HUBBY'S REVIEW:

I wanted to read Mr. Mosley's new book so I thought I would read his 1st. This book was great . Set in 1948 after the war and the different places he talks about I can see old black and white photos in my mind. Some of those places, towns I actually saw photos of. This is a book written like maybe a Raymond Chandler style, just a little. But more grit to it, the characters seem real. You can see each one at the place in the story and maybe have come across someone like that. A very good book. I hope the other books are good also

Travis's Appeal

TRAVIS'S APPEAL                                MARIE FERRARELLA
Posted: July 24, 2013


Travis's AppealHe never mixed business with pleasure. But when fresh-faced Shana O'Reilly appeared at his office door, she threw no-nonsense attorney Travis Marlowe's carefully ordered world into a tailspin. For the first time ever, he couldn't stop thinking about a client--and not just because of her father's mysterious request to adjust his will.Shana wasn't looking for romance--she had her hands full with her family and her business. But she couldn't shut off the electric current humming between her and--of all people--the new family attorney.

Talk about finding love where you least expect it....


MY REVIEW:

I loved the family dynamics in this book as well as the love interest between Shana & Travis. But the trust issue that takes place become touchy. Worth reading.

Match Me If You Can

MATCH ME IF YOU CAN                      SUSAN ELIZABETH PHILLIPS
Posted: July 24, 2013

Match Me If You Can by Susan Elizabeth PhillipsYou met star quarterback Kevin Tucker in This Heart of Mine. Now get ready to meet his shark of an agent, Heath Champion, and Annabelle Granger, the girl least likely to succeed.

Annabelle's endured dead-end jobs, a broken engagement . . . even her hair's a mess! But that's going to change now that she's taken over her late grandmother's matchmaking business. All Annabelle has to do is land the Windy City's hottest bachelor as her client, and she'll be the most sought-after matchmaker in town.

Why does the wealthy, driven, and gorgeous sports agent Heath Champion need a matchmaker, especially a red-haired screw-up like Annabelle Granger? True, she's entertaining, and she does have a certain quirky appeal. But Heath is searching for the ultimate symbol of success -- the perfect wife. And to make an extraordinary match, he needs an extraordinary matchmaker, right?

Soon everyone in Chicago has a stake in the outcome, and a very big question: When the determined matchmaker promised she'd do anything to keep her star client happy . . . did she mean anything? If Annabelle isn't careful, she just might find herself going heart-to-heart with the toughest negotiator in town.


MY REVIEW:

"Loved this book also. What sold it for me was the dynamics between the two main characters & the smart mouth way they deal with one another. Made me laugh & made me think back on past relationships. I also enjoyed the way she shoew how real families can be, but yet still really love us if viewed through the eyes of others. She empowers women & shows how they & men deal with their relationships so differently but kind"

Black Ties and Lullabies

BLACK TIES AND LULLABIES            JANE GRAVES
Posted: July 24, 2013


Black Ties and LullabiesA good girl can be bad for one night...

Bernadette Hogan doesn't make mistakes. Not when it comes to caring for her mother, and not at her job protecting Texas's most eligible--and infuriating--bachelor. Maybe that's why she's overcome with guilt after one tiny indiscretion: a passionate fling with her boss that's left her confused, intrigued...and pregnant.

but can a bad boy be good for a lifetime?

To self-made millionaire Jeremy Bridges, women are like fine wine: if held for too long, they sour. But one wild night with Bernadette changed all that. She makes him laugh, she makes him think, and soon she's going to make him a father. For the first time, Jeremy wants to be a one-woman man. So how can he convince the fiercely independent Bernadette he's ready to change from partying playboy to dependable dad--and become the loving husband she deserves?


MY REVIEW:

I enjoyed the whole hard nosed lady bodyguard thing. But what interested me more was the relationship she had with her employer right off. She was sassy & not someone who was going to really take grief from him. But when life changes in a split second for them their transformation is intriguing. I enjoy the way they are in awe when they hear how people see them and how their relationship changes over time because of it. She likes his changes right off but hers, he is just not that sure of. Well worth the read. Was not sure how I would like it first time author I have to say she is good.

Heartstrings and Diamond Rings

HEARTSTRINGS AND DIAMOND RINGS       JANE GRAVES
Posted: July 24, 2013


Heartstrings and Diamond RingsHE'S THE MAN OF HER DREAMS . . .

In a world full of frogs, Alison Carter is determined to find her prince. Maybe her dating past is more Titanic than Love Boat, but she's seen enough happy marriages to know that true love is possible. No matter what, she won't give up on happily-ever-after. If she can't find Mr. Right, she'll simply hire someone who can.

SHE JUST DOESN'T KNOW IT YET

When Brandon Scott inherits a successful matchmaking business, he thinks his prayers have been answered. Set up a few lonely ladies, collect the fee, how hard can it be? No one needs to know he's not really a professional matchmaker-especially not his first client, the beautiful, spirited Alison. Soon he's falling for her-and her dreams of kids and carpools. But Alison is getting close to figuring out his secret, and if she learns he's deceived her too, she'll walk right out the door, taking Brandon's heart with her.


MY REVIEW:

Loved this book. Have read other books about matchmakers but this had a different spin since it was a man. The way the story unfolds between him & his first client is just way to funny. You think her past dating experiences are a hoot. Then the ones he sends her on will really make you laugh in a sad sort of way. Because we have either been there or had a friend just like this. All the characters in the book mesh well together I highly recommend.

A COLD CREEK HOLIDAY (COWBOYS OF COLD CREEK #6)

A COLD CREEK HOLIDAY                   RAEANNE THAYNE
Posted: July 24, 2013

A Cold Creek Holiday (Cowboys of Cold Creek, #6)All Emery Kendall wanted was to flee painful memories of Christmases past. She craved distraction and healing, and the mountains of Idaho offered both..."plus" the key to a long-buried family secret. But when she met her host, rancher Nate Cavazos, she hardly got a warm welcome....The former army ranger's smoldering good looks masked deep emotional scars. And now he had his hands full as guardian of two orphaned nieces. That seemed to be all the involvement he could handle right now.

Still, Nate couldn't ignore his fierce attraction to Emery or his nieces' instant attachment to her--until Emery's secret shattered their happiness. Would it be a lonely Christmas for four lost souls? Or the best family holiday ever?


MY REVIEW:

This was the first book from this author that I have read & I really enjoyed it. The reason for the main characters being where they are at the same time & what is going on in their lives it was totally believable. The only problem I had is that it left things unresolved & it does not tell me if another book is coming to fill in my questions or if I should even look for more.

A Texas Ranger's Christmas

A TEXAS RANGER'S CHRISTMAS         REBECCA WINTERS
Posted: July 24, 2013


A Texas Ranger's ChristmasLife can get complicated for a single father working undercover. No one knows that better than Caige Dawson, currently posing as an employee of the Texas Forest Service. He's there to investigate a fellow forester with a missing husband, and to determine whether she's a suspect.Five years ago, Blaire Farley's world imploded. But ever since she met Caige and his sweet, lovable eight-year-old son--the survivor of a tragic accident--she's ready to start reclaiming her life. And the first order of business is giving Josh the best Christmas any little boy ever had.

Blaire may be a person of interest, but Caige believes in her innocence. His code of honor prevents him from getting too close until he can come clean about his identity. But he needs Blaire's help to solve the case. He only hopes it will give her the closure she needs--and the future all three of them deserve.


MY REVIEW:

First time reading a book from this author that I can remember. I loved it. The interaction between the Ranger & his special needs son just warms your heart. Yet, as a side note you realize he has a real job of figuring out a cold case of a missing husband. So he goes undercover working with the wife of the missing husband. Yes, its a love story so you know what's going to happen but not all the twist & turns. A must read.

THE RANCHER'S REQUEST (MEN OF THE WEST #9)

THE RANCHER'S REQUEST               STELLA BAGWELL
Posted: July 24, 2013


The Rancher's Request (Men of the West, #9) (Silhouette Special Edition)Journalist Juliet Madsen had been burned by men before, but she certainly hadn't left Dallas for small-town Texas looking for love--or a family. Until she met single father and wealthy rancher Matt Sanchez, and the two began a steamy affair. Matt was everything she'd ever wanted: smart, sexy, loyal to his family and extremely dedicated to his teenage daughter. But he didn't know that Juliet was on assignment to expose his family's secrets--and she feared that if he found out, she just might lose the family she'd always wanted...

MY REVIEW:

What a fun fast read. Could not put it down once I started. Matt with his Mexican macho ways at the beginning were purring at the end for Juliet. This is the journalist who brings out the fire in him yet his softer side when he realizes that his sweet 13 year old daughter has fallen for her & has basically hand picked for her mother. That's when this Latin lovers feathers fly. Allowing Juliet to have this hot & cold feeling when she is around him. Figuring it is safer to steer clear of Matt & just best. a best friend to a little girl who lost her mom at a young age like her. This romance sends sparks flying & that is a good read in my book

Christmas with the Mustang Man

CHRISTMAS WITH THE MUSTANG MAN        STELLA BAGWELL
Posted: July 24, 2013


Christmas with the Mustang ManShe'd come for the mustangs, Dallas Donovan told herself. Just a quick visit to Boone Barnett's Nevada ranch. Then her truck's engine seized and she stayed the night in the rugged, off-the-charts sexy Boone's home. Had pizza with his daughter, waited for the mechanic—and woke up to a snowfall keeping her in the reclusive rancher's grasp for another few days.Boone didn't believe in Christmas or miracles or a woman who understood his love for this wild untamed land. Yet now Dallas brought decorations and laughter and joy to his home. But what would happen when the snow melted and Christmas was over…?




MY REVIEW:

I really enjoyed this story. Right away there is this chemistry that comes up between these two characters even though she sees him as non smiling rugged rancher & single father. He looks at her as a customer with to much money. Although beautifully sexy doesn't think she would ever look at him twice. Her truck breaks down & she is forced to stay the night in his home with his daughter & him which gives them both goose bumps. His daughter 12yrs. Takes an instant liking to her since she can see that her dad has soul responsible for her & the farm. Therefore, being able to have someone first of all is a huge plus, then her just being another female is another big plus, & then her not having a mother just let's you know what the girl is hoping for. Loved it.

His Country Cinderella

HIS COUNTRY CINDERELLA             KAREN ROSE SMITH
Posted: July 24, 2013


His Country CinderellaTHUNDER CANYON NUGGET
Guess Whose Cover Is About to Be Blown?

Hold on to your Stetsons! A reliable source tells me that Zane Gunther is hiding out in Thunder Canyon. Now the tweets and texts are flying about the music legend and a certain single mom who's having trouble making ends meet…

Zane came to the Montana mountain town to escape the paparazzi—and a tragedy he can't forget. But keeping a low profile seems next to impossible, especially once he falls—hard—for local girl Jeannette Williams. Is this cowboy looking to make a home in Thunder Canyon? Stay tuned, loyal readers, to see if Zane is getting ready to propose to the widowed waitress who's already gaga over him…by crooning a love song straight from his heart!


MY REVIEW:

OMG!!! I loved this book the best so far in this series. The love story between Zane (A country singer) & Jeanette (A single mom) is beyond sizzling from the moment they meet. Don't get me wrong there are some fan yourself love scenes in the book but the gentleman, gentleness, & kindness he shows her & her son is what makes him the most sexy in your mind. Wow, could you just imagine the movie possibilities? LOL Highly Recommend this book. 6* for me.
After reading some of the other review I could see where some would feel conflicted but compared to some of the one side wishy washy relationship books of just read over the course of the last month this has been refreshing. Wishy washy in the way of either the man or the woman lead in the book string one or more guys long while being conflicted & some of them sleeping with more then one. Now that book I really wanted to throw by the end or shake the lead upside down. LOL.

From Doctor...To Daddy

FROM DOCTOR...TO DADDY              KAREN ROSE SMITH
Posted: July 24, 2013


From Doctor... to DaddyEver since Dr. Dillon Traub arrived at Thunder Canyon Resort, tongues have been wagging about the chemistry zinging between the Texas oil tycoon and his new receptionist. Those broad shoulders of his may be awfully tempting...but single mom Erika Rodriguez knows better than to give in to her attraction to the handsome bachelor doctor. So why is the sought-after playboy going out of his way to prove to the love-burned Erika that he'd make the ideal husband--and perfect father to her adorable baby girl? Stay tuned, dear readers, to see if the town's favorite new physician will be heading back home. Or if this Dr. Daddy is writing a prescription for lifetime happiness.



MY REVIEW:

It was OK. I was glad I read it since in explained a lot of background I missed since I'm reading this series out of order. I am getting it from the library so I get them when I get them. Harlequin's covers are awful. Does the photographer ever talk to the author to see what the characters in the books will look like? 9 x's out of 10 the don't match. This couple as a matter of fact the guy is suppose to be much older then her. The cover they look the same age. The little is suppose to be turning 2 & have hair the color of her mom's on the cover she looks 3 but closer to 4. Her hair is way lighter also. OK off my soap box now.

A Thunder Canyon Christmas

A THUNDER CANYON CHRISTMAS                  RAEANNE THAYNE
Posted: July 24, 2013


A Thunder Canyon ChristmasElise Clifton is back in Thunder Canyon for a family reunion--with her newly discovered parents. Now rumors are flying about the woman behind the town's hottest story and Matt Cates--the tall, dark, gorgeous cowboy who's making Elise long to turn the past into a future...with "him."Ever since he came home to Montana, Matt's been trying to live down his wild playboy reputation. And the moment he sees the petite blonde again, he doesn't have eyes for anyone else. Will Matt's love for Elise become the town's next big headline? Stay tuned, faithful readers, to see if Thunder Canyon's most honorable cowboy can persuade Elise to tie the knot with him and turn this Christmas into a true season for giving.


MY REVIEW:

I enjoyed it very much. It was a cute story of Elise who's had a mad crush on Matt ever since grade school. You see Matt has always played the part of her knight in shining armor. El as he calls her was always getting herself in mishaps. But then in her teens El's father was murdered & her mother moves away from the homestead leaving her older brother behind on the ranch. Something life changing for El & her family brings her back to Thunder Canyon which causes her a lot of pain & embarrassment. If that was not enough combined with her dads death. Her best friend can't meet her for drinks at the local bar & grill & you guest it she is down in the dumps drinks to much & needs a rescue.Guess who is there to help. A very touching story worth reading.

The Hard to get Cowboy

THE HARD TO GET COWBOY            CRYSTAL GREEN
Posted: July 24, 2013

The Hard-to-Get CowboyWhat Seriously Single Cowboy Is Getting Serious About Thunder Canyon's Most Eligible Bachelorette?

The marriage proposals are flying -- and Laila Cates is saying "I won't" to every eligible cowboy from Montana to Texas! The independent beauty has sworn off romance. But we hear she's been changing her tune ever since the new man in town set his sights on her....

Settling down is the last thing on Jackson Traub's mind. The oilman-turned-rancher is here to take care of family business, but the minute he sees Laila, he knows she's got to be his. And soon, the sparks between them have the whole town ablaze! Maybe the good-time cowboy and Thunder Canyon's most eligible bachelorette are having second thoughts about this whole happily-ever-after business. Stay tuned, devoted readers, to see if love can change these two willful hearts!


MY REVIEW:

I enjoy this book in the way that Paula & Jackson interact. You have two players who like being single who end up in a place they never thought they would be.

Summer of Two Wishes (Cedar Springs #1)

SUMMER OF TWO WISHES                JULIA LONDON
Posted: July 24, 2013


Summer of Two Wishes (Cedar Springs #1)WHOSE WIFE WAS SHE?

Macy Lockhart's life shattered in a moment with the news that her husband Finn --- serving in the military overseas --- has been killed in the line of duty. Their ardent and devoted marriage is over, leaving Macy alone, empty, directionless. But while she tries to sustain herself with memories of Finn, the strong, quiet man who made her and their small Texas ranch the center of his life, it is wealthy Wyatt Clark who slowly brings joy back into her life. Her love for Wyatt may be less romantic than the breathless passion she'd once shared with Finn, but the time seems right to move on, and their marriage is happy and as solid as a rock in troubled waters. Until the day that Finn, miraculously spared from death, returns home to claim his bride ...


MY REVIEW:

This had to be one of the most frustrating books I have read in a long time. For that alone I gave it a 4*. But, I must say I never knew for certain what Macy was going to do because she was such a wishy washy character. What is with the last few books I've read but this time it was a woman. As I said in my update her second husband I did not like at all, yet at the end I learned to give him a little respect.Finn though I enjoyed him all the way through a real cowboy gentleman hero in my book. Macy's aunt was a hoot but all the extended family beside Finn's & Macy's siblings at least the mom's OMG!!! All in all was a good book that I would recommend.

One Season of Sunshine (Cedar Springs #2)

ONE SEASON OF SUNSHINE            JULIA LONDON
Posted: July 24, 2013


One Season of Sunshine (Cedar Springs #2)Should some questions be left unanswered?

Adopted as an infant, Jane Aaron longs to know the identity of her birth mother and why she gave her up. Her only clue is the name of the small Texas town where she was born, so she’s come to Cedar Springs for answers.

Handsome ad executive Asher Price lost his wife, the beautiful, mysterious Susanna, in a terrible car crash eighteen months ago. When he hires Jane as the nanny for his two children, sparks fly. Jane finds herself falling in love with both Asher and his children, but begins to suspect that Susanna was not the perfect mother and wife the family portrays her to have been.

As Jane gets closer and closer to finding out the truth about both her own and Susanna’s past, devastating secrets begin to emerge that may be more than anyone can bear. Will the truth bring Jane and Asher closer together or tear them apart forever?


MY REVIEW:

I really loved this book. It touched me on so many levels. I have adopted kids, two with bipolar ism, & I really enjoyed the twist & turns of this story. It had everything. Love, romance, suspense, death & pain all rolled into one yet humor also. I recommend this book.

A LIGHT AT WINTER'S END (CEDAR SPRINGS #3)

A LIGHT AT WINTER'S END              JULIA LONDON
Posted: July 24, 2013

A Light at Winter's End (Cedar Springs #3)Holly Fisher opens her door one day and finds her estranged sister Hannah standing there with a glassy look and her nine-month old baby on her hip. Before Holly knows what is happening, Hannah has left her baby with Holly and disappeared. Three months later, fresh out of rehab for addiction to painkillers, Hannah shows up sober, contrite, and wanting her son back. But Holly is in love with the baby and not willing to give him up to the mother who abandoned him. Into the middle of this extraordinary conflict between two sisters walks a lonesome cowboy, Wyatt Clark (Summer of Two Wishes) who knows a thing or two about childcare and fractured families. He’s had his own troubles and has stayed away from women the last couple of years, but he can’t resist Holly and the baby. But when Holly is delivered a devastating blow and returns the baby to his mother, Holly is too distraught to continue her relationship with Wyatt. It will take an extraordinary turn from Hannah to bring Holly and Wyatt together so that they both may find the happiness that has eluded them. 

MY REVIEW:

I totally loved this book. The reason being I at the time a long while back read this book not knowing it was a series & I have to say it was a good stand alone book. But now that I have read the two books before it wow did Wyatt make a huge change for the better in his life. I really did not like him in the first book at all. So, that alone is saying a lot. His relationship with Holly in this book & all that goes on in their lives to bring them together is well funny, heart breaking, & amazing that that they survived & could pull it all together with love, honor , & dignity. I recommend this book & series.

Resisting Mr. Tall, Dark & Texan

RESISTING MR. TALL, DARK & TEXAN        CHRISTINE RIMMER
Posted: July 24, 2013


Resisting Mr. Tall, Dark & TexanHot off the press Word around town is Ethan Traub-- of the Texas Traubs--is bringing the family oil business to Thunder Canyon, along with his sassy personal assistant, Lizzie Landry. Settling down isn't part of this wealthy bachelor's game plan. So why are we hearing rumors that he's starting to see Lizzie as something more than his devoted employee?Lizzie may be secretly in love with her heart-meltingly handsome boss, but she knows better than anyone that he's not the marrying kind. Besides, she's got her own dreams--to hightail it back to Texas to open her own bakery. But my sources tell me the oil baron won't let her go so easily. Stay tuned, faithful readers, to find out if this is one deal Ethan will seal with a kiss.


MY REVIEW:

I really enjoyed this book & the relationship Ethan & Lizzie had. The characters worked well together & the family dynamic stayed true to the series.

Labor of Love/A Billionaire & A Baby

LABOR OF LOVE/A BILLIONAIRE & A BABY   MARIE FERRARELLA
Posted: July 24, 2013

Labor of Love: Mother in Training\A Billionaire and a Baby"Two beloved classics from "USA TODAY" bestselling author Marie Ferrarella"Mother in Training

Lawyer Jack Lever is used to order--not the disorder of two small children. Suddenly left without a babysitter, the single dad can't believe his fortune when Zooey Finnegan agrees to become his children's nanny. Zooey is happy to take care of Jack's kids, and she soon grows to love them as if they are her own. And it doesn't take them long to fall in love with Zooey, either. But their father could be a different story....

A Billionaire and a Baby

From the moment the very pregnant--and beautiful--

Sherry Campbell corners him in the elevator, corporate raider Sin-Jin Adair feels the reporter's hold on him. She wants the secrets of his past, but all he wants is his privacy. After heroically delivering Sherry's baby, Sin-Jin finds himself yearning to become a part of her little family. But is he good enough for them...or will Sherry turn him away?



MY REVIEW:

I really enjoyed Mother in Training. It was a fun romance to read about. Jack needed a life & a nanny for his two children. Zooey needed direction & found her true passion when she became the nanny to Jack's kids. The things she does makes him so uncomfortable that it is funny. While dealing with real human emotion this story finds a way to combine friendship, humor, romance & sadness altogether.
I had already read A Billionaire and a Baby so will not leave another review except to say both are worth reading. ****

Winner Takes All

WINNER TAKES ALL                            CATHIE LINZ
Posted: July 24, 2013

Winner Takes All (Five Star Romance)Kenna Smith knows a woman's place is in the house -- the Wisconsin House of Representatives -- and her high-powered campaign to win the primary proved it. But she was not convinced that she needed a husband to improve her image. Then a double blind date drew her into the arms of D. J. Newport, and she was forced to reconsider her position. Cathie Linz was born in Chicago and still lives in the Windy City. As an experienced traveler, she has already visited almost twenty different countries, collecting authentic backgrounds for her books. When at home, she enjoys the theater, photography, and her two cats.



MY REVIEW:

I really, really enjoyed this book. Dayre & Kenna have such a wonderful chemistry from the moment they met that I found myself hoping nothing would mess it up. I really enjoyed their fun loving bantering that went on between them. It made me laugh the jokes they played on one another. It reminded me of my husband & I. She had issues to resolve & an election to try & overcome & he loved her enough & was secure enough to give her & them time. Loved this book!!!

Honeysuckle Summer #7

HONEYSUCKLE SUMMER #7                  SHERRYL WOODS
Posted: July 24, 2013

Honeysuckle Summer (The Sweet Magnolias #7)Her devastating marriage behind her, Raylene Hammond is truly thankful for her best friends, the Sweet Magnolias. They’ve taken her in, shielding her from the world. Then she meets sheriff’s deputy Carter Rollins, and suddenly Raylene’s haven no longer feels quite so safe.

Carter understands why Raylene is trapped inside. He’s even taken to bringing the outside world to her. But with two kid sisters to raise, just how much time can he devote to this woman who’s stolen his heart?

Raylene knows Carter is a man worth loving, but she may never be strong enough to accept what he’s offering. How long can she ask him to wait? Maybe they’ll never have more than this one sweet summer.


MY REVIEW:



Raylene is a loving and devoted girlfriend until she becomes a wife ends up finding out she is with a man from hell. She has to escape from the wife beater of all times. Or he will kill her like he did their unborn child. That was the last straw. So she moves home to her friends who will nurse her back to herself. But what ends up happening is in their protection she becomes afraid to leave home. Basically, afraid to face the world in fear of Paul finding her and or hurting her or her friends. She is will not be far off in her thoughts. When Paul her ex is caught and put in jail for what he did she rest a little easier and starts a relationship with the local sheriff Carter not a good one at first because she is babysitting her friends boy and when the toddler runs after the ice cream truck and she can't leave the house and she freezes Carter blows his stack for her being to self centered to pay attention to the child that is how he got out. When he finds out later he tries to make it up to her but she still can't seem to leave the house. So, Carter brings the outside to her in hopes that she will one days soon be able to leave. So he plants a garden for her in the back yard. One day when one of his two sisters is working in the back yard with Raylene Paul who had been let out of jail shows up at Raylene's. Everyone had been expecting him but it turns out it didn't go as planned for Paul or anyone else. You will have to read to find out what happens it is a really good book. As a person who had panic attacks come on quickly do to my thyroid having cancer I can tell you it is not a pretty thing. I know I am not myself and there is not a thing I can do to stop it. You want to but you can't so this is a struggle that Sherryl did justice to and was so loving a story with all the characters involved.

Cross My Heart (Ty & Hunter #1)

CROSS MY HEART                                CARLY PHILLIPS
Posted: July 24, 2013

Cross My Heart (Ty & Hunter #1)Ten years ago Lilly Dumont was the ultimate poor little rich girl, complete with a huge inheritance--and an uncle determined to take it from her. With the help of her first love, she faked her own death and ran away to New York City, leaving behind everything, including her own name. Lilly Dumont was gone, but Lacey Kincaid was going to make it. Only, neither one ever forgot Ty Benson. Now Lacey's back to claim her inheritance. And her sizzling reunion with Ty has made her homecoming something to remember Though not every body's thrilled to see Lacey alive and well--. And it's up to Ty to make sure his childhood sweetheart doesn't disappear again--this time for good.

MY REVIEW:

I totally enjoyed this book. It had more then the average romance novel. It had suspense, laughter, sadness, & a sense of family. Three people bond as teenagers form a plan & execute. Years later they are thrown back together. Then is when things get lively in their hometown. That's when their secrets come to light. So worth reading.

Sealed With A Kiss (Ty & Hunter #2)

SEALED WITH A KISS                          CARLY PHILLIPS
Posted: July 24, 2013

Sealed with a Kiss (Ty & Hunter, #2)On the outside, Molly Gifford has it all--a hot legal career and Daniel Hunter, her equally hot boyfriend. But what she really wants is a family. So when she discovers her real father, she doesn't hesitate to pack her bags. Even though it means leaving her old life behind--A year later Daniel Hunter's still trying to get on with his life. Then Molly shows up at his door, begging for help. Her new found father is under arrest for murder, and she's convinced Hunter is the only attorney with the skill and reputation to get him off. Hunter can't resist helping an innocent man. But this time he'll be the one walking away-- even if it breaks both their hearts to do it.--

MY REVIEW:

I totally enjoyed this read. I had no clue who done it up until right before it was revealed. I kept going back & forth between the cast of characters that were available. The dynamics of how Carly works her characters is so good. She really brings them to life on paper. I know it is right for its hot & spice love scenes which makes you fan yourself I have to say. But this can stand alone without all that also if you wanted to skip those graphic parts. The emotional family dynamics grabs you in the different chapters when you least expect them. When I looked at some at the other reviews I really couldn't understand the low star count. But I recommend if you like a who done it with a good romance.

One in a Million & A Dad for Her Twins

ONE IN A MILLION/A DAD FOR HER TWINS         SUSAN MALLERY
Posted: July 24, 2013

One in a Million: One in a Million\A Dad for Her TwinsOne in a million—that's what widow Stephanie Wynne figured her chances were of finding a man who could help her raise her kids instead of acting like one himself. After experiencing that with her late husband, she was happy to finally be in control of her own life. Sure, it could get a little lonely, but there were ways around that….FBI negotiator Nash Harmon was trained to be cool and detached in every situation. But when he came to Stephanie's B&B, there was something about her lively family that drew him in, and for the first time in his life he understood why people had ties.

Only Stephanie didn't want ties…at least, not to him. It would be his toughest negotiation, the odds were against him, but somehow Nash would convince her that she had, indeed, found the one.

BONUS BOOK INCLUDED IN THIS VOLUME!

A Dad for Her Twins by Tanya Michaels

Kenzie Green wasn’t looking for a man to complete her family. Yet her enigmatic neighbor, Jonathan Trelauney, seemed to know just how to handle her children. Can JT make Kenzie see he’s the right man for her twins…and for her?


MY REVIEW:

I enjoyed both stories but I have to say I enjoyed the first story the best. This was the first story from Tantamount Michaels although it was slow at times the story was one I could relate to in some ways. I loved Kenzies sister Ann & JT's friend Sean. Would like to read a story about him. More carefree. As for JT who was depressed for a lot of the story. In the end a good book.

Barefoot Season (Blackberry Island #1)

BAREFOOT SEASON                            SUSAN MALLERY
Posted: July 24, 2013

Barefoot Season (Blackberry Island, #1)Michelle Sanderson may appear to be a strong, independent woman, but on the inside, she’s still the wounded girl who fled home years ago. A young army vet, Michelle returns to the quaint Blackberry Island Inn to claim her inheritance and recover from the perils of war. Instead, she finds the owner’s suite occupied by the last person she wants to see.

Carly Williams and Michelle were once inseparable, until a shocking betrayal destroyed their friendship. And now Carly is implicated in the financial disaster lurking behind the inn’s cheerful veneer.

Single mother Carly has weathered rumors, lies and secrets for a lifetime, and is finally starting to move forward with love and life. But if the Blackberry Island Inn goes under, Carly and her daughter will go with it.

To save their livelihoods, Carly and Michelle will undertake a turbulent truce. It’ll take more than a successful season to move beyond their devastating past, but with a little luck and a beautiful summer, they may just rediscover the friendship of a lifetime.



MY REVIEW:

This by far was Susan's best writing I have yet to read & believe me I have read a lot of her books. She had so many sub stories going on with each & everyone of her characters but never losing sight of the two main characters Michelle & Carly. That in itself takes a great deal of talent especially if you want to hold your readers attention. She so did for sure. These two ex-best friends have issues that have to be worked out in order to make this inn they both love work. The twist & turns are so unexpected & in some ways not. It has a way of giving you that hopeful feeling that all is right with the world & at times sorrowful feeling too. A must read book. Bravo Susan!

Serendipity (Serendipity #1)

SERENDIPITY                                        CARLY PHILLIPS
Posted: July 24, 2013

Serendipity (Serendipity, #1)Faith Harrington is a classic girl of privilege-until her father is convicted for running a Ponzi scheme. Now she's back in her hometown, where she runs into her teenage crush-dark, brooding Ethan Barron, who's no stranger to scandal himself.





MY REVIEW:


I loved this story & all the characters in it.  Ethan for being the bad boy of the town is just the biggest teddy bear, Faith is the glue that bonds this newly forming relationship between brother & sister as well as the long lost relationship of the two angry brothers he left behind many years before. You see how they go from very dysfunctional to functioning in a way that is with some respect & even love. Dare the younger brother starts coming around to being friendly with his older bad boy brother. But Nash, no way he's the hold out & an angry one at that & non feeling, so he thinks. Now feeling like odd man out for holding on to his anger & resentment toward Ethan. I totally recommend this book, highly. My only thing is the ending left me hanging & saying "oh man!!!"

Destiny (Serendipity #2)

DESTINY                                                 CARLY PHILLIPS
Posted: July 24, 2013

Destiny (Serendipity, #2)Nash can't help but admire Kelly Moss's confidence and beauty. But he's forced to keep his distance because getting involved with Kelly could destroy his relationship with his newly discovered teenage half-sister, Tess. And Kelly has other reasons for keeping her distance-like the secret she knows Nash will never forgive...





MY REVIEW:

I enjoyed the story over all but kind of got tired of Nash being such a cry baby. The poor me at times got on my nerves. The family dynamics do work for me though because they are so real. I love the way she make her woman characters for the most part women who have had hard times but have overcome them. Become strong loving women knowing what they want like Faith and Kelly. I highly recommend this book.

Karma (Serendipity #3)

KARMA                                                    CARLY PHILLIPS
Posted: July 24, 2013

Karma (Serendipity, #3)New York Times bestselling author Carly Phillips presents her third novel set in the quaint upstate New York town of Serendipity, where fate, fortune and love intertwine…

Officer Dare Barron has had a crush on Liza McKnight ever since he was a teenager. But despite his lifelong attraction, the closest he’s ever come to interacting with her is watching Liza regularly bail out her brother at the police station.

Dare’s dark past with Liza’s brother, Brian, has always kept him from pursuing her. But suddenly Liza finds herself in need of protection and Dare appoints himself as the man for the job. And while the sizzling attraction between Dare and Liza draws them together, the past threatens to keep the two apart forever.


MY REVIEW:

One more time Carly hits it out of the park with this one. She did not disappoint me at all with the story line. Dare was such a finely woven character with yet such an easy going persona that you would not think that he had such skeletons hiding within. The woman he has had a crush on since he  was a boy becomes a part of his current reality when she is threatened & him being a cop volunteers for the job of protector. Things start to sizzle real fast but trust for Lisa is an issue given her past of people who walk all over her. She has had to learn to be tough & stay at arms length & Dare makes that hard. Great read loved it!!!

Good Girls Do (Girls Do or Don'ts #1)

GOOD GIRLS DO                                   CATHIE LINZ
Posted: July 24, 2013

Good Girls Do (Girls Do Or Don't, #1)Julia Wright couldn't be more content with her job at the local library, nestled in placid, picturesque Serenity Falls. Until her wacky mother, petty-thief sister, and little niece decide to crash her quiet party of one. And her troubles really stack up when a new guy roars into town on his Harley, shaking up more than just the books on her shelves.




MY REVIEW:

I really enjoyed this book. The characters were so funny you could just see them in your head by the words the writer chose to use. They were so wacky I could relate. Now that is scary. I came at the very tail end of growing up in the late 60's early 70's. So the whole flower child commune free love thing was still around. So this just had me rolling in places. It also had some very sad moments where family issues were either something I have been through or a friends have. All around good book love the authors style of writing. Recommend.

Big Girls Don't Cry (Girls Do or Don't #3)

BIG GIRLS DON'T CRY                         CATHIE LINZ
Posted: July 24, 2013

Big Girls Don't Cry (Girls Do Or Don't, #3)Good Girls Do, Bad Girls Don't. Now meet Big Girls...

After her plus-size modeling career tanks, Leena Riley becomes a receptionist in her hometown veterinarian's office. Too bad the vet is Cole Flannigan, a boy who taunted her all through school. Good thing Leena has grown into her curves, because he's about to grow very fond of her.




MY REVIEW:
I loved, loved, loved this book. The characters were so endearing & funny I just laughed throughout the whole thing. Yet, it gave some very heart felt thoughts on how women & men, boys & girls and mother & daughters can all view this issue. Now mind you this is just a small limited view but a view none the less & the struggle that Leena the main character goes through to overcome how she feels about her life long weight issues or not. How others see them. Also, how she starts going to work for Cole who is interested in her & her insecurities to know if he really is or doing it to make fun of her. All the the supporting cast of characters just adds to the enjoyment of the journey & struggles Leena goes through to figure out where she belong. ***** stars a must read for sure. I hope there is a follow up to these characters to see how things go for them & there friends. I will have to check...

Smart Girls Think Twice (Girls Do or Don't #4)

SMART GIRLS THINK TWICE            CATHIE LINZ
Posted: July 24, 2013

Smart Girls Think Twice (Girls Do Or Don't, #4)Sociologist Emma Riley?s new research project depends on a sexy bartender who wants nothing to do with her project?and certainly nothing to do with Emma. Too bad she?s way too smart to ever take no for an answer.
MY REVIEW:

Out of the 4 book series this is my second favorite one. The first being Big Girls Don't Cry. This had so many things going on that it made it all the more interesting. The relationship Emma has with her sisters is so typical & funny. Their mother is a nut job in the kindest way but really makes a lot of things happen for the best really. Jake it turns out to be a guy who ends up loving for all if the right reasons but has no clue how he gets there. But it's all the little things that their non relationship goes through that helps him figure that out. Highly recommend. 5*****

Mad, Bad, Blonde (West Investigations #1)

MAD, BAD, BLONDE                            CATHINE LINZ
Posted: July 24, 2013

Mad, Bad and Blonde (West Investigations, #1)After being jilted at the altar, librarian Faith West goes on her Italian honeymoon solo, but doesn't stay that way too long. And though her sexy rebound man has ulterior motives, feelings surface that neither of them are prepared for.

When a man's too good to be true...

Jilted on her wedding day for being the queen of dullsville, librarian Faith West goes on her Italian honeymoon solo, hoping to leave her pain behind. That could take a miracle, but she's about to discover miracles do happen. His name is Caine Hunter. Smart, spontaneous, hot, and sexy, he has her feeling like a real woman for the first time ever--until the truth surfaces...

A former Force Recon Marine turned PI, Caine was doing what he does best: spying. And his new target was Faith. But falling for the enemy's daughter was never part of his plan. Caine is a man used to winning, but this time his mission is much more personal--and now that he and Faith are both back in Chicago, the rewards could be, too...


MY REVIEW:

This was such a funny book. This was just the firearm non-couple ever until they were. I totally enjoyed all the twist & turns these P.I.'s take to get where there going on their case & their relationship. Faith's family is a hoot from her grandma to her cousin. On the way to investigate something very personal to Caine they met some very interesting people that just add a whole different layer to this story. In doing so Caine an ex-Marine is able to start feeling & showing emotion. A must read.

Luck Be A Lady (West Investigations #2)

LUCK BE A LADY                                  CATHIE LINZ
Posted: July 23, 2013

Luck Be a Lady (West Investigations, #2)A shocking announcement at her cousin's Vegas wedding sends retro- loving librarian Megan West on a whirlwind tour across Nevada with brash cop Logan Doyle. It's the gamble-and perhaps love affair-of a lifetime...

MY REVIEW:

OK I don't know what the other people were reading but this was a very good book. There were some very funny moments but there were some very touching if not sad moments in the book. The earth shattering news Megan finds out after her cousin wedding by accident while her dad & uncle talked is more then she can take. So, lucky for her the grandson of her grandma's fiancee was there to stop the wedding which was a big mistake. So, she was so upset he takes her out to talk about what happened & wow the roller coaster ride begins. But the bumps are fun & heartbreaking at the same time. All the characters seem to become a part of your family as if you know them. This is a very good read a great follow up book

All Over You

ALL OVER YOU                                     BEVERLY KENDALL
Posted: July 24, 2013


All Over You (Unforgettable You, #1.5)New Adult Romance
Due to language & sexual situations, recommended for readers 18+ yr.
Warning: The sensuality level of this short novel is high

An ex is an ex for a reason

To Rebecca Winters, it’s not just a saying or the title to a catchy tune, it’s a rule she staunchly lives by. Especially since the break up with her ex. What’s the point in trying to fix the “unfixable”? Besides, only a girl hell-bent on more heartbreak would go back to the guy who bailed on her when she needed him most. But saying no to Scott is becoming more difficult than surviving the breakup itself. And unfortunately for her, the kind of pressure he's exerting is making her rule all too easy to break.

Scott Carver has given up trying to get over his ex. He’s still in love with her and their year apart has done nothing to change that. Yeah, he knows he screwed up. Just how royally, he wasn't aware of until now. So when Becca agrees to give him a second chance, he grabs on to it with both hands. But it’s clear the only way things will ever truly be right between them is if he comes clean…about everything. He can only pray the truth doesn’t send her running—for good this time.



MY REVIEW:

 
Wish there was a little bit of a tell about what happened from the book before this one felt a little lost.

This was a very interesting and complex story about a relationship between a couple that had a yearlong relationship and ends up breaking up over a miscommunication problem. When a trust is broken can a relationship survive? This couple Rebecca and Scott have issues within their families that cause them to view things in their own world differently therefore making them react to situations with caution, lack of trust, and secrets in order to protect either others or themselves. Which in the end causes more problems. I have to say this was a story that was about 140 pages long on my phone but it was a lot for that small amount. The characters you could get fully invested in and they were believable and you could put yourself in their place. But I have to say I did not see some of it coming so that was good too. I think you will enjoy this book and this love story of young love and what secrets can do and lack of trust can do but if you open up what it can accomplish.


Hard Way (Jon Reznick #4)

HARD WAY                                                         J.B. TURNER Jon Reznick has never played by the rules, a trait that ha...